We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great choice”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great residential location (read: quiet) within a block of restaurants, etc. Fairly easy walk from the train station. Beautiful view from our balcony, room plenty big and comfortable. It was like a guest room at your grandma's house. But the breakfast....for such a small hotel the breakfast was huge! Amazing quantity and quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clownfish0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    38
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
41
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here after leaving the busy city of Munich...and enjoyed it very much. The room was a little small..but clean..and the view from our balcony was awesome.

Best of all, the Owners, Elizabeth and her son Max...were so kind. Both me and my traveling partner were sick with bronchitis, and she fixed us a pot of Sage tea one evening and every morning for breakfast. Breakfast was good with lots of choices and served in a sunny, bright room. Elizabeth even gave me a box of tea upon departure....

The hotel is located right in or own and a pleasant walking distance to mod to restaurants and shops. We drove over to Neufschawnstein Castle and it was so beautiful.

The train ticket price for the ride up the Zugspitz was outrageous (€75) so we passed on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snarestone
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent a night in this hotel on our way by car from the UK to Austria. The exterior is beautiful, and the receptionist was very helpful when we couldn't find on-street parking, showing us to the courtyard behind the hotel. The room was a good size with a lovely view of the chalet opposite, the mountains and the church. The breakfast was plentiful and appetising. The location is excellent, on a quiet street just a minute from the main shopping area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_hakkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

From outside the hotel is beautiful, as are most buildings in Garmisch-PartenKirchen.

There is free parking if you are lucky to find some at the front of the hotel.

Our room was on the second floor but there was no lift, which may be a problem for some people. The walls were covered in strange scenes of animals - I know this is not a reason why you would chose or not chose a hotel but just an observation - I would recommend they put more pictures of the beautiful town. We fell in love with Bavaria and would have loved to see scenes on the walls of this rather than a rabbit or whatever there was!

Our room was a bit cramped with a double bed and two singles, but the bathroom was huge with a lovely roomy shower. A fridge in the room would have been nice but there wasn't one, neither was there any air conditioning or fans. In fact when we asked for a fan at reception he had no idea what we were talking about! Great views of the mountains from the windows.

I have to say the breakfast wasn't great. It was quite a poor selection to be honest and I'm not a fussy eater by any means, but I was struggling.

However, you are just around the corner from the beautiful town which was why we booked this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the city tax card as you get free admission to a local bath which had great diving boards which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Best brakfast of the trip by miles ,good if somwhat old school room.Room was large ish with great balcony and views of the mountains .
Parked out the front of the hotel and very near to the main street in the old town .
My wife who was not with me on last years trip found it a bit spooky but I love it .
I will use again on my next trip .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormbringer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Even Yehuda, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Typical gasthof in the center of Garmish,great location ,free parking.
Rooms are clean,nice ,with a great view to the mountains.There is wifi in the room with a code.
Breakfast is fresh tasty with varied products.
the owners are helpful and polite.We stayed in the hotel for a few times,we always return to this hotel when we pass Garmish,and will come again.

Room Tip: There is no elevater in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 290Nessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Waxenstein studio, a room for max 4 people with a small kitchen. It was nice, very clean, comfortable, with all needed kitchenware/dishes/coffee making facilities for a short stay. The hotel is in the center, about 10 min by foot fro the train station. Has nice views of the mountains, free wifi everywhere, the rooms are decorated in a traditional house style, which is a nice difference from the typical neutral hotel decor. The breakfast was similar to other places, but with all products of very good quality. Nice and helpful owners.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdmdmd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#12 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
Address: Kreuzstr. 7, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#3 Casino Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Almenrausch Und Edelweiss Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing