We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
63
54
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
54
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet neighborhood ski jump nail file train station speaks excellent english stayed nights here honesty bar partnach gorge an easy minute walk nice hotel honor bar nice balcony short stay street parking no lift no air conditioning other hotels
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Situated on a quiet street but only a short walk away from the main streets. Great breakfast spread. Generally clean albeit dated furnishings. Only vice was that we stayed in a room on the first floor which can be quite noisy with guests checking in at the front desk and thumping noises when the upstairs guests walk around (this is an old house so floors can be quite creaky), however, our room was big with a separate living room so can be great for families.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We had a 3rd floor room and although on the small side, we didn't need much more. Our balcony had a gorgeous view of the mountains and the skylights in the room also left you gazing at the mountains. The room was very clean and nice and cozy. Breakfast we delicious with a nice spread of meats, cheese, vegetables, rolls, sweets, coffee, tea, juice...you name it. The breakfast dining area is also very nice and the wife was such a pleasant host who really made you feel at home. I think she spoke English, but I am not 100% sure on how good because I was speaking German. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Schtefski82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile


This hotel is run by a husband and wife. They were both very pleasant people. When we checked in, we had many questions. The husband spoke limited English, but he immediately got his wife to help us. We stayed eight nights, and the wife was always helpful, even when she was busy at breakfast.

The room was on the small side but clean and had everything we needed. We did a lot of hiking, and many days it was cold. I requested a teapot, which they let us keep in the room all week. There was a balcony with lovely mountain views.

The breakfast was good with a variety of meats and cheeses as well as cereals, yogurt and sometimes eggs or smoked salmon. There were a number of other items on the buffet and a variety of breads. It was plentiful and fresh for a good start to the day.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to a variety of restaurants. We were also able to walk to some of the trails that we hiked. There is a local bus pass included, and we were able to take buses to and from other trail heads.

We would definitely recommend this hotel due to the helpfulness of the staff, the cleanliness and the plentiful breakfast.

Bob and Rita

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We spent ten nights at Hotel Trifthof enjoying beautiful Garmisch Partenkirchen. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, or balcony had amazing views of the dramatic mountains and the ski jump at the Olympic stadium. There are numerous hikes right from the hotel door and the breakfast, which is varied and plentiful will set you up for the day. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank claire621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in June 2015 in room 11 as we were doing a week trip around Bavaria.

We arrived early afternoon and they let us check in with no problem. A husband and wife own the place. They were both very friendly and helpful. The wife speaks better English than the husband.

The room was a good size and has a lovely balcony with a view of the mountains It has a double bed, wardrobe (no safe), desk and chair. As with all the hotels we stayed with on the trip there is no air conditioning as it rarely gets hot enough to warrant one. Wifi worked well in the room. The TV was all German channels.

Breakfast was a nice, typical buffet. Breads, cold meats and cheeses, eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal, museli, coffee, tea and juice. They also had some smoked salmon which my husband really enjoyed. The breakfast room overlooks their backyard garden and was very nice

They also have a sauna, which we did not use and I overheard them tell a different guest that they had a storage shed for bicycles.

The train station was a short walk away which also had a couple of nice restaurants - we ate at a Mexican restaurant there.

We really liked the hotel and the location of Garmisch and wished we had more than one night there.

It is about a 6km (4 mile) drive to Zugspitze and Altspitze. Zugspitze is the highest mountain in Germany and borders Austria. Great, far reaching views. Lake Eirbee is right there with a lovely path to walk around. Altspitze is not as high but we liked it better as there are hiking trails around the top. You can do both in one day - a ticket for both is 62 Euro per person. You can drive and park at both locations.

For those not used to traveling in Europe:
1) Rooms are smaller than in the US
2) Hotel ratings are different - generally a 4 star hotel in Europe would be 3 or 3.5 star in the US
3) Bathrooms usually have a shower or a bathtub but not usually both. If you have a preference check before you book
4) Queen / Double beds are two twins pushed together. The hotel can organize the room two different ways then depending on what is requested
5) Duvets are separate for each person - not one big one. Great if one of you is always hot and the other always cold
6) Pillows are flat - you'll have to double them over to prevent your head from hitting the mattress.
7) Common US breakfast foods are not usually served except maybe at larger chain hotels (oatmeal, pancakes, waffles). Eggs are usually hard boiled or scrambled - not omelettes.
8) If you're on a budget breakfast is included, get groceries and make sandwiches for lunch and then eat dinner out.
9) European public transit is very nice, clean, pleasant and efficient. If the schedule says 12:02 the train leaves at 12:02 so don't run late as it will already be gone!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank NYC-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews