We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a budget option”
Review of ATLAS Sporthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ATLAS Sporthotel
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for a budget option”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hotel is a good budget option for anyone wishing to ski in the Garmisch area. Prices are very competitive and inline with the hotel facilities.
As its a little further from town center it would suit those with a car. However the bus stops 50m from the hotel which takes you into town or to the train station. You also get a free bus pass from the hotel for the duration of your stay. Buses run frequently so you will not have a problem.
Rooms are very large for the price range. And include a balcony big enough for 4 people to easily sit outside.
Bathrooms are small and if you are a larger person you may find it tricky getting between the toilet and shower.
Rooms are clean.
Rooms did not include a fridge or kettle which was a little disappointing - especially for longer stays. Luckily its cold enough to keep things on the balcony. Considering there is no fridge it would have been nice to have had a room service option available.
There is a sauna but they only turn on by request so we never bothered.
Ski cellar was convenient.
It was a little noisy with people walking through corridors and on the floors above you.
Staff were always friendly and helpful.
Great value for a no frills hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away form the hall entry doors on each level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    35
    37
    16
    11
See reviews for
24
35
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I will try to make this as accurate as possible, hope it helps..
Location.. It's .8 of a mile from banhof where the ski bus and train leave from, and a bit more to the centre of Garmisch.. it's a good 15 min walk. There are some restaurants near by but very limited.
The hotel..rooms are large well furnished, bathroom tiny but ok, modern and functional. The beds are hard as wood, even wood would have been more comfy. I did not ask to have them changed as it was 3 nights and did not feel like the hassle if they said no..but I did ask for more pillows which they gave me. Breakfast is limited and not particualy good except the bread, lots of
"plastic" cheese, salami and watered down orange juice, 2 types of eggs, boiled frankfurters, cereals were ok. They wait for something to run out befre replacing.
The lift does not work after 11pm !!!,
All the drinks except the beer ran out in the vending machine from the first day and were never replaced, do not count on them for esp for water, go to the supermarket close by.
All in all it's not bad for the price as long as you don't mind a walk, I would not stay here again I
would be closer to town next time. Taxi is €8 to town.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room, the lift does not work after 11pm!!! Get closer to the banhof if your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The Hotel Atlas Sport is some way from the main action in Garmisch, so expect to take a bus or taxi into town / for dinner. Luckily it is right on the 1 / 2 bus route, and the local vistor ticket provides free bus rides. They have reasonable rates in ski high season.

Although there is a ski room, there are no boot warmers for drying ski boots overnight. Hot water took a long time to heat up in the morning.

The bed was a little hard, but overall the accommodation was comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry_kap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Nothing fancy about this hotel, but rooms clean and comfortable. Very energy efficient. Morning breakfast buffet available, but not included in cost. Convenient and acceptable food. Within walking distance of restaurants and stores. Clerk at front desk not helpful in exchange paper euro to coin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaya0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Châteauguay, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

On our 2012 tour, we were stopping in Garmish-Partenkirchen to see the mountain. I'm a ski freak and this is the place. So figure to select an hotel that had the word Sport, was part of the concept. Well, let me tell you...this is THE Best hotel we had in 3 weeks. Rooms are trendy, energy saving, personnel takes the time to talk to you and inform you of the things to do, places to eat, etc. From all above and pricewise, you can't beat it. This one is clearly a first-class hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Policka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Great service. Clean rooms and nice people at the reception desk. We stayed for one night only but we got free ticket to public swimming pool, free ticket for city public bus. I can really recommend this hotel for visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaclavStepar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We found this hotel as it was good price for two double rooms, and near good hiking. It is right on a bus route and they give you a card for free bus fare to town, so easy to get around from here. Walking distance to some good restaurants as well. Rooms were nice, clean, had internet, bathroom was a little tight, soap dispensers kept leaking soap all over, but still okay. Somewhat quiet residential area which was nice for sleeping. Breakfast was okay, not a lot of choices and soft boiled eggs were cold. Staff is helpful and friendly. They helped us get info for the Zugspitze. Weather for the area is posted each day. Hotel is close to Olympic Skistadion and the trail head for Must See hiking to Partnachklamm. Last time we were here we stayed at an old hotel in Altstadt but it was full. Actually this was more comfortable although maybe not right in town and as quaint. It was fairly modern. They had a sauna and you needed to give a half hour so it could heat up but didn't get time to use it. Good deal. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowershopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.4 mi away
Atlas Posthotel
Atlas Posthotel
#31 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zur Schonen Aussicht Hotel Garni
Zur Schonen Aussicht Hotel Garni
#30 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlas Grand Hotel
Atlas Grand Hotel
#27 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ludwigshof
Ludwigshof
#35 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#16 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
#24 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ATLAS Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ATLAS Sporthotel

Property: ATLAS Sporthotel
Address: Mittenwalder Str. 13, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ATLAS Sporthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your ATLAS Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ATLAS Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing