We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here for the first night of a bicycle trip through the Alps. This is a very nice property. My room was very large and luxurious. It even had a mini-kitchenette with a range and sink and refrigerator, all in beautiful wood paneling. The restaurant (dinner and breakfast) was very good and the staff was very friendly. It was a very short walk to downtown Garmisch and not much further to the train station. There was a nice pool and spa area but I did not use them. This is an older property built around an inner courtyard. After staying there, I did not understand the comments about this hotel being worn or dated - that was not my experience at all. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Booked a night at the Treff Hotel in a Superior room and upon arrival was told there are no rooms available. The receptionist explained to us that a group arrived with more people than expected and that they had been given our room. The hotel said that they booked us a room in another 4 star hotel at the same price and that it was a very nice room and they included a fruit basket. We arrived at the other hotel that at best would be considered a 2 star and the room was of poor quality and the new hotel did not have a pool. One of the reasons we booked the hotel was for the indoor pool only for them to send us away to what would be the equivalent of an econolodge. I was not impressed with their decision or their solution. They offered no discount or any sort of compensation for the inconvenience. For the money, there are much better hotels in Garmisch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bk173105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We booked this as we wanted a hotel with a pool that was fairly close to the station and close-ish to the skiing.
The location was probably the only positive about the trip.

The pool was ridiculously cold - apparently it was 27 degrees - the internet tells me this is the temp one would expect of an swimmers training pool, not what one would want for relaxing on holiday! When we questioned this at reception we were greeted with an exceedingly aggresive "its at 27 degrees" - yes, well this is too cold - and we were not the only people to attempt and fail to use the pool.

Then, having pre-paid the whole trip i returned home to find an extra night had been taken from my credit card, and by the time this was refunded the exchange rate had changed so I am still out of pocket!

Not impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballroomqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Booked a romantic night away in the mountains but the room was probably the smallest I've ever stayed in - clearly the 'booby prize'. We had booked a 'superior room' so I dread to think what standard would be in comparison. Bed pushed into one corner and the ceiling so low by the window that my partner couldn't fully stand up. No bath, just a shower with a plastic curtain.

We also selected the hotel because it has a pool but the water temperature was so Arctic that we only managed to stay in for a few minutes.

We were unlucky but these things spoiled our overall experience.

On the plus side, staff are friendly and the location is good.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank benrws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Good location, 2 blocks from the center of Garmisch. Very clean, large room. Hardest bed I have slept in of any German hotel stay. Medium bathroom with a dysfunctional shower head that had to be propped to hold in place. No safe to store valuables. Minibar lacked sufficient items as advertised. The breakfast was not what was advertised, disappointing. WIFI available for a price through TELECOM. This is not a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rifles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed two nights in november 2012 and we did like this little and cozy hotel.
The room are big and the breakfast is delicious
The restaurant in the hotel is very romantic, but should have the menu in english language.
There are free parking places outside, so, if you arrive early, you won't have to pay to park inside.
The rate was fair and it is located a walking distance from the main street, were most of the good stores and restaurants are located.
Once in Garmish, you can't miss the train to the Zugspitze mountain and the walk through the Partnach Gorge, both are really beautiful and breathtaking attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your very nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Garmisch-Partenkirchen and in our TREFF Hotel. We hope that we will someday be able to welcome you again.

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Well, not sure about the bad reviews I read below since we have nothing but rave reviews about the Treff Alpina. Location? Excellent! Room? Excellent! Amenities? Excellent! Breakfast? Excellent! From the time we walked in the door until we left nothing but kudos! Our room was big, clean and provided a wonderful view of the Zugspitz. The pool and spa facilities are wonderful and my wife really liked the Beauty Farm. The weather was amazingly nice for mid-November so we decided to hike, we requested a packed lunch from the hotel and "viola" it was ready when we were - 4 sandwiches, fruit, snack bars, drink provided with a smile (not free, but well done). I will say the cleaning staff could pay a little more attention to stocking the mini bar, a ensuring trash bags are replaced, and cleaning in the communal areas, but at the end of the day...? Minor based on the price and ammenities. We could live here and be happy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure having you with us. We are excited about all this praise and thank you for this excellent review. Thank you for your information about our cleaning staff and will discuss this internally. We hope that we someday will be able to welcome you once again with us.

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
#24 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Address: Alpspitzstr. 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly TREFF HOTEL Alpina)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £93 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and full of hospitality in a terrific location and a countrified quiescence, but still close to the centre. Let yourself be enchanted of the heavenly scenery with a grandiose view at the Wetterstein-Mountains with the Alpspitze and the Zugspitze.From here you will get to do all the sports activities and you have a short way to the congress house, the spa park, the casino and the 800 meters distant Olympia Stadium.You park in front of the hotel for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treff Hotel Alpina Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Alpina Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing