We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Good location, 2 blocks from the center of Garmisch. Very clean, large room. Hardest bed I have slept in of any German hotel stay. Medium bathroom with a dysfunctional shower head that had to be propped to hold in place. No safe to store valuables. Minibar lacked sufficient items as advertised. The breakfast was not what was advertised, disappointing. WIFI available for a price through TELECOM. This is not a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rifles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed two nights in november 2012 and we did like this little and cozy hotel.
The room are big and the breakfast is delicious
The restaurant in the hotel is very romantic, but should have the menu in english language.
There are free parking places outside, so, if you arrive early, you won't have to pay to park inside.
The rate was fair and it is located a walking distance from the main street, were most of the good stores and restaurants are located.
Once in Garmish, you can't miss the train to the Zugspitze mountain and the walk through the Partnach Gorge, both are really beautiful and breathtaking attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your very nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Garmisch-Partenkirchen and in our TREFF Hotel. We hope that we will someday be able to welcome you again.

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Well, not sure about the bad reviews I read below since we have nothing but rave reviews about the Treff Alpina. Location? Excellent! Room? Excellent! Amenities? Excellent! Breakfast? Excellent! From the time we walked in the door until we left nothing but kudos! Our room was big, clean and provided a wonderful view of the Zugspitz. The pool and spa facilities are wonderful and my wife really liked the Beauty Farm. The weather was amazingly nice for mid-November so we decided to hike, we requested a packed lunch from the hotel and "viola" it was ready when we were - 4 sandwiches, fruit, snack bars, drink provided with a smile (not free, but well done). I will say the cleaning staff could pay a little more attention to stocking the mini bar, a ensuring trash bags are replaced, and cleaning in the communal areas, but at the end of the day...? Minor based on the price and ammenities. We could live here and be happy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure having you with us. We are excited about all this praise and thank you for this excellent review. Thank you for your information about our cleaning staff and will discuss this internally. We hope that we someday will be able to welcome you once again with us.

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We booked the hotel for a quick weekend retreat in August 2012. The hotel advertised "warmly decorated, spacious rooms" with balconies providing "views of the surrounding Bavarian countryside" and a spa so we hoped we are going to have a nice weekend in this picturesque Bavarian town we like.

Well, our expectations came far from fulfilled. First, the room we received was nothing like the one shown on the pictures provided by the hotel upon booking. The room was facing a busy street generating a lot of traffic noise, the beautful Alpine peaks surrounding Garmisch were visible only with a lot of fantasy involved, room was reasonably clean but very dark and its small size and sparse furniture (just one old wobbly chair) were definitely NOT something one would expect from a 4 star hotel. The minibar was also inadequate - few soft drinks, just one bottle of beer, no wine, no spirits. Safe deposit box did not work.

Many things in this hotel come in dispensers (such a soap, kleenex etc.). The problem is that the staff generally does not bother to check when the dispenser is about to be empty, which results in a funny situations such as that the soap runs out in the middle of the shower, etc.

The spa - another funny thing. On the first day the pool was out of order completely, on the second day the water in the so called "indoor heated pool" was as cold as in the Baltic sea.

Breakfast was adequate for a 4 star hotel, however, not more than that. Location perfect for Garmisch, the pedestrian promenade just few hundred meters away. For Partenkirchen it is 15-20 minute walk to reach the historical Ludwigstrasse. The train station and its surrounding nightlife area are about 10 minutes on foot. Parking is possible in the hotel's underground parking for a fee, however, as there are plenty of free parking spaces in the surrounding streets we did not bother.

To summarize - we would expect more from a 4 star hotel. Although the price was not exorbitant (we paid little over EUR 100 per night) there definitely are much better deals in Ga-Pa for such price or even substantially less.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street as there is quite a substantial traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pivko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have been visiting Garmisch off and on for the last 10 years. I finally decided to stay at the Hotel Alpina since several of my co-workers recommended the hotel and a majority of the reviews were very positive. When we made our reservations using one of the .com travel sites we requested a double room and a triple room. Upon arriving we were given a double room and double room and a single room with a shared bathroom. We had to wait for the desk clerk to check the rooms to see if they were ready. This was at 8:45pm. All the rooms were small and my double room smelled horrible. When I complained to the desk clerk about the smell I was told they didn’t have any other rooms available because they were completely booked. I had to ask for compensation which they agreed to. It was minimal. My daughter and Niece stayed in the other double room and my sister in-law stayed in the attached single room. They were in first floor rooms facing the street and were woken up at 5am by the delivery truck bringing linens to the hotel. The truck tailgate moved up and down and the carts were pushed over the asphalt into the hotel. My daughter thought a bulldozer was knocking down the hotel wall. This went on until 7am. The breakfast buffet added insult to injury. The facilities were too small to adequately handle the number of diners and any of the popular food items ran out very quickly. You had to hover over those items waiting with plate in hand in order to get anything once it was refilled. The moral of this story is, “If you use a travel .com site to get a cheaper price then expect subpar accommodations.” How this hotel ever received a 4 star rating is beyond me!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel is located in walking distance to the Marienplatz where all the shops and restaurants are located. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was excellent. The rooms are large with beautiful views of the mountains. My only complaint is the massage I received at the spa. If you are looking for a deep tissue sports massage, especially after making sports I would recommend going somewhere else. The massage is very light and the therapist is not willing to do a deep tissue massage. Other than that, the hotel was great and perfect for our family vacation with our 1 year old.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lam3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We were inter-railing through Europe when Garmisch-Partenkirchen was on stop number five of our trip.

It has to be one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to and this hotel is an absolute gem. We had a fantastic room with a wonderful view of the mountains and a little balcony to enjoy it from. It felt peaceful and quiet and the staff were lovely and welcoming too.

I can't really say anything more than this was an excellent hotel in one of the most stunning parts of the world i've ever visited.

The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice and we also had dinner here too. Although there was no English menu the waiter was able to translate which was really helpful.

There is a nice little swimming pool and a steam room and sauna too - again, very clean and a little bit of luxury to finish a day of walking.

While you are staying at this hotel I'd recommend walking to the nearby lakes and taking the cable car to the top of Zugspitze (the largest mountain in Germany). It costs about 50 euros to do this or 8 euros if you want to get the cogwheel train to Eisbee (a gorgeous lake with nice woodland walk around it).

Garmisch itself is very pretty with lots of shops and places to eat and drink but lots of shops seem to shut at 1.30pm on Saturday afternoon and Sunday is pretty dead.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel and on the top floor - exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyrshireTatties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Obermuehle
Best Western Premier Obermuehle
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riessersee Hotel Resort
Riessersee Hotel Resort
#22 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Address: Alpspitzstr. 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly TREFF HOTEL Alpina)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £86 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and full of hospitality in a terrific location and a countrified quiescence, but still close to the centre. Let yourself be enchanted of the heavenly scenery with a grandiose view at the Wetterstein-Mountains with the Alpspitze and the Zugspitze.From here you will get to do all the sports activities and you have a short way to the congress house, the spa park, the casino and the 800 meters distant Olympia Stadium.You park in front of the hotel for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treff Hotel Alpina Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Alpina Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing