We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene comfort in Garmisch”

Alpenhof Garnihotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpenhof Garnihotel
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This small hotel is a great mix of the cozy, homeyness of a pension but without thin walls and creaky floors. The rooms and common areas are all very clean and cheery. We enjoyed the very recently updated bathrooms with skylights - we stayed on the third floor. Only the mattress I could say was "just ok."

The setting was very quiet, which was a welcome change from the chaos of Munich during Oktoberfest. The walk to the center is easy, flat, and takes about 10 mins. Everyone in the group I traveled with fell in love with the hotel and Garmisch, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packbacker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Alpenhof Garnihotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed here for two nights in June 2011 with my fiancee. We were very pleased, especially after staying at a subpar place in Munich. The hotel itself is great--very clean (as most places in Germany), brightly painted, and just very welcoming. The breakfast was standard fare, but very good. It's also very quiet since it's located on a side street outside of the center of town.

The location away from town, though, might be a problem for some. We didn't rent a car, so we were walking everywhere. It's probably about 20 minutes from town--a pleasant walk through a beautiful neighborhood. This really wasn't an issue for us.

More of an issue, however, was its distance from the trailheads. Our main reason for coming to Garmisch-Partenkirchen was to hike in the Alps. The hotel is about an hour's walk to the partnachklamm (the gorge with the river running through), which we used as the beginning of our hike. I didn't really see trail heads much closer than that. Although long, the walk was pretty--through green pastures on the edge of town, backed by the foothills of the Alps!

I definitely recommend this hotel--it's a great value. Just bear in mind the distance from sights!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Stayed at the Alpenhof Garnihotel recently with some friends for a ski holiday. The hotel was super! We didn't know what to expect, but we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Check-in was easy, as was checking out. The rooms were spacious enough, spotless, and had great bathrooms with lovely powerful showers. Each room also had a balcony. the balcony on two of the rooms went from the side of the room round to the front.

The staff were also very trusting - alcohol and soft drinks were available in a fridge downstairs that you helped yourself to, recorded what you had on a slip of paper, and then paid for it when checking out.

Breakfast was grand - not many options for cereal, but there was enough food to choose from to fuel up for a days skiing. Staff were again friendly and helpful at breakfast.

The hotel is only about a 10 minute walk/ 15 minute stroll to the ski lift, or free parking is available at both the hotel and at the ski lift. the town centre is about the same distance in the other direction.

All-in-all a great trip, which was made all the better by having a great base.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarrickReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Alpenhof Garnihotel is situated in a very quiet suburban street with pastures at the end of the street and views from our balcony of the Zugspitze, absolutely breathtaking. It is only a short walk, maybe 10 minutes to town and the walk has a footpath through all the backs of the houses as opposed to alongside the road, which makes it very pleasant, walking under lovely tree's and past strawberry bushes. Our room was bright, airy and large. The bed was comfortable by German standards and the bathroom small but adequate, the water pressure was good. Sitting on the balcony in the afternoon was a real treat, relaxing and peaceful. Breakfast was typical of German breakfasts, good breads, cheeses, meats and always tomato and cucumber. A few cereals, yoghurt, fruits, but when in Rome! It was summer so we got to have our second breakfast out in the garden, very nice. The rates here were very reasonable and the young lady that ran the establishment very friendly and competent. Also there is a communal 'mini bar' set up with small bottles of wines, cold beers and some cold soft drinks based on an honesty system.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eves21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank daiana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank pkrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.5 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#7 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Garnihotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Garnihotel

Address: Ehrwalder Str. 7, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £89 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Garnihotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpenhof Garnihotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Garnihotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing