We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL near STATION - 85%”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
London
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL near STATION - 85%”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

2nd visit to this hotel - stayed for a week 511 euro's B & B thru Olotel.

Very close to station - 5 minutes walk. Excellent maid / cleaner - room usually cleaned whilst we had breakfast. Nice breakfast with squeeze your own orange juice first day though machine not seen again !. All staff on reception helpful.

Only issue was no English language TV station other than CNN for a few hours every day. Room a bit on the small side but very comfy beds. Good cupboard space and able to leave bags in a storage room on day when we checked out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyMonsterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    113
    52
    33
    17
See reviews for
43
122
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2011

perfect location for trains and buses .more than helpfull staff, and in english.breakfast was big and lots of choice. bedroom was very clean, and well cleaned daily.

Room Tip: if british ask staff for a kettle so helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank banksy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

My husband, self and 8yr old son have just returned from this hotel. We arrived in Garmisch by train and this hotel is very close, a few minutes walk away. Slightly longer walk into the main part of town but that did`nt bother us at all. It is a very modern hotel that looks like a typical chain of hotels. We had a triple room with the childs bed being a sofa bed. Well equipped bathroom and room. Spotlessly clean. Our room was on the 3rd floor and we had great views over the mountains. The breakfast included something for everyone. My son is a very fussy eater but had no problems here ! Lots of choice, from cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheeses to scrambled egg, bacon, sausages and a selection of pastries. We did`nt eat here in the evenings so can`t comment on that however the menus looked good and reasonably priced. We are the kind of holiday makers who love exploring so the location ( close to train) was a big plus for us. Grat area to explore, plenty to do. For us a hotel is simply somewhere to sleep and have breakfast ( after all you don`t go on holiday just to sit around the hotel !) Would definitely recommend this hotel. Everything we wanted and more and a great price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank thomasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Ilinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Quality Hotel Koenigshof during our recent holiday in Germany. First off, if you are visiting Garmisch and coming in by train or planning on going skiing, this hotel is right across the street from the station. The staff was very helpful, even checking conditions on the Zugspitze for us. Our room was very large, clean and we had a large deck which overlooked the mountains. We were also provided a 2 day free bus pass which we used to get to the ski jump, which was the site of the Olympics when Munich hosted. My husband convinced me that we should ride to the top of the mountain. After he paid I saw our mode of transportation. It was basically a beer can that we rode in to the top. I was nervous but once off our "can" followed closely along the mountain. The views were absolutely amazing! Such fun and only 9 Euro per person after 3pm. The next day we went to the top of the Zugspitze. We caught the train across the street from the hotel, very convenient. The Zugspitze was amazing, really something to see. We ate at an Italian restaurant down the street from the hotel, called Da Renzo. We are from Chicago and honestly, this was one of the best pizzas that I have ever eaten! The inclusive breakfast at the hotel is like brunch in the US. They had eggs, bacon, you could squeeze your own fresh orange juice, delicious! The hotel has a beautiful sauna and the front desk will even provide you with an auf gus. I really enjoyed Garmisch and our stay at the Koenigshof.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This Hotel is well situated, but it has definitely seen better days. It has a stale look and smell about it, immediately evident in the reception area. We had a standard double room on the third floor, and it was tiny and very poorly laid out. They charged an extra 10 euros for parking in the clumsy parking area below.
The Internet was available, but the receptionist warned that it was not reliable – and had been that way for months! Admittedly the accommodation was not very expensive, only 88 euros including breakfast, but the overall experience was not gratifying. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels

Natick, MA
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This hotel is rated as a 4 star hotel. Although I think of it as more of a high 3 star. The service and the breakfast are both fabulous. The room was not very big actually we had a room with balcony, the balcony was just about the same size as the room. Best part of the hotel is the price only 88 euro with a wondeful breakfast. The location is wonderful too. It is near the train station and only a 10 minute walk from downtown Garmisch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robandkimmeek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed in this hotel from 13-19 February 2010. I reserved two rooms and requested that they be next to each other as one was to be occupied by my wife and I, and the other by my daughter and her partner. Firstly the two rooms were not together (250 and 235). The difference between the two rooms was also immediately apparent. 250 was a comfortably large room with a balcony and mini-bar. 235 had no balcony, no mini-bar and was the size of a shoe box with a bed tucked into a corner where the person sleeping on the inside would have to climb over the other person to get in or out of bed. When I reserved the rooms I expected that they be of similar quality. If this is not the case then the cost of 235 should be a lot cheaper than that of 250. Also on the negative side the TV services stated were not available and the rooms were overpoweringly hot and dry with no way of regulating the temperature other than, in the case of 250 opening the balcony door, or in 235, opening the window onto a busy road. I did approach the man at reception to request a change of room for 235, if not immediately, then at least in the next day or so as we were staying for the week. He looked at me as if I was mad to suggest that one of the rooms was not up to my standard and refused a change on the grounds that the hotel was fully booked. This was clearly not the case as there was a big ‘rooms available’ sign at the entrance to the hotel. Also we would have been happy to wait a day or two until somebody checked out. He would have none of it and his attitude verged upon the downright rude. On the plus side the hotel was well situated close to amenities and the restaurant and breakfast room were excellent. We did not use the sauna /solarium so I cannot comment on them. I would however, regardless of my problems with my room allocations and quality, recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robandkimmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#16 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#9 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality ...
#29 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
#22 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlas Grand Hotel
Atlas Grand Hotel
#25 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Property: Hotel Koenigshof
Address: St.-Martin-Str. 4, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Quality Hotel Koenigshof)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#15 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koenigshof 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Konigshof Garmisch Partenkirchen. The Hotel Koenigshof Garmisch is centrally located between Garmisch and Partenkirchen at the foot of the Zugspitze, Germany's highest Mountain. The Hotel is centrally located: the best for shopping, parties, the train station and the ski bus is within walking distance. All alpine activities, you can easily and conveniently start from the hotel. Take pleasure in the snow while skiing, snowboarding, cross country skiing, snowshoeing and sledding. On request we offer a Ski-Shuttle. Extensive hiking paths of all levels for the family to professionals, playing golf, horseback riding, swimming in crystal clear lakes and discover the cultural treasures of the Bavarian castles world. Or simply enjoy the tranquility, the healthy air of the Bavarian Alps and the magnificent views of the Wettersteinmassiv. Active relaxation you enjoy in the SPA with 3 sauna, work-out and recreation area. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Garmisch Partenkirchen
Quality Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Hotel Koenigshof Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing