We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Luxurious but at a high price!”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Scotts Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Luxurious but at a high price!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The rooms are simply beautiful! The decor is modern and tasteful, the rooms are very spacious and offer everything you could want or need in a room. The bathroom we had offered a huge tub and the entire room was warm and had great lighting. I really loved the luxury touches of automated shades, music in every room with a touch of a button, and simply every convenience you could want. The staff was super helpful and friendly and they really get to know each guest. Having been to Oberammergau before, I knew this was the hotel to stay at as it is obviously the best in town. The onsite restaurant is equally as good and offers an amazing breakfast from ordering hot food from the menu to an exquisite buffet of meats, cheeses, breads, and yogurt buffet. They sauna was worth a visit as well and very relaxing, and they even offer onsite massage therapy. Obviously, you get what you pay for and this hotel and its amenities are fabulous but for a high price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    59
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
32
146
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I have been to "the Max" several times in 2013, and it is highly recommended. Rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated, large bed, a large terrace/patio, own coffee machine and a well-equipped bathroom and minibar. Not that you need a minibar, the hotel has its own brewery resulting in the exellent "Maxbräu" and a great bar and restaurant. The bar is a natural meeting place for business travelers during the evenings and good for networking if you so desire. The wellness section is very pleasant, with steam room, sauna and spa. Bring your spouse if you travel for business, and go skiing in Garmisch on the weekends!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms closest to the church bell, or bring ear plugs if a light sleeper...unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iDuck85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place with topp service. The food and beer is very good. The hotel is central in Overammergau and just a small walk from everything. I have visited Oberammergau several times before and will the hotel will be my first hotel to search for next time in Oberammergau.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GIden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Modern hotell with a touch of german tradition. Big rooms with great bathrooms. Bright and clean, with housekeeping twice a day ( for that luxury feel). The restaurant serves some of the best food in Oberammergau and have its own brewery(which is always fun). The best thing though is probably the service. So open and friendly. I have only one complaint.. the church next door rings its bells about every fifteen minutes..around the clock. Just go to the pharmacy across the street and buy earplugs the first day and the stay will be wonderful. :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ubro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Was in town on business, and this hotel was an amazing place to stay. Small enough to be personal, yet big enough to have "proper hotel" feeling. Very high standard.
Only thing I missed was a work-out room, but the spa was great :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brede H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nothing better than the Maximilian Hotel & Restaurant. Great service, comfort, atmosphere, great assistance, nice people, excellent restaurant and super beer. A wellness area is available for the hotel customers, well equipped and always very clean. The Hotel is quite close to the NATO School, just 15 minutes walk. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBGF_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I used to live in Oberammergau but came back to visit several years later and was pleasantly astounded to find the Hotel Maximilian. Built in 2007, it combines a 5 star hotel experience with a professional, personable and fabulous staff at the front desk, restaurant and housekeeping with a brewery on site! Americans will appreciate the high standards - beautiful double sink bathrooms with soaking tub and separate showers- luxurious European bedding, Central location and superb service and food! No worries - everyone speaks excellent English and are warm and helpful! I won't bother to look anywhere else when I return. Special mention should go to Martin (especially), Michaela and Caroline at the front desk, Mr. Spinni, Yvonne, Paul (Pavel) and others in the fabulous restaurant and one other young man whose name I couldn't get! We stayed here for 8 days and could not gave been more pleased! There are only 19 rooms on this boutique hotel, so book early and enjoy!

Room Tip: There are only 19 rooms in the entire hotel - not a bad one in the place! There is no swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberammergau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arnika
Hotel Arnika
#16 of 25 in Oberammergau
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Property: Hotel Maximilian
Address: Ettaler Str. 5, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maximilian 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing