We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay, cleaniness, comfort and good location are just the beginnings. The room was spacious, had a little balcony, was facing the Zugspitze and had very comfortable beds; Breakfast offered as much as you expect in a 4-star hotel, free tee in the afternoon, library, access to computer, nice indoor pool, sauna, easy parking. And the staff was very friendly and helpful: a place to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    41
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
43
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

This hotel turned out a lot better than expected. I loved the traditional German breakfasts included in our stay, although my American husband did not (because he thinks good vacation breakfasts must include waffles or french toast) , and we were extremely grateful for the free wi-fi. I never figured out whether the receptionist was just generous and did not charge us, or if it was included in the rate.
Positives of Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel:
1. Free wi-fi.
2. Location. A 6-10 minute walk to the train station and city center.
3. Views. One side of the hotel faces the back-side of the Zugspitze, and the other side faces another mountain and overlooks a brook.
4. Breakfast.
5. Cleanliness.
6. Service - Breakfast personnel were always very nice, and we had no problems with the friendly receptionists who spoke wonderful English.
Other comments -
1. North American tourists: Do not expect a hotel with the most modern carpet or fixtures (except for the restrooms, which were updated and very clean/comfortable). Appreciate its traditional Bavarian elegance!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arualpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed at the Wittelbacher Hof for a week in January, 2011. The room, a double, was spacious enough for us and our small daughter and had an excellent view of the mountains. The staff (especially Mr. Franz Kaefer) were very hospitable and helpful, the food - we had a half-board - was excellent, the waiters were courteous and there was even a 5 o'clock with pastry! Great stay to remember!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate298484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We extended our stay in Garmisch because we liked this hotel so much! We arrived without a reservation, and were given a "small room" according to the desk clerk. It was delightful - painted a cheerful yellow, with room for two easy chairs and a small table along with two twin beds (pushed together) and two nightstands. The best part - a private balcony overlooking the garden area and the mountains. We were very happy with this room! Breakfast included eggs cooked to order, with an attentive serving staff . The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Afternoon tea was served from 4 - 6 p.m. and was a nice touch. The hotel was in easy walking distance for the Zugspitz train station and for the pedestrian/shopping/restaurant zone. We did not use the pool or sauna but they looked inviting and would be wonderful after a day of skiing. An all-round wonderful stay! Liked best - relaxing on the private balcony with the ever-changing mountain view, convenient location, friendliness of staff, comfortable room. Liked least - nothing!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We were a group of 9 staying at the Wittelsbacher Hoff after our visit to Oberammergau. We spent 5 nights there. We were delighted with the hotel, excellent service, beautiful food and very friendly staff. Would definately stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mascothouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiden, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

I have been to Garmisch several times and while I have never had a bad stay, the Wittelsbacher was excellent. Between the pool/sauna, tea time and property, the stay with them as great. Our room was second floor overlooking the street but also the small river allowing for nice ambient sounds for sleep. The breakfast was great with very friendly and prompt service. Check in and out was a snap with very professional staff and the tea time from 1600-1800 was a nice touch and relaxing after a day on the slopes. Highly recommend if you want a classy and inexpensive stay. Also, very accepting of our dog (25kg).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home computer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

There were six of us (3 couples) traveling together. When booking this hotel I noticed that four of us could stay in a suite and each couple would still have our own bathroom and a separate entrance-so it was really 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a short hall. The other couple got a double room that was very nice-but our price was better when we split the suite. All 3 rooms had wonderful views of the mountains and the rooms were quite spacious. Our room (1/2 of the suite) had a couch and coffee table and extra chair. (see pictures) Tea is served in the afternoon, there is a nice patio and a swimming pool too. They serve a very complete breakfast with big pots of homemade jams, breads, meats, juices, and eggs made to order in a charming dining room. Speaking of charming, the lobby and sitting areas are quirky, artsy and unique. The prices are good too. I think you will find this a great place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.3 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlas Posthotel
Atlas Posthotel
#32 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlas Grand Hotel
Atlas Grand Hotel
#26 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Von-Brug-Str. 24, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#15 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing