We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter wonderland of loveliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landhaus Hohe Tannen
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Winter wonderland of loveliness”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed here this past week. My cousin, husband and I went down and spent a few days at this establishment. The inn keepers were wonderful. My husband called to inform him we would be running late for check in, due to a snow storm. He was amazing and left us instructions on how to find our room and the key.
The woman was amazing she helped us to figure out the area, and also breakfast was typical european, but very filling and the breakfast area was so quaint. She even gave us Santa chocolates.
The room was rustic. We stayed in the family room and it was cute. Some people may find that antlers on the wall scary, however in Germany it is a sign of wealth. Each one of us loved the room, and the staff. They were all so wonderful and we would stay here again in a heart beat.
The price is also an amazing rate! It's only a 5 min drive from town. :) Thank you for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    19
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
14
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Family run guesthouse type hotel. Sits on very quiet street. Very friendly professional family - they get you settled and don't bother you at all; they show you how to come and go and you are at home! Breakfast was very good. Recommend having tea and coffee service available during the day after a long morning hike. Honor Bar is nice to have with fair prices and good selection. Beds were comfortable. They have very nice feather pillows that for some may not provide needed support. Internet was reliable and offered free of charge, very nice. Family even allowed us to park our car inside their property offering extra comfort and security. Overall, worth your money, but agree, fair. You will be treated like you are at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

nice room, not far from the city center, 5 minutes by foot. we stayed 2 nights. breakfast was nice. we had 40 stairs to the third flour. don't miss Linderhof royal castle. don't miss Mittenwald and the LeutashKlamm.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlomo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakistan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were welcomed to the beautiful town of Garmisch by a very lovely day but Mathias, our host at the beautiful large B&B, Hohe tannen was even more welcoming! After a pretty walk to the edge of the town where this B&B is located, we were immediately and warmly greeted by him. He rushed to take our luggage inside and up two floors to our room. Then within the next 20 minutes he had filled us in with all the restaurants, hiking trails, cycling routes, bus and train schedules and things to do in Garmisch.

The garden was lovely and large. They had a play area in it for kids too.

Our room was very clean and spacious with two windows overlooking the mountains. The bed was great! one of the most comfortable in all the hotel stays this trip. My 9 year old son who got the sofa bed claims likewise!!

We got two warm weather days in our 4 day stay and though there was no air conditioning we were very comfortable with the windows open.

The downside was the bathroom. Unfortunately,Very small! i can't imagine how a big and tall person can use the bathroom or shower! Also No toiletries provided except one soap. They did however have a hair dryer.

Breakfast was excellent! Nicely laid out in the breakfast room. Eggs were made fresh as requested. Selection of cheese, meat, cereals, jams, fruit, yoghurt and some very good bread. There was Juice and tea, and coffee was brought to your table.

Location was very good. In a quiet area and from the side street, just over a 5 minute but beautiful walk past quaint houses and a brook to the town centre.

Overall our experience was wonderful at this hotel made especially excellent by the hospitality of our host. Thank you very much Mathias!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I must have hit a bad time, as my experience bore little resemblance to some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. My room (#14) was VERY SMALL (reminded me of a budget London place), with a single bed, and just enough room to walk alongside. The bathroom was even more cramped (in order to use the toilet, needed to sit "side-saddle", as the stool was right up against the shower stall.
12-inch TV, with about 30 channels, 1 being English news channel. Wi-fi worked well, and free in the room. Managers (at least while I was there) were a middle-aged couple....certainly pleasant enough, but spoke no English at all, and had a tough time communicating the rather unusual login procedure for their wifi.
Breakfast was by far the 'slimmest' of the 7 places I stayed throughout southern Germany....no meats or cheeses, just bread, jam, and cereal (they did offer to cook an egg).
As others have noted, the location is quiet (other than nearby church bells) and an easy walk into town for restaurants/shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife and I were met by a young man who served admirably as our host throughout our two day stay. The building is large and in a suburban community on the edge of town but only about five blocks from the tourist center of town. Going in the other direction walkers will soon find themselves on good trails up a nearby hill for a good view of town and the surrounding mountains. Our room was spacious and clean and had a comfortable large balcony. Breakfast was very good, with a selection of the usual German items, including your own heated pot of coffee or tea. Suggestions were available from our host for nearby good restaurants. He also provided a large carryout breakfast for us, as we had to leave early to catch a plane in Munich. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justgo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Comfortable room though bathroom too small for sink - that was located in cupboard in bedroom. Easy walk into town. Nice garden and honesty bar was nice facility.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenfSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten
#10 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gastehaus Maria
Gastehaus Maria
#3 of 46 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gastehaus Brigitte
Gastehaus Brigitte
#1 of 46 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
146 reviews
4.5 mi away
Zum Schweizerbartl
Zum Schweizerbartl
#2 of 46 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Hohe Tannen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Hohe Tannen

Property: Landhaus Hohe Tannen
Address: Zoeppritzstr. 13, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landhaus Hohe Tannen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Landhaus Hohe Tannen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhaus Hohe Tannen Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing