We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riessersee Hotel Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingsport TN
Level Contributor
224 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Located out of Garmisch, the hotel has a nice spa and pool. There is a pleasant lake which one of the serveral restaurants at the resort overlooks. The rooms were interesting as the room we had was situated with the bed in a loft. No problems for us, but could be a problem for elderly people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    98
    69
    39
    31
See reviews for
102
140
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Very nice hotel. Wait staff were very nice. Would recommend again. A little expensive but worth it. Not many speak english but it was OK. Beautyful location on the lake. Suggest walking the trails to the Bobsled sites. It is worth it to see the Olympic sites from 1936.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Maisonette Suite, its not worth the extra $. We also had a double room, very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We booked the Christmas special and the New-Year special offer.
Stayed with our three Kids (9-7-1) in a nice Maisonette Suite. Very friendly staff, Hotel Director Mr.Zinn always kind. We njoyed the Pool and the very good Ski-school Service for the Kids.
The Christmas evening was marvelous ! Traditional music (Zitter, Guitar), gifts and story-tales for the Kids. Champaign at the Christmastree and a very good gala dinner in a lovely arranged restaurant !
Days between the holiday we njoyed in the city/town which is 30 Minutes walk from the Hotel (Downhill) or went to some of the mountain shelter which are all around the location.
The New Year´s Eve was awesome !
Kids were in the Kids-Club until 10.30 p.m. we´ve njoyed the fantastic gala dinner !!
The staff (!) cared for our Baby with addiction.
Almost over the top the display of fireworks with sound and vision was impressing !
If you wanna stay in Bavaria for Christmas vacation, skiing and a outstanding good location you should book the Special arrangements in the Rissersee Resort !
Thks 4 that good time we´ver had !
It would be in total excellent if.... the price would not be that high ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the City are very nice, Maisonette Suite with Lake view are renovated and even be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannewerker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We spent a weekend in January in the Riessersee hotel which was supposed to be a special treat for a birthday. We had booked a suite so that we could accommodate our daughter. Unfortunately, our request to have a view at the lake and mountains was not fulfilled as one could only see the prominent balconies next to ours so that was a bit disappointing. The room itself was not very big so luckily we had a king size bed upstairs. The bathroom only had a bathtub and the switch of the mixer tap was broken so the sprinkler couldn't be used. We complained and it was repaired, but it would have been nice to hear a "sorry" from the hotel staff. Further, they did not consider preparing the sofa for our daughter so we had to ask again (of course, no apologies...). The furniture looked worn and did not make us feel like in a 4 star hotel... The restaurant in the Seehaus was good although the main course took a long while as they prepared the wrong dish. The bar was nice with pool billiard tables, kicker and a large screen that showed snowboarding movies from a projector and we enjoyed it very much: the cocktails were good and reasonably priced.
The swimming pool was large enough to swim, but the service at the Spa didn't impress: The highly recommended offer for a massage at a lower price was later on not granted as the staff members didn't agree upon what to do so the one doing the massage claimed afterwards that this had been the "normal" massage so the full price was due - not nice!
The breakfast was manifold and offered enough for everyone to fill up for the day. I would not recommend the hotel as it looks outworn and you can get much better quality for the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Good points were:
Location. As long as you reliase it is not close to town centre before you go.

Hotel reception staff were friendly.

The pool and jacuzzi was was good.

Happy hour in the bar each evening

Bad points:
Asked for non-smoking but room smelled of smoke.

Poor selection of eating places They advertise several restaurants but when we stayed there was only one (Seehaus Restaurant) open so no choice.

Poor service and choice in Seehaus restaurant. Here the menus choice was very limited and service very slow and poor. They were able to get the order wrong both night - forgot to bring one starter first night and then second night brough the wrong soup

Breaksfast was adeqate but not great for a 4 star hotel.

If hotel restaurants were open it would have made such a difference

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel has a great location on a small lake above Garmisch. Our room was only 119 euro including breakfast which we felt was excellent value for a lovely hotel with a spa. We travel with a large dog and really enjoyed taking him for a moonlight walk around the lake. The rooms are typical european size,nicely furnished with comfortable beds. The spa pool is big enough to swim short laps. The changing room is tiny and you have to remember a Euro coin if you need a locker. All the rooms are provided with large toweling robes so most people will change in their room but it may require a short walk outside. The saunas are small with an outside area for cooling off. I can imagine at peak season the spa might be crowded but we had no problems. Breakfast buffet was great,large selection of hot and cold foods even some mini Weisswurst. We were fairly early at breakfast and nothing ever ran out. I read all the recent English and German language reviews. While I agree that service in the restaurants is not great we had no major problems. One reviewer was unhappy that they forgot to bring cutlery with a main course, same thing happened to us but I did not feel it spoiled our meal. We found the food good. The Garden restaurant had a nice salad buffet, soup and main course. Second night we were in the See restaurant. The food was good very tasty but no salad buffet just soup and main course a little disappointing. We had no problems with cleanliness of the room. The room had been completely refurbished since we stayed here 2 years ago. I cannot say that the reception staff were friendly but they were not unfriendly just business like. They were very helpful when we needed advice on hikes. Our only critcism overall is the high Internet access rates with no free Wifi even in the reception area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffeenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here in September for two nights in one of the Master Suites. Although it was nicely appointed and the two bathrooms were large, the suite itself was rather narrow. Between us and our two dogs, it was tough to maneuver around.

Our two evenings there, we dined at the hotel's restaurants. The first night we had the buffet in the Restaurant Sommergarten. It was 25 euro each, but wasn't that great. The main courses were bland, but the salad and finger foods were good. The service, however, was outstanding. The second night we ate in the See Restaurant. Once again, the service was excellent, but the food was just average.

Lastly, the maid service was less than stellar. There were cigarette butts left on the patios outside from the previous occupants and the floors were dirty. They also neglected to refill the coffee canisters, but luckily we had our own portable coffee maker and coffee with us. There were also no coffee mugs in the room. We had to go grab some from the restaurant.

The best thing about the hotel is its surroundings. It sits on a beautiful lake and there is plenty of great hiking to do. I'm glad I visited, but once is enough at the Riessersee.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dru49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
2.1 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dorint SportHotel
Dorint SportHotel
#16 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riessersee Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riessersee Hotel Resort

Property: Riessersee Hotel Resort
Address: Riess 5, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#11 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riessersee Hotel Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays in Bavaria In the middle of the Bavarian alps, high above Garmisch-Partenkirchen the Riessersee Hotel Resort welcomes its guests with bright prospects for an unforgetable stay. Next to the main building, at the shores of lake Riessersee, is the Seehaus (lake house) with nine luxury suites and a fantastic panorama terrace. Enjoy culinary delicacies in our restaurants - original Bavarian or international food is offered. The spa area guarantees well-being in every season with its chlorine-free Grander water indoor pool, sauna and steam bath. Relax with the unique view to Alpspitze, Waxensteine and Zugspitze. Riessersee Hotel Resort in Garmisch-Partenkirchen - the perfect place for holidays for the whole family, for your wedding in Bavaria, honeymoon, for meetings or events. Perfect holidays in Bavaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riessersee Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riessersee Hotel Sport & Spa Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Riessersee Hotel Sport And Spa Resort
Riessersee Hotel Resort Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing