We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel is very cozy and big apartment, good food and service. The stairs and the corridors are a bit noisy when someone walks on. I had a great bathroom with a vertical platform of massage. Very good..

Room Tip: My room was in the first floor in the side of the hotel entrance and it was much bigger and better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristianacoutogarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel is located on the edge of the town, so having a car made our life a lot easier. The property is well maintained and our room was one of the largest ones that we have ever stayed in. We liked our marble bathroom and the décor of the bar area, although the bar armchairs were a bit uncomfortable.

The real asset of the hotel is its staff who are professional, yet friendly. The receptionists gave us good parking tips for downtown Ga-Pa. Given the location of the hotel, we spent all three nights at the hotel bar, chatting to the friendly American bartender and enjoying local beer, radlers and wine.

The hotel sells its rooms without breakfast, which is steep 18 eur per person extra. That being said, the rates, even breakfast included, are still competitive compared to other hotels of the same category. We ate breakfast at the hotel only once and it was excellent, by the way. My suggestion to the hotel would be to offer a special bed and breakfast rate at least through their website, which would help them win more direct bookings, IMHO.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyntyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Our trip to Garmisch-Partenkirchen staying here Grand Hotel,outstanding location.In unsurpassed Bavarian Cuisine,it luxurious,unparalleled service,warm welcome extended too our stay.Our room has a panoramic view with terrace seeing wonderful view Alpine.Most meaningful accomplishment an oasis that transcends time,well-being on a long trip in Germary.We know will often come back to Garmisch-Partenkirchen again just check it out !

Room Tip: Their rooms are just great ,beautiful view of the Alps ,total commitment to excellence,unparalleled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We were given this hotel as part of a ski weekend package and pleasantly surprised, I was expecting something along the line of a ski hotel but it’s definitely a great class hotel in the area.

The hotel was very clean, warm and well maintained with fantastic breakfasts. A lovely bar and as other review have stated very friendly and helpful staff who can’t do enough.

The drawbacks of the hotel are lack of room service after 11pm (no use when arriving at 11.30!), te hotel is out of town and the beds need more pillows! The staff are more than happy to provide more bedding if requested.

I’d be more than happy to stay there again, great for couples or groups.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel looks like an old palace and stay also simulates a palace. Staff are excellent even though they are poor in English. Food is superb, catering to all kind of customers. There was lot of vegetarian stuff as well. Stayed for long. The chef was very helpful in getting some vegetarian food from nearby Indian restaurants as well when he could not prepare different items every day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prashanth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel is not in the heart of the town it is a great choice if you have a car. The staff are outstanding. Rooms spacious with good lighting. We've stayed in lots of rooms with poor lighting! Lovely big bathroom with a few extras.
The hotel has a warm family run, traditional feel. Much nicer than the Marriott we came from!
Wifi is free & works well. Amazing pool & leisure area with expansive views of the mountains.
We feel like we are one of only a few people staying here despite a large number of people attending a conference here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TDholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Garmisch-Partenkirchen is a fantastic little town in southern Bavaria, near the Austrian border. During winter, it is definitely a ski-resort type of town, but we visited at tail-end of Summer. During this "off season", you can definitely get great rates on rooms at the Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl, which is a gorgeous hotel property.

The staff at the front desk were quite pleasant. Although we only had a one-night stay here, we wished we could've stayed longer. The hotel has ample free parking and is located just outside the main strip of town (about a 3-4 minute drive or a 20 minute walk), which also has plenty of parking, albeit not free during most hours.

Our room itself was very spacious, especially for a European room, and was clean and comfortable. We also had a gorgeous view of the Zugspitze from our balcony, which I'd recommend requesting when making a reservation.

There was also free Wi-Fi in the rooms, which is always nice as we have found this isn't always the case in Germany. This hotel definitely gets our recommendation for anyone visiting Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuhle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality ...
#34 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
339 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl

Address: Burgstr. 97, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £75 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand chalet-style winter resort hotel with multilingual staff overlooking the town & mountains; 4 km from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Grand Resort Sonnenbichl
Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing