We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel & Gasthof Fraundorfer
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlas Grand Hotel(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gasthof Drei Mohren(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maier Garni(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Ludwigshof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ATLAS Sporthotel(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Trifthof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
147
105
39
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
105
39
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaccordion playerbavarian musicnightly entertainmenttwo twin beds pushed togetherfolk dancingbavarian experiencelovely streetrestaurant downstairsmain buildingvealwonderful mealguest housepainted buildingsbavarian hotelvisiting garmischbavarian styleyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I loved this hotel. I was traveling alone and the chaming owner of the Gasthof Elisabeth made sure none of the solo travelers sat alone for the Dinner and fine entertainment of German Mountain Music. It was GEMUETLICH and lots of fun. The food was wonderful,the room was perfect with Balcony spilling over with flowers. The service was outstanding in all ways. The price was good. I will be going back. Also went to the Alpix near the Alpspitze. Very exciting.

Room Tip: Room 45 ...2 large beds and a sofa bed. Bathroom, lots os storage space. Sitting area, Balcony with a fine Mountain view of the Zugspitze and the Alpspitze.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liskarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is located on a gorgeous cobblestoned street that looks like it's in a movie about a small Bavarian village in the 1800s. We booked our room through another website, and the hotel had lost our reservation for some reason. But after showing them my confirmation email from the website, they honored my reservation and made everything right. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful, even going above and beyond by suggesting sites to see throughout Bavaria and giving me directions to a shop outside of town for affordable lederhosen since I was preparing to attend Oktoberfest later in the week.

The downstairs restaurant was not too loud for us as others have suggested. The room had a traditional Bavarian style with a nice rustic feel. There was free parking located in the back that came in extremely handy for us since we were driving. You will not be disappointed by the breakfast either!

I would highly recommend this location to anyone visiting Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Recently I was co-leader of a group of 26 to spend a week at the hotel. The hotel was perfect for our group. We are a hiking group, and appreciate a good value and location. There are a variety of different rooms, and with a group our size, we experienced many different room types. There are 2 bedroom apartments, 4 bedroom apartments, and single rooms. All have a bathroom. Some are best for couples and we had 2 couples on the trip. My 2 bedroom apartment was excellent with 2 bedrooms, a refrigerator, and a bathroom. Room service was great, and quite impressive for such a reasonably priced hotel. Breakfast buffet was really nice, lots of fresh fruit, bread, cheese, meats, eggs, and juice. The sisters who run the hotel were great hostesses. Location is awesome, right on the Ludwigstrasse, a historic, cobbled street in beautiful Partenkirchen. It is a nice walk or short bus ride to Garmisch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryMil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I found this hotel lovely and ambiance great. And the staff were wonderful. Barbara is such a warm person and she addressed any needs/requests we had. They welcomed us with a lovely hot after dinner drink the first night we were there after we had a wonderful meal, all 26 or so of us accommodated as one group. Food in restaurant was great and the place was packed nightly. The bed was very comfortable and I had no problem sleeping, albeit the room that I shared with a friend was pretty small, but we managed. The place was clean. We always had very hot water available to shower any time, day or night. Only thing I can knock them on was the fact that our towels were replenished once during our one week stay. There were four of us to one apartment.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the main road and above the restaurant - lots of singing into the night. Best rooms probably located in the back in the various guesthouses.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura30226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We love the Gashof Fraundorfer. Every review you read here is true. Barbara Sr, with her Gemutlichkeit, keeps this place running like a well-oiled machine and works harder than any five women I know. Barbara Jr is now the owner/manager and warmly carries on this amazing family tradition. The location on Ludwigstrasse, the beautiful church bells, delicious Bavarian food, huge breakfast buffet, hospitality, free parking, affordable prices, breathtaking views from the balconies, clean bathrooms, and entertainment all make this a wonderful vacation location. The sheets can be scratchy, and if you walk through the smoking alley you will see/and smell the back side of a hard-working restaurant, staff members who sign you in can be snippy, and you can hear the sounds of the children riding scooters to school, and beer men collecting empty kegs
from some rooms. We travel a lot and can afford fancy American style hotels, but we keep
coming back to the Fraundorfer because this is the real deal. Fantastic people from all over the world stay here. Our grown children also consider this their favorite place to stay in all of Europe.

Room Tip: Building in rear for quiet sleeping. Beautiful Bavarian rooms at the front offer small balconies with great views. A family of 5-6 can stay in the very top dormer rooms, #45 is a great two room suite for family with children or two couples, #35 is a suite in back building with large balcony for extended stays, room #30 in rear is lovely
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JZBZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews