We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical American hotel in Germany”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical American hotel in Germany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

Don't get me wrong...this hotel was great--huge room, huge bathroom, clean, modern, etc. It's just didn't have a lot of the "German" character found in the smaller hotels. I can't complain though. It was finally nice to have a bathroom where I couldn't sit on the toilet, wash my hands and shave my legs all at the same time. This place had a huge bathroom with a really nice bathtub. We called last minute for a double room and ended up with a giant room with a sitting area and balcony with patio furniture. Crazy!! The people at the front desk were exceptionally helpful. Breakfast was delicious with a large variety of food for people of all tastes. Try the pretzel with nutella!!

We paid 100 euro for the night and we got pretty much what we expected. I did feel though like I could have been in any American city.

  • Liked — proximity to train station, bathtub
  • Disliked — very little character
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    107
    49
    30
    16
See reviews for
42
115
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

Stayed one night in this hotel with my wife. Good location, very clean, staff helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — position, cleanliness, breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank blue2k8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

I see that this hotel gets some good reviews, but only from people who have stayed there on a bed & breakfast basis. Anyone unlucky enough to have booked full board will by now know the truth - the food in the evening is awful!!! The menu offers an a la carte menu of some fairly typical German dishes, but if the restaurant is full the wait for fairly mediocre food can be long. Far better to go elsewhere. But it is the menu of the day that really plumbs the depths of terrible cooking. The starter is always a thin but acceptable soup. There is a choice of main courses which invariably is pork or pork. If you are vegetarian, or even worse, vegan, do not touch this hotel with a barge pole. Not only is the menu of the day revoltingly awful, it also takes the over-worked staff about two hours to serve it, due to delays in the kitchen.
If you want to turn to alcohol in order to forget the food or while away the time, you will be pushed. The staff have little time to serve it and the eccentric manager does not like customers buying their own booze at the bar. If you want simply a glass of tap water, forget it. The manager does not allow tap water to be served in the restaurant. Clients have to buy bottled water at Euros 4 a time.

The breakfast, on the other hand, is quite good. Eggs, bacon, lots of bread, cold meats, cheese etc.


The rooms are good: spacious, and comfortable. The hotel is also fairly quiet, and located near to the railway station. So for a B&B deal it is not too bad. But the nearby Rindls Hof is much better. The Konigshof is a last resort hotel, and then strictly only for B&B.

  • Liked — The rooms were comfortable
  • Disliked — The terrible food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank watchdog54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

For Thanksgiving, 'Ms. T' & I decided to head down to Garmisch for some early-season snowboarding. The hotel choice was very successful.
Hotel Koenigshof is right next to the train station and a short distance to Hausberg, where the rental/lesson lodge is. The room was well-equipped (tv, nice restroom, large armoire) and comfortable. Our view was probably one of the worst in Garmisch, but we didn't spend an inordinate amount of time there.
In all, it was a wonderful launching point for our trip into the German Alps.

  • Liked — Proximity to train station
  • Disliked — No view from our room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2007

This 91 room hotel is an American style inn but clean, new, modern and comfortable and is across the street from the train station on the main road in the centre of Partenkirchen. At 95 euro for two adults and one child, full buffet breakfast and underground parking included, the price was good if not exceptional for our July 2007 stay. There is also free street parking in front of the hotel until from 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 a.m. As another reviewer noted, the 50 undeground parking spaces are a lot tighter than normal but certainly doable if you have a small car. Do ensure you go down two levels though; the first level is for a rental car agency.

The hotel has little architectural appeal from the outside but inside is more inviting and our room was nice. The double bed was firm and comfortable, pillows were feather, linens were crisp and clean and there were bedside tables with individual reading lamps, and telephone. The room had no less than four free electrical outlets for guests to plug whatever into, was fully carpeted, and contained a full length dressing mirror, large storage unit, textured wallpaper walls, writing desk with chair, additional luggage desk, a window which opened, sheer curtains and plastic lined shade curtains, mini-fridge with snacks, and a small tube TV. You may also obtain two rooms linked through a door in the common wall. Non-smoking rooms are offered.

The fully tiled to the ceiling bathroom has a sink in a marble counter, 5 recessed halogen light fixtures, 2 drinking glasses, hair dryer, two additional electrical outlets, a towel warmer, shower with hand held sprayer, a real and deep soaker tub, two soap dispensers labelled "hair hand body wash", two rolls of toilet paper, and two hand towels, two bath towels, and one floor mat.

The hotel has conference room facilities and many business class amenities but no internet except wi-fi in the lobby and selected rooms only. Staff are friendly and accomodating and speak English. Future plans for the hotel include the construction of a pool.

The buffett breakfast was good offering juice (apple, orange, mixed fruit), tea, coffee, hot water, cereal (corn flakes, puffed crisps, granola with raison, chocolate crisps), cold milk, croissants (plain or chocolate filled), butter, margaine, jams, two kinds of soft cheese, hard cheese slices (swiss, gouda), ham, proscuitto, turkey, salami, and various cold cut meats, four yogurts, American Strip bacon, scrambled eggs, breakfast sausage, canned preserved fruit (pear halves, peach halves), assorted breads, and assorted fresh fruits.

There is a post office, bank, and DHL centre across the street, a drug store next door, and all manner of shopping and banking all within a short five minute radius of the hotel. A 10 minute walk will take you to the sports stadium and facilities for the 1936 Olympic winter games.

To locate the Quality Hotel Konigshof, travel south on Highway 95 from Munich and follow the signs to Garmisch-Partenkirchen. After passing through the only tunnel on route, the road splits; keep to the right and avoid the left lane going to Innsbruk and the Bremner Pass. After a little s-turn you will come to a McDonald's on your left and a Pizza Hut on your right at a small traffic light controlled T-intersection, the main corner in Garmisch. Turn left down the T and the next traffic light has the Hotel Alpina on the right. Turn left again and follow the U-shaped road going under the train underpass and you will see the Quality Hotel on your left as you come up from the other side.
Credit cards, but not travellers cheques, and euro's are all accepted.

Garmisch-Partenkirchen is one of the most beautiful tourist friendly residential Alpine towns which is full of tourist infrastructure and yet has not lost any of its small town character or charm. Be sure to locate the old section of the town of Partenkirchen with its stone streets just off the main road heading out to Innsbruk.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, nice breakfast, nice views, good location
  • Disliked — Tight parking, no internet
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2006

Booked two double rooms with a rate of 65 Euros/night including breakfast, which was great!

This hotel is exactly in front of the main train station of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. This was a very good thing for us, since we didn’t travel with a car but instead used public transportations for the whole time we were there.
My first impression was, well it was a typical business hotel. Big building, square, basic. But it was clean, and that’s the most important thing.
Hotel staffs were competent and friendly.
Our rooms both have balconies, but there weren’t exactly any views to admire from there.
The room size was okay, room clean, bathroom clean, mattress good, no disturbing noises from outside.
Now breakfast, breakfast was excellent! Plenty of choices and of excellent quality.

Location was just perfect for us. The city centre is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The train station to Zugspitze is just 5 minutes walk.

Overall, it’s a great hotel, especially when you also have our rate. But, if you prefer places to stay with more of a typical old/mountain houses flare, you should then look further.

  • Liked — Breakfast.
  • Disliked — Not much view.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cioccolato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2005

Hotel is clean and somewhat modern. My single room was small, but had a double sized bed. There is no A/C but since this is a winter resort town I was probably there one of the only nights it would have come in handy. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and has many different items. If you drive, I hope you have a small car because the parking garage is the absolute smallest I have ever seen. If you take the train the hotel is almost directly across the street from the Bahnhof. It got a little noisy at night with cars racing by on the street. Overall, nothing really wrong with this facility except the absolute nightmare of a parking garage.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank H8UofFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.1 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlas Posthotel
Atlas Posthotel
#32 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Property: Hotel Koenigshof
Address: St.-Martin-Str. 4, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Quality Hotel Koenigshof)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#16 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koenigshof 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Konigshof Garmisch Partenkirchen. The Hotel Koenigshof Garmisch is centrally located between Garmisch and Partenkirchen at the foot of the Zugspitze, Germany's highest Mountain. The Hotel is centrally located: the best for shopping, parties, the train station and the ski bus is within walking distance. All alpine activities, you can easily and conveniently start from the hotel. Take pleasure in the snow while skiing, snowboarding, cross country skiing, snowshoeing and sledding. On request we offer a Ski-Shuttle. Extensive hiking paths of all levels for the family to professionals, playing golf, horseback riding, swimming in crystal clear lakes and discover the cultural treasures of the Bavarian castles world. Or simply enjoy the tranquility, the healthy air of the Bavarian Alps and the magnificent views of the Wettersteinmassiv. Active relaxation you enjoy in the SPA with 3 sauna, work-out and recreation area. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Garmisch Partenkirchen
Quality Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Hotel Koenigshof Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing