We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Booked a night at the Treff Hotel in a Superior room and upon arrival was told there are no rooms available. The receptionist explained to us that a group arrived with more people than expected and that they had been given our room. The hotel said that they booked us a room in another 4 star hotel at the same price and that it was a very nice room and they included a fruit basket. We arrived at the other hotel that at best would be considered a 2 star and the room was of poor quality and the new hotel did not have a pool. One of the reasons we booked the hotel was for the indoor pool only for them to send us away to what would be the equivalent of an econolodge. I was not impressed with their decision or their solution. They offered no discount or any sort of compensation for the inconvenience. For the money, there are much better hotels in Garmisch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bk173105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

We booked this as we wanted a hotel with a pool that was fairly close to the station and close-ish to the skiing.
The location was probably the only positive about the trip.

The pool was ridiculously cold - apparently it was 27 degrees - the internet tells me this is the temp one would expect of an swimmers training pool, not what one would want for relaxing on holiday! When we questioned this at reception we were greeted with an exceedingly aggresive "its at 27 degrees" - yes, well this is too cold - and we were not the only people to attempt and fail to use the pool.

Then, having pre-paid the whole trip i returned home to find an extra night had been taken from my credit card, and by the time this was refunded the exchange rate had changed so I am still out of pocket!

Not impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballroomqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Booked a romantic night away in the mountains but the room was probably the smallest I've ever stayed in - clearly the 'booby prize'. We had booked a 'superior room' so I dread to think what standard would be in comparison. Bed pushed into one corner and the ceiling so low by the window that my partner couldn't fully stand up. No bath, just a shower with a plastic curtain.

We also selected the hotel because it has a pool but the water temperature was so Arctic that we only managed to stay in for a few minutes.

We were unlucky but these things spoiled our overall experience.

On the plus side, staff are friendly and the location is good.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank benrws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Good location, 2 blocks from the center of Garmisch. Very clean, large room. Hardest bed I have slept in of any German hotel stay. Medium bathroom with a dysfunctional shower head that had to be propped to hold in place. No safe to store valuables. Minibar lacked sufficient items as advertised. The breakfast was not what was advertised, disappointing. WIFI available for a price through TELECOM. This is not a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rifles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed two nights in november 2012 and we did like this little and cozy hotel.
The room are big and the breakfast is delicious
The restaurant in the hotel is very romantic, but should have the menu in english language.
There are free parking places outside, so, if you arrive early, you won't have to pay to park inside.
The rate was fair and it is located a walking distance from the main street, were most of the good stores and restaurants are located.
Once in Garmish, you can't miss the train to the Zugspitze mountain and the walk through the Partnach Gorge, both are really beautiful and breathtaking attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your very nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Garmisch-Partenkirchen and in our TREFF Hotel. We hope that we will someday be able to welcome you again.

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Well, not sure about the bad reviews I read below since we have nothing but rave reviews about the Treff Alpina. Location? Excellent! Room? Excellent! Amenities? Excellent! Breakfast? Excellent! From the time we walked in the door until we left nothing but kudos! Our room was big, clean and provided a wonderful view of the Zugspitz. The pool and spa facilities are wonderful and my wife really liked the Beauty Farm. The weather was amazingly nice for mid-November so we decided to hike, we requested a packed lunch from the hotel and "viola" it was ready when we were - 4 sandwiches, fruit, snack bars, drink provided with a smile (not free, but well done). I will say the cleaning staff could pay a little more attention to stocking the mini bar, a ensuring trash bags are replaced, and cleaning in the communal areas, but at the end of the day...? Minor based on the price and ammenities. We could live here and be happy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure having you with us. We are excited about all this praise and thank you for this excellent review. Thank you for your information about our cleaning staff and will discuss this internally. We hope that we someday will be able to welcome you once again with us.

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We booked the hotel for a quick weekend retreat in August 2012. The hotel advertised "warmly decorated, spacious rooms" with balconies providing "views of the surrounding Bavarian countryside" and a spa so we hoped we are going to have a nice weekend in this picturesque Bavarian town we like.

Well, our expectations came far from fulfilled. First, the room we received was nothing like the one shown on the pictures provided by the hotel upon booking. The room was facing a busy street generating a lot of traffic noise, the beautful Alpine peaks surrounding Garmisch were visible only with a lot of fantasy involved, room was reasonably clean but very dark and its small size and sparse furniture (just one old wobbly chair) were definitely NOT something one would expect from a 4 star hotel. The minibar was also inadequate - few soft drinks, just one bottle of beer, no wine, no spirits. Safe deposit box did not work.

Many things in this hotel come in dispensers (such a soap, kleenex etc.). The problem is that the staff generally does not bother to check when the dispenser is about to be empty, which results in a funny situations such as that the soap runs out in the middle of the shower, etc.

The spa - another funny thing. On the first day the pool was out of order completely, on the second day the water in the so called "indoor heated pool" was as cold as in the Baltic sea.

Breakfast was adequate for a 4 star hotel, however, not more than that. Location perfect for Garmisch, the pedestrian promenade just few hundred meters away. For Partenkirchen it is 15-20 minute walk to reach the historical Ludwigstrasse. The train station and its surrounding nightlife area are about 10 minutes on foot. Parking is possible in the hotel's underground parking for a fee, however, as there are plenty of free parking spaces in the surrounding streets we did not bother.

To summarize - we would expect more from a 4 star hotel. Although the price was not exorbitant (we paid little over EUR 100 per night) there definitely are much better deals in Ga-Pa for such price or even substantially less.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street as there is quite a substantial traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pivko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuhle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riessersee Hotel
Riessersee Hotel
#21 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
436 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorint SportHotel
Dorint SportHotel
#12 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Address: Alpspitzstr. 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly TREFF HOTEL Alpina)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £81 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and full of hospitality in a terrific location and a countrified quiescence, but still close to the centre. Let yourself be enchanted of the heavenly scenery with a grandiose view at the Wetterstein-Mountains with the Alpspitze and the Zugspitze.From here you will get to do all the sports activities and you have a short way to the congress house, the spa park, the casino and the 800 meters distant Olympia Stadium.You park in front of the hotel for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treff Hotel Alpina Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Alpina Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing