We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and very trendy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of VAUN

VAUN
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$27
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opening times: Monday to Saturday 5:30 p.M. To 11 p.M.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and very trendy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

It isn´t the cheapest but it is worth your money.
Very friendly staff and food is amazing!
Duck I ate was a bit dry for my tasting but I still thoroughly enjoyed it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank VievRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    32
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“There are several reasons to eat here: delicious dinner menu, with several options and a great wine selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Saw the TA reviews and also received a suggestion for Vaun's from our hotel clerk who said it was her favorite local restaurant, so off we went. Our party five arrived on short notice after calling for a reservation and was quickly seated. Great wait staff who are attentive but not overly bearing and who are fluent in English as well.

The menu comes in a little book with a half a dozen entrees as well as soups, salads, starters, and desserts. We had several entrees including the fish, the beefsteak, and the risotto with beef. After tasting all around the table, no one was disappointed. All fresh, all good ingredients, and well presented. Also, had the sweet potato and bacon salad--really nicely done--and my wife had the carrot soup was exceptional. The bread bowl that came out was delicious with wonderful curry butter to top it. Wines were very nice too. Lastly, the desert hit the spot and finished the meal in fine style. Definitely stop here if you are in Garmisch!

Suggestions: Parking is tight near the restaurant but can be found across the street at a public parking lot, although it was a bit crowded and had to wait a bit for a space.

Wait staff: If you want a recommendation, ask the wait staff. Unlike some places, they will voice their opinion if asked and their judgment was spot on.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The wife and I went here for dinner and it was a nice change of pace from typical German fare. The menu isn't large but there is a good variety and the dishes they do make are delicious. We had the Asian salad as an appetizer and the salmon and daily special as entrees. The special was a steak with a lemon chili aioli. They were both cooked perfectly and full of flavor. The prices are on par with other restaurants in the area with entrees from 12-18 Euros.

Helpful?
Thank GdenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We picked this restaurant as it was no.2 on trip advisor. The food was just delicious. A very small menu with just a few choices for each course but everything we chose was cooked and displayed beautifully.i usially prefer this as its better to do a few things well than to have a huge menu and throw out slop. The portions were a little on the small side but apart from that I would highly recommend this place. Obviously a very innovative chef with his or her own take on each dish. A bit fussy for kids.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tears of Joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have eaten at many good restaurants in my life but this is the internet and there's no reason for you to believe that. Suffice to say that I will be leaving in a few weeks from this place and every time I eat at VAUN, tears come to my eyes. Two reasons: The absolute high quality of the food puts it on par with the best London or Tokyo restaurants in terms of quality of both food and drink, speed of service, atmosphere and price. Spargel season is not to be missed but they change the menu at least twice annually. Have both menus. The other reason is that I have to return to America soon and I will not find anything like this at this price point with this level of service or quality of food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VAUN also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to VAUN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing