We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Bavaria !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
home computer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Bavaria !”
Reviewed 19 October 2009

There were six of us (3 couples) traveling together. When booking this hotel I noticed that four of us could stay in a suite and each couple would still have our own bathroom and a separate entrance-so it was really 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a short hall. The other couple got a double room that was very nice-but our price was better when we split the suite. All 3 rooms had wonderful views of the mountains and the rooms were quite spacious. Our room (1/2 of the suite) had a couch and coffee table and extra chair. (see pictures) Tea is served in the afternoon, there is a nice patio and a swimming pool too. They serve a very complete breakfast with big pots of homemade jams, breads, meats, juices, and eggs made to order in a charming dining room. Speaking of charming, the lobby and sitting areas are quirky, artsy and unique. The prices are good too. I think you will find this a great place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    41
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
33
47
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed for a family Christmas break but I slipped on the wet, marble steps in the sauna area on the first night. Unfortunately I severely bruised my hand which spoilt my holiday (skiing). What was particularly disappointing was that my concern over the obviously dangerous steps was dismissed. I am a fit, healthy guy who clearly bounces but I could imagine someone older and less 'bouncy' being very seriously injured.

My concern was dismissed, no apology or concern was expressed and I was made to feel unwelcome despite my care to be polite and non accusative. The Hotel manager/owner's response was arrogant and wrong. In the end, I was unable to fly (I am a pilot) for over 6 weeks because of this injury. A 'beware slippery steps' sign the wrong side of the door does not remove the danger I'm afraid.

Additionally, I felt the hotel was money-grabbing, the food was delicious but took ages to turn up (over 4 hours for one meal) and the decor uninspiring. From the inside, this hotel could have been anywhere in the world as there were few clues to it being in Bavaria.

We were charged for items we were told were free and the supplement of £200 for Christmas Eve, which I had assumed was for something special (music etc), simply went as a surcharge for being there on the day.

We booked two rooms and paid a supplement for one - which was OK but small. The other was clean but box-like and I have had better from a two star or less.

Overall, the general staff were excellent and the food very good but tiresome in delivery. The hotel was blandly decorated, the rooms tired, the management arrogant and dismissive, the atmosphere geriatric and poor value for money. The stairs in the sauna/pool area clearly dangerous as was perfectly demonstrated and the management showed little concern for the welfare of guests.

Not only would I not recommend this hotel to a friend, I would actually counsel against going there.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I was here with a group and those of us with renovated rooms liked this hotel a lot better than the people with the small broom closets that pass for rooms in the old section.
The renovated room had a nice bathrobe in the room, a fridge , decent TV channels and a very good sized bathroom. Pool is heated but small. Steam room/sauna is co-ed, so be prepared for nude guests of either sex to join you. Location is good except for the construction on the street. Internet is pricy at Euro 4 for 30 minutes and every hotel that charges userous internet rates will get a bad review from me as far as business facilities go. Dinner was excellent and dining room looks lovely.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We stayed here 5 nights while in Garmisch for business and pleasure. I've wrangled over what I thought of it.

The location is excellent for browsing in central Garmisch, though there's currently construction down the street, making Von Brug strasse busy, dangerous and loud. That is a situation which will be resolved over the next months, though.

So,what's the problem? We had a lovely view and paid considerably more for a "larger" room. This, however, doesn't feel like a 4 star hotel. The attention to detail is lacking. It seems to not know what it wants to be and how it wants to be decorated. It's not Bavarian themed, but it's not Victorian, while kind of being both. The room decor is quite plain and unattractive, something you'd find in any decent 2-star. The walls are scarred and with running paint, look like an amateur painted them. The hotel needs a renovation to upgrade the elevator, room decor, pool area and all the interior common areas, including the steps to the spa area. It appears little attention has been paid for some years now. It's just fair with potential.

That said, the restaurant was great. The atmosphere was "old folks home", but the food was delicious. The breakfast was decent and it was nice to have freshly cooked eggs to order. The wait staff in the restaurant, dinner and breakfast, was wonderful and professional. The hotel staff was helpful, though a bit perfunctory. The beds were decent with cleaning done nicely each day. There's a small refrigerator and a very small sitting area. As a note, bring your own hairdryer.

Well, that's it. With so many other decent hotels and guest rooms in the Garmisch area, I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marchelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2008

My friends and I lucked out by receiving a suite. We were with a school group and rooms were given out at random, and we got the lucky straw! The room had a nice balcony with a good view of the mountains and a large bathroom. It had a nice corner booth with a card table and plenty of floor space. The hotel is located right next to a stream and there are a wealth of convenient stores just down the street. A food market, pharmacy, and video store are a block away, as well as a nice bakery. The hotel has an upscale atmosphere, with a beautiful dining room and lounge. Also, keep a lookout for the pool and spas. Though there was plenty of snow on the ground, it looked like there was a nice garden.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Expensive internet access
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andrewbags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We stayed here one night and liked the hotel. Its a four star hotel; the rooms are large and have a small balcony. They have a good swimming pool (indoor), tanning bed, and jacuzzi. Good breakfast. The views from the rooms are great; the Alps. Its an impressive view. You can walk from the hotel to the downtown area to do some shopping.

  • Liked — room views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscarito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 July 2006

Our experience with the hotel was a very good one. Location is convenient to the downtown pedestrian zone as well as the main train station. Free parking for guests was also a plus, compared to other hotels.

Hotel was well-maintained. Breakfast and other meals were good and included a variety of cuisines beyond Bavarian. Service from the staff was excellent.

Although the hotel does not have air conditioning in the room, our room was quite comfortable due to the breeze provided by the river next to the hotel. Room size was quite comfortable for two adults (had corner room with a nice view of the Zugspitz).

Would definitely stay there again and recommend to other visitors.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.3 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#12 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlas Posthotel
Atlas Posthotel
#31 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
#18 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#10 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Von-Brug-Str. 24, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#15 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing