We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riessersee Hotel Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bingen am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you are looking for a very nice quiet four star hotel in a beautiful location with a great staff but still close to the action in Garmisch-Try the Riessersee Hotel Resort. The breakfast buffet was great and the Dinner buffet was OK but a little pricy for what they offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry-Linde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riessersee, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and the recommendation to others! We hope to welcome you agains in the future, in the meantime all best wishes from lake Riessersee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    99
    70
    39
    31
See reviews for
103
143
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have stayed a few times at this hotel and have always enjoyed our time here. It has been a few years since our previous stay and I can say that it only got better! Our two rooms were in Haus C which have been renovated since our last stay which was a nice surprise. Other floors had clearly not been renovated yet as we could tell by the older carpets. Our rooms had a lake view (not a close up view but a nice view all the same), balcony, a loft area where the nice, comfy bed was along with one of the two tv's in the room. The sitting room was furnished with gorgeous painted Bavarian style furniture and the couch was a nice butter-cream leather as was the chair. The 2nd tv was also in this room. It was a nice enough room that a friend of mine visited and we ended up sitting there quite comfortably for an hour chatting.The mini bar was well stocked and the free wi-fi was great.
Included in the room were spa towels, shoes and robes. Our robes were missing from both rooms and it did take a couple of hours and a couple of phone calls to get them but we did get them in time for our massages and the staff were appropriately apologetic which always goes a long way in a service industry.
The spa area is beautiful! It is on the small side but only 1 time did one of the saunas "fill up". The spa is included in the price and was much appreciated. The juice and water area (free) was also a nice touch. A quick note: the saunas are "clothing free" for those unfamiliar with the European spas. Use your towel to sit/lay on when in the saunas.
Some of us did have massages. We felt the masseuse on duty at the time (last Sunday) was perfectly sweet, professional and did a great job! Locker's take a euro coin which you get back when the key is returned.
Breakfast was very nice. The stations were always replenished quickly, the food was delicious and they always looked clean and tidy. The staff were attentive and though busy were always helpful with anything needed. They had a large selection of items including hot foods such as eggs, tomatoes, potatoes, meats; cold selections such as cheese, meats, yoghurts, musli, cereals, etc and a very large selection of breads, pretzels, sweet breads. The only thing I would have changed was the menu on occasion. Seeing the exact same items every day, even with a large variety, is not as pleasing to the eye as when you find a quiche or a fried egg instead of the scrambled day to day. Having said that, everything was delicious!
We ate in the hotels indoor restaurant once which had a choice of buffet or ala carte. We ate ala carte and enjoyed the goat cheese salads, pork medallions and wolf fish. I wouldn't say it was a five star dinner but it was towards the end of their closing time and it was still very nice and the staff were very friendly. We also ate at the lakeside cafe for lunch and it was wonderful! The view of the lake and mountains were lovely as was the staff and our meals. One of the ladies wanted a sweet wine of which they really didn't offer but they made her up a special "spritz" wine cooler with Riesling and Sprite! The prawns with fresh tomatoes and tagletalle was wonderful and the salad with chicken was quite large and delicious. The desserts of ice cream with walnuts was filled with whole walnuts and the apple strudel with ice cream was rated as "the best I've ever had"! The only thing here which did not bother any of us but might some others with a time constraint was the service was not overly attentive. If we wanted something we only had to wave our hand and someone would immediately come to the table but we found we needed to do that for any refills, to order our mains and then again desserts and coffees, etc. Again, didn't bother us a bit but we ended up enjoying a 2.5 hour lunch! So, if you were in a bit of a hurry then I would make sure you ordered all at once.
The trails around the lake and into the forest are gentle and easy. Bike riding is also fun (we brought ours during a separate visit) and they do have rentals, the rowboats are fun for the whole family and even the swimming, if you've a mind to is fun on a hot day (my children when younger did this). On this trip our weather was not so good but we did enjoy walking around the lake and the grounds.
I wish that we had longer than two nights at the Riessersee Hotel. I would have definitely enjoyed the large variety of massages and taken the boats out again and my husband thought the ebikes looked like a lot of fun. Also, I would have returned to the lake cafe and enjoyed another summer meal!

Room Tip: I would choose Haus C as they have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serene4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riessersee, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much vor this detailed and positive feedback to your holidays at lake Riessersee in Garmisch-Partenkirchen!

We have read it attentive and got some ideas to change things and make it even better for the future, for example a breakfast menu to order all sorts of eggs.

So your next stay -. hopefully soon - will be perfect in any detail :).

Kind regards,

Uschi Glas
Assistant to management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The pictures look great and make it look like you have a beautiful mountain view from your room. The reality is you look over a lake that looks like a summer camp for kids. The mountain view is only when you are at the summer camp lake.
Add to that that they couldn't get the luggage to the right room and never brought up a firm pillow after request.
Now there is a party with a loud rock band until midnight on a weekday. Closing the window makes it only slightly loud, but with no working air conditioning, we are miserable.
They truly don't care. I would possibly expect this from a cheap hotel but not an expensive one.
The view of the mountains from the lake can only get you so far if you can't sleep. I can't wait until we check out in the morning. What a disappointment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottbehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riessersee, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

we are very sorry that we have caused you so much trouble. Be sure, the summer camp party is not our standard. Normally a holiday at the Riessersee means relaxation and calm, not party and loud music till midnight.

All suites at the main building have an aircondition so we recommend this for your next stay. We don´t know what went wrong with your luggage and the pillow but we will check this immediately to make sure the mistakes won´t happen again.

Anyway, the apologize comes to late for you and your holidays. We would kindly ask you to contact us by mail (sekretariat@r-r-h.de), maybe we will find a way to recompense our mistakes and show you another side of the Riessersee Hotel Resort.

Thank you in advance!

Kind regards,

Uschi Glas
Assistant to management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels

Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
409 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

i was staying there for two nights during the BMW Biker Days in Garmisch. the room is great, with the bed above (you have stairs to walk to bed). makes the room really, really unique. Only trouble is to have the bathroom downstairs when you enjoeyed the nice, local beer. Beer garden at the lake is great. So is the bar (with a very early happy hour!).
i used the sauna - and specially the "outdoor-sauna" is great. every thing was very good, including the breakfast buffet.
I will come back and check, if there is a chance to make it "excellent".

Room Tip: "Two-floor" room will be great if you love stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riessersee, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time for a feedback to your stay. We are very happy to hear that everything satisfied you!

To make it perfect the next time we recommend our suites at the lake house ;)

Have a great time till we meet again at the shores of lake Riessersee!

Kind regards,

Uschi Glas
Assistant to management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Four fantastic days . The hotel offers an excelent atmosphere . Good food , Good bed , Good peaple . We loved it . I recomend the SPA sauna and the swimming pool also . Very Nice terapy Victorio Fae ( S.Paulo - Brasil )

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riessersee, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Victorio Fay,

thank you so much for your warm and friendly words! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you arrived home safe and we are looking forward to your next stay in Garmisch-Partenkirchen!

Kind regards from lake Riessersee, Bavaria,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We accidently found this hotel. We were treated very professionally and kindly upon our arrival. Our room was clean and lovely. The bathroom was very nice and also clean. The temperature outside was wonderful so we did not have to use the heat or AC. Our favorite part was breakfast every morning. So much wonderful and excellently prepared food to choose from with a beautiful setting in the glass atrium. A great way to start out each day. The staff was helpful in every way. We loved the Italian bartender who had such a great personality. The grounds were immaculate with a beautiful winding drive up the mountain. We did not use the spa, so can not comment on that. Our building did not have an elevator, but if you used the elevators in the main building and then the overhead walkway from the hotel to our building, it was not problem. If we are ever in this area again, we will positively stay here and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riessersee, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and of course we will give your compliments to our staff, especially to our Italian barkeeper Piero.

We really hope to welcome you again if you ever join the Garmisch area in the future.

All best wishes in the meantime!

Uschi Glas
Assistant to management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked a 3-night package at this aged hotel in the Bavarian Alps. Our decision to visit this hotel was based on the advertised wellness area. The area is beautiful - surrounded by mountains with a little lake right by the hotel, which made for nice morning walks after enjoying a good breakfast buffet (great fresh orange juice). Upon arrival, we were informed that 2 of the 3 saunas are in repair; what a letdown. The non-smoking room was nice and clean, but when we opened the balcony door, the smoke from whoever smoked on the outside patio right below us came into our room. The included neck and shoulder massage was good. The pool was a nice size, but the whirlpool/Jacuzzi was dry and non-functional. Another disappointment. The bar was nice and the service was excellent. The reception desk staff was responsive when asked, but didn't seem to be interested if everything was alright when we departed. All in all, it was a relaxing stay because of the surroundings, but the hotel is hardly a resort.

Room Tip: Higher floor has less noise from outside workers. At 7am, ground keeping personnel started with nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12einbayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riessersee, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your statement - we are unhappy to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the Riessersee Hotel Resort. Due to some important repairs we had to close parts of the Spa area for four weeks. Everything is finished and new now. We are sorry that it is too late for you but we had a note on our website (in German and English) to let all guests know about and and even had informed the tour operators.

We hope you give us a second chance to compensate your disapointment during your next stay!

Kind regards,

Riessersee Hotel Resort,

Uschi Glas
Assistant to management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
2.1 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dorint SportHotel
Dorint SportHotel
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riessersee Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riessersee Hotel Resort

Property: Riessersee Hotel Resort
Address: Riess 5, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#11 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riessersee Hotel Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays in Bavaria In the middle of the Bavarian alps, high above Garmisch-Partenkirchen the Riessersee Hotel Resort welcomes its guests with bright prospects for an unforgetable stay. Next to the main building, at the shores of lake Riessersee, is the Seehaus (lake house) with nine luxury suites and a fantastic panorama terrace. Enjoy culinary delicacies in our restaurants - original Bavarian or international food is offered. The spa area guarantees well-being in every season with its chlorine-free Grander water indoor pool, sauna and steam bath. Relax with the unique view to Alpspitze, Waxensteine and Zugspitze. Riessersee Hotel Resort in Garmisch-Partenkirchen - the perfect place for holidays for the whole family, for your wedding in Bavaria, honeymoon, for meetings or events. Perfect holidays in Bavaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riessersee Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riessersee Hotel Sport And Spa Resort
Riessersee Hotel Sport & Spa Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Riessersee Hotel Resort Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing