We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at this hotel. We were a little worried about the noise when we saw that it was on the main street but it wasn't a problem at all. The town is very quiet. This hotel has a great location in the Garmisch sector of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Their restaurant is very good and so is the included buffet breakfast which is very complete. They have a nice terrace adjacent to the restaurant. Free parking in front of the hotel was also a great asset. We used the interior pool which is very nice and it has access to an outside seating area as well. The only downside in our room was that the bath only had a handheld shower; you can imagine the mess that makes since there is no shower curtain. Maybe not all rooms are like that.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    41
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
42
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a great hotel to stay out while visiting Garmisch and the surrounding area. Each by car with parking at the hotel. The staff was outstanding and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was comfortable. The breakfast buffett was everything you could want - if you went hungry it was your own fault. Each walk into town where you can tour, shop, eat, and drink all day long. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience the German culture and feel like you belong.

Room Tip: We had a quad room that turned out to be two adjoining double rooms each with private bath. On fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bungie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

A very nice hotel with wonderful staff. We booked this hotel last minute and were not disappointed. We had a king room with a balcony facing the mountains. The food was very good and the indoor pool was very nice and clean. The staff was extremely attentive and were able to help with every request. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bk173105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

As I write this using the hotel's wifi service (which they were willing to give me 4 logins to) during the afternoon tea service, more on that later.
The hotel is well located close to the train station and not too far from a main bus stop so no problems getting around. It is also on a main road so rooms roadside (such as ours was) can have some road noise, but we had little problem sleeping even with the window open a little bit, since German driving tends to cut back substantially at night. We had the window open because the room was a bit too warm for us for sleeping, even with the radiators shut off. Also the curtains were not totally opaque so there was always some light in the room.
The bath has a hand-held shower head put no divider so some careful use of the spray is needed. The room also had bath robes and slippers in addition to the usual complement of linens.
The bed was a pair of mattresses on a matrimonial frame. They were comfortable and the pillows that were decoratively placed on the bed were a down type so they were very soft (I had to use 2 because I prefer a higher pillow).
The room was comfortable for the two of us.
The hotel has an indoor swimming pool that they keep at a very comfortable temperature but when we first visited it there were some fairly rambunctious children playing in it so it was a bit cramped. We visited it again but this time we went earlier (before 16:00) so we had the pool room to ourselves.
The sauna area tends to have a number of naked men in it so ...
The fruhstuck (or breakfast) is very nice with a small egg menu (scrambled, fried, or omelette) and the rest of the breakfast is a smorgasbord of cheeses, salmon, breads, pastries, yoghurt, muesli, and a selection of juices - one cannot start the day hungry here unless they get up after 10.
The afternoon tea service is quite nice with a good selection of individual and pot sized bagged teas. There usually is a selection of very nice torts and pastries as well.
The dining room is another very nice feature of the hotel. The menu does change daily and is a bit more expensive than some of the other places we've ate but the service is absolutely first class. We were seated in the outer corner table where we couldn't see the wait-station but we had no problems placing our order or being served, despite the fact we were there for little more than some soup and a salad. The potatoe cream soup with shrimps was quite nice with the shrimps being butterflied and on a skewer placed over the soup bowl. The salad was a table set with all the fixings for a complex side salad. We decided to splurge on dessert (we don't do it often) and we got the vanilla ice cream with hot raspberries and a Bavarian cream with blueberries on a fruit sauces, both of them were absolutely wonderful.
When we vist Garmisch again we will certainly stay here.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at this lovely small hotel. Would recommend. Rooms warm and clean. Breakfast excellent with fantastic assortment of bread fruit cheese and juice. They serve lovely afternoon tea with cake each day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Majella500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We booked a short family ski trip. The hotel is in a great location and within easy walking distance from the shops and restaurants. Also just a short drive to the slopes. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. We were able to purchase our ski passes at reception which saved time. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night and food and service was excellent.

Breakfast very good and quick service with cooked option. The best part and a really nice touch was the afternoon tea which was included in the rate. A great selection of cakes which was really good after a day skiing.

We had interconnecting rooms which were very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We (myself, wife and our 10-year old boy) stayed at this hotel for six nights early October 2012 - it was probably the best hotel experience we ever had! Our room was very spacious and had spectacular views of the Alps! But more than the comfort and convenience, it was the very friendly staff, whether at the front desk or at breakfast buffet or the coffee service in the morning, that made our stay one of the most pleasant experiences for us. Like all the people we came across in this beautiful little town, they went out of their way to make us feel most welcome. This is in spite of the fact that we spoke no German at all (almost feel guilty for not even trying).
The room rate also included free wi-fi, which was nice. The shower had only a partial screen, so had to be careful not to flood the bath floor while taking the shower! The bay windows and the little balcony offered really spectacular views! We were a bit surprised not to find a coffee maker in the room, but turned out we just had to call for coffee in the morning, and within minutes someone would be knocking on the door with a warm smile and hot coffee - a great way to start your day!
It has been over a month since our return and we are already longing to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPfromCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.3 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#19 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Von-Brug-Str. 24, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing