We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ahhh, the Alps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ahhh, the Alps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Fraundorfer. We arrived on a Tuesday, which meant they were closed but they had left a note and the restaurant next door was watching out for us. No big deal. We enjoyed the breakfast and the restaurant for dinner. We stayed two nights and thought the accommodations were fine. This isn't a town for luxury hotel chains. This place was comfortable and friendly. One discovery we made was the German love of body wash so we made a run to the market to buy a bar of soap, which we preferred.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandlaura96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    89
    36
    7
    7
See reviews for
59
106
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I entered the front door of the building on a sunny 67 degree day and made the mistake of holding the door open for 5 seconds. I was welcomed by a frown from the hotel matron and was brusquely told to close the door as I was making the room cold. At dinner that night ( I was half pension) I was again scolded this time for sitting at the wrong table. Evidently there was a special table for half pensioners. The next morning at breakfast my fellow traveller was disciplined for checking the weather on his iPad at breakfast (no iPads or phones allowed at meals). Lastly we were sternly lectured on the morning of our departure for not making our dining plans clear to the the proprietress the night before. Overall the most unpleasant experience I have suffered in a hotel in memory.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is in a very central and scenic part of the town. The room was very clean, but was very small (we got the standard double room) even by European standards. Basically the room is just one massive Bavarian-style bed and not much else.

The free breakfast was hands-down one of the best I have ever had. And the dinner at the restaurant was great too, with live Bavarian entertainment. Overall, I would highly recommend it. No A/C for us Americans, but the room wasn't hot during the summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
319 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel/gasthof is on the eastern edge of Garmisch, so is in a relatively quiet neighborhood with great views of the mountains out the windows of our rooms. We did not try the food in the restaurant for dinner since we were in the mood for Italian (found Antonello's up the road -- excellent!) but other reviewers cover that. Our room was very clean and well layed out. It was very quiet sleeping with the windows open. We booked through booking.com and had no issues getting two rooms. As previously mentioned, it is a little different to find the hotel desk in the middle of the restaurant, but that is just how they roll. Definitely a good place to stay for a visit to Garmisch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building, not above the restaurant area. Quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ark.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is my favorite place to stay!! Barbara Fraundorfer is a very special lady (she gave my grandson a cap from the Zugspitze)_and the entire staff takes very good care of you plus, the food is great and plentiful. Breakfast is wonderful with lots of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigoutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The outside of the hotel is gorgeous and I am sure some of the rooms are decorated like this as well. But unfortunately our room was not one of them, we had an Olympic theme and was kind of hoping for the Bavarian flair. But it was good size had a balcony and view and the room was spotless with a new bathroom. So all in all that part was good, but guess just expected a bit more as the outside is done so nicely. The staff were lovely and helpful and breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the genuine Bavarian experience maybe find out if they have rooms like this a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig and Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We did not stay at Gastof Fraundorfer but we did eat there twice. It was, by far, the most delicious meal that we ate in all of Germany, possible in all of the world. The food is outstanding! There was also a very fun, little traditional German musical band of 3 men playing. But the best part, was the shuplatter dancers. A group of young teenage boys ride their bikes up and around the streets, in traditional clothes, stopping to perform the shuplatters dance at restaurants. They are really cool! The energy, the music, the dance, the yodeling was all very cool. Everybody at the restaurant had a blast, it was so much fun, we didn't want to leave! The hotel inside is stunningly beautiful! This is a real Bavarian experience, in a historic, beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckeefey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten
#10 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Fraundorfer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Fraundorfer

Property: Gasthof Fraundorfer
Address: Ludwigstr. 24, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Fraundorfer 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gasthof Fraundorfer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Fraundorfer Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria
Gasthof Fraundorfer Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing