We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service Fabulous food”

Gasthaus zur Schranne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
1 review
“Great service Fabulous food”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This place should be rated in the top ten places to eat!! Fabulous food, atmosphere, and staff! Lisa was our server and was most helpful in translating the menu for us. We recommend the duck for dinner and the apple strudel for desert!

Helpful?
Thank Tracy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    63
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
1 review
“Great Food and Service!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Thank you Schranne for a wonderful dining experience. It was very nice to have such a great server and the meal was amazing.

I will definitely go back for another meal.

Thanks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosieroo624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was recommended by our hotel, although it was a little bit of a walk. Both my husband and I had venison dishes--he had sauerbraten and I had ragout/goulash and both were outstanding! Not only that, my husband loves pear schnapps and tries it everywhere we go. This restaurant had some of the best we've ever tried! What a great end to such a nice meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will come again :)”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Newly renovated and under new owners that know how to make you happy!! A good selection of tasty beers and a great Bavarian menu too. Very much enjoyed the soup, main, and the beer(s). Nothing to fault here - keep up the good work. PS: they also have a nice beer garden out front, so when the sun is shining it can't get much better than this :)

Helpful?
1 Thank quietinthebackseats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
“very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Visited the Zur Schranne in GP with a few friends in February 2014. We went in for dinner but ended up staying for much longer than intended thanks in no small part to the excellent Augustiner Beer (served from wooden barrels).
I had the Liver Dumpling soup and Roast Pork with potato dumplings and cabbage/bacon salad (as always). Both were extremely good.
The staff were very attentive and friendly. When we were there there was also live folk music which added to the charm of the traditional (lots of wood) setting.
Reasonable prices too, so all in all highly recommended...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gasthaus zur Schranne also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gasthaus zur Schranne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing