We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”
Review of Dorint SportHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorint SportHotel
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I spent 5 nights in the hotel in the end of January 2014. My company had a conference for about 60 people there. It is a good place for a family vacation where you have a sense of protection and comfort. You can walk between blds in a tunnel underneath. I wish I took clothes for tennis, they have a lovely tennis court, and a good spa with saunas and a swimming pool.
Good food, plenty of choice, and service is friendly but not pushy. We enjoyed our stay.
I am looking forward to bringing my family here one day for a summer vacation in Garmisch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlegKorzun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint SportHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit für eine Bewertung unseres Hauses genommen haben. Schön, dass es Ihnen im Rahmen Ihrer Tagung bei uns gefallen hat. Sollte einmal etwas nicht zu Ihrer Zufriedenheit sein, lassen Sie es uns bitte wissen.

Auf ein herzliches Wiedersehen diesmal mit Ihrer Familie im Werdenfelser Land.


Ihr Team vom Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

On our way from Crete to the UK, on one day we drove up road work ridden autostrasse from Parma across the Brenner Pass. We were tired and not sure where to stay. We found this hotel. We asked for a room with a bed and a view. The receptionist said we could have an upgrade to an apartment for the cost of a base room. The suite of rooms and view from the balcony plus the evening meal were sufficient for us to decide to stay two days and all was agreed on the same terms. No hidden costs. No catches at all. Just friendly and helpful staff who spoke fluent English and made excellent recommendations as to how to spend our extra day. We could have stayed for much longer but the UK .

Room Tip: Great for winter skiing holidays as comfortable, carpeted tunnels and lifts allow you to move from r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CretanEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Hotel is a bit off, located in the outskirts very near the old Olympic ski arena (with its grand ski jump). The walk to town and to the classic skiing area is nice, but somewhat long. There is a local bus stop close by (and the bus is free if you've pay the mandatory visitor's tax) or a short taxi ride to the town and/or skiing. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that was clean, comfortable and well-equipped, albeit with somewhat dated decor/carpeting. There is a nice indoor pool area with good sauna facilities, in- and outdoor tennis etc. Restaurant is also good and not very expensive. The reception staff run on charmless autopilot but otherwise the staff is really friendly and welcoming, as many people seem to be in this part of Germany.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nibor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Dorint Sport Hotel is on the outskirts of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. That means taxi, own car or long walks to get to anything. On the other hand, there is plenty to do at the hotel, so you easily just stay. They have tennis, swimming, sauna, gym, biergarten, several restaurants and an excellent breakfast buffet. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a large balcony with a mountain view, but the interior perhaps a little bit worn. It is a very family friendly place with lots of kids around. The skiing is also very good, with slopes just ten minutes away by car. Here you can also visit the highest peak in Germany, the very scenic Zugspitze.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Very nice hotel, in good location. Nice breakfast and dinner, helpful staff, comfortable rooms. The only one is to go sking you should drive 10 minutes, that is why the best is to take car for rent. Satisfied very much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuriya79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The Dorint is a well appointed hotel - brilliant swimming pool, beer garden and indoor+outdoor childrens facilities. The breakfast is excellent. Be aware that it is 15mins walk from Partenkirchen main street (and restaraunts) and c. 40 mins walk from Garmisch main street. So dinner in Garmisch (where there are many great bars and restaurants) involves a bus ride to and from (the bus is free and stops nearby), or a drive where somebody doesn't drink alcohol. The location, being on the edge of town, does make for good access to some of the mountain walking. The front desk staff could try harder and the distance to drag bags on arrival/departure is a pain. Overall the facilities are very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We went during the BMW motorrad and our staying was super. The Hotel is huge and typically furnished. We booked a 2 bedrooms apartment for 3 guests, but we surprisingly recived an upgrade to a 3 bedroom penthouse. A huge apartment with all the comfort and a perfect view on the mountains. Staff was super kind and available 24h. The last day before our leaving a booked a massage at the Hotel Spa and I have to say that was pretty amazing too. Price was reasonable for both the apt and the massage. Breakfast super!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Obermuehle
Best Western Premier Obermuehle
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
282 reviews
1.8 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riessersee Hotel Resort
Riessersee Hotel Resort
#20 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint SportHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint SportHotel

Address: Mittenwalder Str. 59, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#9 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £85 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint SportHotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen at the foot of the Zugspitze is the ideal destination for year-around active vacationing. Not only the hotel itself, but also its spectacular surroundings, offer just the right vacation opportunities in Bavaria to suit everybody's taste. Find nature and tranquility for stressed city-dwellers, the perfect trails and slopes for skiing, and any number of fun recreational activities for the entire family. The Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen is particularly suited for families, because with its Alpine chalets the hotel complex resembles an idyllic little mountain village. You will enjoy the atmosphere of true Bavarian hospitality and the special comforts and amenities of a hotel in our spacious studios, apartments and suites. For conference and event guests our hotel is a haven, too, since we provide an environment that makes working a productive pleasure.Come and see for yourself. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorint SportHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Sport Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Dorint SportHotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing