We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel if you can get a discount price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good hotel if you can get a discount price”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel twice: first - during our ski vacation in early spring, second - during motorcycle trip in September 2011. For our first trip we get a discount price and for triple room (double with additional bed) we paid about 1/4 less than for double during our second trip. Both times we stayed on B&B basis and I cannot say anything about the dinner. The location is great for skiers - ski buss stops nearby and approx. 500 m to Zugspitz zug, city center with shops and restaurants about 200 m (Marienplatz). For mototourists big pluss is garage, included in the price. Good spa area, rooms and breakfast, nice staff. If you want very luxury hotel, that w'ont be the right choice, because the hotel is quite basic for 4-stars.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_M046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    98
    39
    23
    13
See reviews for
69
142
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

The location is good, the rooms are of decent size, bedding is OK, breakfast is decent. Front desk service and bar service not very friendly. Our non-smoking room had previously been a smoking room - or at least that is my assumption based on numerous cigarette burns in the carpet. It wasn't a horrible experience, but as a frequent traveller to various European countries, I know that I can make better choices.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The food at the resterant could be described as adequate, but the service was so terrible, that it soured the whole stay. The hotel staff didnt care. It was the worst hotel stay that I have ever had.
The location of the hotel is great and Garmisch is the most enchanting town that one could find. It is ashamed that this hotel staff and service was so poor.
I will certainly go back to Garmisch, but I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacati0ner123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Friendly service, large comfortable rooms with balconies or terraces, a superb swimming pool,a lavish buffet breakfast and a superb location near the centre of the attractive resort of Garmisch all make this a favourite hotel to which we have returned many times. They even issue free bus passes for travel round the town. Staying at the Alpina is a real treat.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Booked this hotel online due it it being one of the last available reasonably priced hotels in Garmisch. And so glad I did! It was lovely! About a 2 min walk into Garmisch, very quiet with nice large clean rooms. The breakfast was very nice and we had a great little balcony overlooking the back area.
Would absolutely recommend and would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig and Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Stayed here for three nights and enjoyed it. The fooms are older but spacious relative to European Hotels. The staff is very nice and helpful. I had forgotten a belonging at a hotel I stayed in Prague about a week prior. Andre at the frot desk helped me contact the Prague hotel to retrieve my belongings. The breakfast was wonderful. They will make eggs to order, sausages, etc. The fitness center is a joke, however. The equipment is ancient. They provide a computer next to the reception with free access to the internet. This was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadgetSunnyvaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

The Alpina is a large hotel set just outside the centre of Garmisch-about a 10 minute walk.
We had booked with GTAhotels at a good rate. The room was of a reasonable size with a balcony and outside furniture.and a small but good bathroom and a flat screen TV. Car parking in the underground garage was a reaonable 5 euros/day.
The hotel had lots of facilities which we did not use-swimming pool, sauna,massage etc.
Breakfast offered an enormous choice of cold foods and a little hot. We did not try the restaurant for dinner, preferring to eat out.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Agood choice for Garmisch holidays

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W9270BUjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
318 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#16 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Property: H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Address: Alpspitzstr. 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly TREFF HOTEL Alpina)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and full of hospitality in a terrific location and a countrified quiescence, but still close to the centre. Let yourself be enchanted of the heavenly scenery with a grandiose view at the Wetterstein-Mountains with the Alpspitze and the Zugspitze.From here you will get to do all the sports activities and you have a short way to the congress house, the spa park, the casino and the 800 meters distant Olympia Stadium.You park in front of the hotel for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treff Hotel Alpina Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Alpina Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing