We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”
Review of Hotel Zugspitze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Zugspitze
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Zugspitze for 8 nights in February and absolutely loved it. We have been going to Garmisch for the last six years but normally stay at the Mercure. This year we thought we would try somewhere else and are so glad that we did! It is a small intimate hotel and feels so homely that you can’t wait to go back. Our room was perfect for two adults and two kids and did not feel crowded at all. Breakfast is lovely and the afternoon tea in the bar after a day on the slopes is not to be missed. The staff were so helpful with everything even managing to get a hot water bottle for my wife’s bruised leg. They have Wii games and ipads in the lounge which were great to use by the log fire. They have a great pool and spa area which we used every day. The location is perfect if you are looking to ski as the Hauseberg area is 2 minutes away. We are definitely going back next year and can’t wait. A big thanks to all the staff there for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Djking30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

I can highly recommend this hotel. The location near the bahnhoff and the town center is superb for touring. Reception was friendly and efficient and breakfast was excellent. We ate twice in the restaurant in the evening and each time was superb. We felt quite at home and will return the next time we are in Garmisch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My wife and I spent 1 week in Garmisch. We opted for the 5 courses dinner plan wich deserves a 5 stars rating...truly we discovered bavarian culinary talents to its highest level. Our room was larger than european standard...very quiet and confortable and equiped with an espresso coffee machine. The bathroom had a full size bath ( not the norm in North America) and a towell warmer. The spa is simply fantastic. Located 1 block from the center of the village and 3 minutes from the shuttle bus to the ski area. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denisYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

A wonderful room for my wife and they even put 2 small beds in so that are young children could share with us and at no extra charge
Superb traditional Bavarian hotel, with great friendly staff who are not over powering. The food is excellent, the rooms are immaculate and you could not ask for more if you are staying in Garmisch.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarmischP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our 10th anniversary (10 years ago) and loved every minute of it. The very pleasant and comfortable room, unbelievably substantial and delicious breakfasts, friendly and helpful staff, and divine pool and spa. It was everything we hoped it would be. We promised ourselves that we'd bring our children back when they were old enough to appreciate the trip. Well, we returned with two teenagers for a week of skiing (Feb 2009) and had a simply wonderful time. We stayed in a suite this time, which provided us with the extra room we needed. The hotel is just as charming as we remembered, and the breakfasts lived up to the stories we told our children. The variety of breads, meats, cheeses, cereals seemed endless, and there was a daily "special treat" each morning--fresh donuts or pastries. The pool area turned out to be the perfect way to end each day for the kids. And, a night cap at the cozy bar was our place to end each perfect day. The hotel is well situated in town, allowing us to walk to a variety of restaurants and bakeries. The closest ski lift is a very short drive, and parking was never a problem. The highlight of our skiing was our days spent on the Zugspitze..what an experience! We have never skiied a glacier before and were in awe of the beauty of our surroundings and the challenge of the terrain. We're still talking about it, the Hotel Zugspitze.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WallyWGMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My family (husband, daughter (12), son (9) and I) stayed here for three nights (there is discount for staying 3+ nights) in early December, and each of us agreed we would return in a heartbeat!

We had a lovely third-floor room with a kitchenette and table, living area and bedroom all combined in one large area. The beamed ceiling followed the slant of the rooftop, and the balcony view was magnificent! Snow-peaked mountains everywhere! The children slept on cots, which were already set up when we arrived, allowing the four of us to share one room, which isn't always possible when traveling in Europe.

The spa/pool area was very nice, with lots of natural light and an excellent jetted hot tub. The pool is filled with "living water" (still not sure if that's good or bad), and has a jet at one end for "lap swimming" in place. My kids, both swimmers, loved this feature, and had fun seeing who could be propelled the farthest from the jet!

Be aware that this is not your average American hotel pool area: It is meant to be a quiet respite, so the kids have to play more quietly in the water (which was fine with my kids, as they were pretty tired out by the end of each day, anyway), and know that nudity in public is not taboo. (An older gentleman changed out of his swimsuit right on the pool deck, but my kids were too busy to notice.) If you use the sauna, be sure to shower first and always sit or lay on a towel, whether you choose to wear a swimsuit or not.

The quiet young women at the check-in desk spoke English in varying degrees, so having a basic grasp of German is helpful. They were friendly and accomodating, and helped me arrange a massage at the spa for the following evening. (We were also given a €10 spa discount upon checking in.) My masseuse, Sandra (sp?) was excellent! Though tipping is not expected, I did leave one, as she really helped alleviate the back pain I was having.

The location of the hotel is perfect, on a quiet side street within and easy walk to downtown shopping, the Christkindlmarkt, restaurants and even the Zugspitze train. It is also an easy drive to Ettal and Schloss Linderhof, and would make an excellent base for many other day trips.

Although we did not eat at the hotel restaurant, we visited the cozy bar area on our last evening and ate Tapas-style, ordering several of the soups and dishes to share, which worked out perfectly, even if the wait staff was a little confused by our actions.

If you are looking for the quintessential Alpine hotel to compliment your stay in GaPa, definitely book a room at Hotel Zugspitze.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor suite with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzyweb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This is a sweet hotel in the midst of town. In my room was an invite for a glass of sparkling wine in the charming little bistro downstairs. The sekt was very good, and was offered with complimentary nuts and pretzels. My room was cozy, with a generous free mini bar filled with large bottlles of soft-drinks and local beer. The in-room espresso maker was terrific. (I have the same brand at home!) I looked at the pool and sauna area, and they seemed nice, but I was too tired to partake. Breakfast was really excellent, with local dairy products, and plenty of choices. All-around a good place, adjacent to all the activities you came here for.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josanpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.4 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuhle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
34 reviews
2.3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
436 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riessersee Hotel
Riessersee Hotel
#20 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zugspitze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zugspitze

Address: Klammstr. 19, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £121 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Zugspitze 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will experience an atmosphere of security that we have created with heart and warmth for you. Immerse yourself in a unique natural area where a gigantic mountain scenery, meet crystal clear lakes and pristine forests with variety of sports and leisure activities, international cultural activities and a lot of tradition. In this fascinating holiday world we await you with the warmest and most natural employees who are there for you personally and your well-being Let yourself treat by our AlmWell team with massage and cosmetics therapies in our spa area. Pool, Whirlpool and steaming room as well as Sauna invite for more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Zugspitze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zugspitze Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Hotel Zugspitze Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing