We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zugspitze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Zugspitze
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Zugspitze. The hotel was our home-base for a few days while we visited sites in southern Bavaria (Garmisch, castles, Zugspitze).

The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a great location, just steps from a pedestrian shopping area.

The front desk staff was cheerful, well-informed, and very helpful. We ate breakfasts and dinners in the hotel restaurants and the restaurant staff was also cheerful, attentive, and helpful. It would be nice to have wi-fi throughout the hotel but for our short stay, we didn't didn't mind not having constant wi-fi access in our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyDogSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Zugspitze, Manager at Hotel Zugspitze, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback about your stay with us at Zugspitze hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant time at our hotel. Wi-Fi is offered free of charge in the complete hotel area (since beginning of december 2012). If you are experiencing any problems with our Wi-Fi, our team members are always ready to assist you at any time. They can call a technician immediately as we are still optimizing our Wi-Fi system to make it work properly in all hotel areas. Best regards from Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Nikola and Carsten Schmahl, your hosts at Zugspitze hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    53
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
107
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
424 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Zugspitze may be our new favorite hotel. The rooms are charming, with great balconies offering spectacular views of the nearby Alps. The hotel has an elevator, parking, and a wonderful swimming pool and gym. It also has a very fine restaurant where we ate well - lamb and steak and trout appetizer and spectacular baked ice cream with peaches for dessert. The hotel offers all mod cons including TV and a wonderful, comfortable bed,and a spectacular open breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Situated a few steps away from the heart of Garmisch, this hotel has the perfect location. Upon arrival we received a warm welcome and were lead to our spacious room with balcony. The breakfast buffet is filling and they even offer homemade jams, yogurt, and smoked meats/sausages as well as your omelette/eggs made to order.
The pool and whirlpool have the right temperatures. The sauna area is also spacious enough for relaxation.
This place is a gem and we can highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_lv_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Room and bathroom very large, great view of the mountains, great breakfast, friendly staff, best location. This hotel was a pleasant surprise. We arrived in Garmisch without reservations and asked a waiter who recommended it. Drawback, no wifi in rooms, only in the lobby and lounge, but everything else just great! Phantastic breakfast spread.

Room Tip: Choose of the corner rooms with the bay windows, room 217, or the one above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoingApe4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Hotel Zugspitze is a gorgeous hotel very centrally located within Garmisch. It is a 5 minute walk to the pedestrian shopping zone and there is ample street parking. Its charming Bavarian style is exactly what we were looking for and the service and staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and made us feel very much at home. The rooms are spacious, modern whilst being traditional and well laid out. The view of the mountains from our balcony was joyful. There is free mini bar and fabulous coffee machine in the rooms. The indoor swimming pool, spa and steam room facilities are great. Free wifi in the lobby along with iPads and Wi for guests use. We opted for the half pension plan which included a 5 course evening meal. This was great value and the quality and diversity of the meals was amazing. It truly was 5 star dining with relaxed, charming Bavarian service. We stayed 4 days but could have easily stayed longer. My family hope to come back one day and experience winter in Garmisch. we will definitely be back to the Hotel Zugpsitze.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I've stayed in the Zugspitze twice over the last few years, most recently in July 2012.

It is a very traditional Bavarian hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is centrally located (only a 10 minute walk to the station).

I would recommend it highly

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel is in charming Garmisch-Parenkirchen.The town with its car free streets is within easy walking distance. We stayed here 2 nights and drove an hour over to King Ludwig's castles. The Zugspitze has lots of sreet parking, a nice spa and indoor pool, free mini bar in the room, free wifi, 2 Ipads available for use at no cost, and free still water delivered to our room upon our request as sparkling water is the preference around here. The weather was warm when we were there so the room without air conditioning was a bit warm but a nice standup fan was delivered quickly when I called. The hotel has a very neat little glass enclosed gazebo bar (gotta be pretty when it snows there!) in which they had a daily happy hour with free hors-d'oeuvres. Very good breakfast buffet, too! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickatonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zugspitze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zugspitze

Property: Hotel Zugspitze
Address: Klammstr. 19, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Zugspitze 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will experience an atmosphere of security that we have created with heart and warmth for you. Immerse yourself in a unique natural area where a gigantic mountain scenery, meet crystal clear lakes and pristine forests with variety of sports and leisure activities, international cultural activities and a lot of tradition. In this fascinating holiday world we await you with the warmest and most natural employees who are there for you personally and your well-being Let yourself treat by our AlmWell team with massage and cosmetics therapies in our spa area. Pool, Whirlpool and steaming room as well as Sauna invite for more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Zugspitze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zugspitze Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Hotel Zugspitze Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing