We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mountain Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Trifthof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Trifthof
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great Mountain Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Quiet, relaxing stay with amazing views. Helpful staff. Clean rooms with comfortable beds. Would highly recommend if you plan to visit Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Parking is provided and the included breakfast is a nice spread.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    44
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
54
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We found the Trifthof to be a very nice stop on our trip to the Garmisch area. Partenkirchen is the sleepier side of the twin towns, but it's easy walking to many restaurants. there's a market just steps away. The staff is friendly and helpful. There's a nice 'party room' downstairs with an honor bar for wine and beer. We were four couples on a reunion tour of Germany and were very happy with this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This small family-run hotel is central enough to walk to any venue in GaPa, but on a quiet street that gives an air of complete relaxation. My partner and I spent afternoons and evenings just sitting on our balcony, listening to...the quiet...and taking in the changing mountain landscapes with the setting sun.

Walk 10 minutes in one direction and you're at the Olympic Ski Jump stadium (we were lucky enough to catch a summertime youth competition!), and well on the way to the Partnach Klamm. 10 minutes in another and you're on the scenic and traditional main street of Partenkirchen. 15 minutes a third way and you're in central Garmisch. We walked from and to the train with our bags, without difficulty.

The front-desk greeting is warm and gemütlich, full of as much information and recommendations as you'd like.

The rooms are not deeply luxurious, but they are comfortable, quiet and extremely clean. Besides, who needs a lot in the room when you have the Alps in full splendor from your balcony! The only thing more I could ask would be a chaise lounge with a down comforter for outdoor napping. We never had a chance to use them, but there is a private garden (that's where the chaises are) and a sauna for guest use. Breakfast is diverse and tasty, including very fresh baked goods.

On our arrival, we found Gummi bears on our pillow. That's a pretty good metaphor for the Trifhof - sweet, distinctive, tasty and local!

Room Tip: Every room should have a good view, but the back rooms will have more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Close enough to the railway station to drag your cases (if you are happy to do so). 15 minute, very picturesque stroll to one of the ski lifts. 15 minute stroll into Garmisch centre. Breakfast was plentiful, varied, and very good quality. Hostess extremely friendly, accommodating, and efficient. The room was perfectly comfortable, clean and well furnished; it was certainly warm enough, and this could be easily adjusted. I would not hesitate to go back - to Germany - to Garmisch Partenkirchen - to this hotel. Many thanks...

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very relaxing, quiet, clean, friendly hotel. Train station about 10 min walk. Zugspitz station about 12. Downtown 12-15 minutes (all depends on your walking speed). With the amount of Bavarian food and beer we consumed daily, walking was a GOOD thing. We did not drive for the 3 days we were there. Limited parking available, but free and probably not too far to go to park near the hotel. Nice pay-as-you go bar in basement that operates on the honor system (fill out ticket, take copy, reconcile at check out) - very reasonabley priced drinks. If you are a larger person, you might have issues negotiating the bathroom(s) -- Room 11 was pretty tight fit for me because of the layout. No restaraunt in the hotel, only the "breakfast room" - you're on your own for lunch and dinner. We love Garmisch and we love this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lostyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Enjoyed our two day stay, rooms very clean, comfortable beds, good breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Only about 15 rooms, most rooms have a balcony with good view of alps. Planning on staying again.

Room Tip: Room 12 has two separate bed rooms with single beds in each room, each room has a door to balcony. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkcincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We staied in this little and charming hotel in Garmisch due to our business trip to Germany. Unfortunatly it was just for one night but surely it will be our base for next stops in Garmisch. The room was very well equipped, clean and confortable. The host was really kind, helpfull and always smiling (that's a very important thing!). The location was quite close to the center so that we could walk and have a nice meal in the old partenkirchen area. I can higly recomand this accomodation for holidays or business trips and both for couples or families.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten
#10 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trifthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trifthof

Property: Hotel Trifthof
Address: Triftstr. 4, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trifthof 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Trifthof in Garmisch - Partenkirchen is a small, cosy hotel Garni (Bed & Breakfast) in the alpine style and has tastefully and modernly furnished rooms. Our house is quietly and still centrally located: at a few minutes' walk you find the hiking and recreation area, the "Hausberg" ski lift bottom station as an entrance into the Classic Skiing Area, as well as the centre of Garmisch-Partenkirchen with numerous restaurants and traditional inns. The new ski jump is a 10 minutes' walk away, also the railway station. Parking possibilities are available directly at the house. There are bus stops only a few minutes away from the hotel. Extensive meadows with wonderful footpaths are linking the Trifthof with "Eckbauer", "Kochelberg" and "Hausberg". Due to this location the hotel is an ideal starting point for excursions by bycicle, motorcycle and car, as well as for mountain hiking. We, the Hotel Trifthof team will advise you individually according to your wishes and possibilities and do all the best to make your vacation an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Trifthof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trifthof Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing