We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain glory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zugspitze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Zugspitze
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mountain glory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Recommended to us by the staff at the Staudacherhof Hotel (we did not have reservations and the Staudacherhof was booked for our second night's stay in Garmisch), the Hotel Zugspitze is sophisticated rustic charm with an impeccable staff and beautiful rooms. Its location is ideal, within walking distance to charming downtown Garmisch and we wished we had more time as we could have stayed a lot longer. Great staff, beautiful and comfortable rooms and a delicious breakfast make us want to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    53
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
107
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Recent stay in this lovely resort style hotel was better than expected. The rooms and overall facility are very nicely appointed. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful, even for the non German speaking patron. Desk staff arranged enough bicycles on short notice for our group of 4 to get out for a day of local cycling. We really enjoyed the cake and coffee in the afternoons. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

First the Hotel and Staff were excellent. The service was over the top. Marcel and all staff spoke English which was a plus for us. The Restaurant was good and free breakfast and afternoon brunch was more than you could expect lots of choices and very tasty. Lots of food and choices.

The hotel is very centrally located and you can walk everywhere even the train station. We
rented a car in Munich and drove which was truly a waste of money because you can take the train from Munich to Garmisch. You can walk anywhere in the town and return with no problem. Shopping, restaurants, and train station all close proximity. No long walks all just out the door of the Hotel. In fact it is just an awesome family destination.

The views from the hotel were great. Again Marcel and all staff warm and friendly. You feel
Welcomed from check in to check out.... Service extraordinaire ..... Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Book ahead this hotel is in demand due to location and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Hotel Zugspitze while visiting Garmisch. The hotel is beautiful, clean, charming and relaxing. It is located only a 10-minute walk from the train station and in the heart of all the shops, restaurants and tourist information center. The hotel's breakfast and afternoon "snack" (which was so good and extensive that it ended up being our lunch) was fantastic.

The best part of Hotel Zugspitze is the amazing customer service. My husband and I had booked our hotel via Expedia which mistakenly booked our reservation at a different hotel. Unfortunately, our credit card had already been charged for the wrong hotel. On top of that, we didn't speak German and so were unable to explain the problem to the German Expedia representative. Andrea K. at Hotel Zugspitze went above and beyond to help sort out our problem. She spent over an hour on the phone between Expedia and the other hotel and helped us get our money back for the wrongly booked hotel without any cancellation fee. She booked us a beautiful room at Hotel Zugspitze. We were very appreciative or Andrea's patience and wonderful customer service efforts.

I highly recommend Hotel Zugspitze and my husband and I will most definitely stay there again next time we visit Garmisch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Zugspitze, Manager at Hotel Zugspitze, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Lindsay 243,

thank you very much for your nice feedback here at TripAdvisor. Your special praise for Andrea has already been passed on. We are happy that we could help you solving your organisational difficulties with your credit card so that you were able to have a great time here with us at Zugspitze hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel,

your Nikola and Carsten Schmahl, hosts at Hotel Zugspitze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

When we stayed it had a spectacular view very good service. I just LOVE it here. I can not wait to come back. The food was very good service was great. A very beautiful place to stay. Beds were nice. The room was nice and clean. Bathroom was also clean and the price wasn't that bad I thought. It's definitely worth it any ways. Hope everyone else had a good experience like I did

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_plymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Zugspitze, Manager at Hotel Zugspitze, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased to read that you really enjoyed your time with us and would be happy to welcome you again as our guest. Best greetings from beautiful Garmisch-Partenkirchen, yours Nikola and Carsten Schmahl, hosts at Zugspitze hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cashiers, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This hotel is a must if one stays in Garmisch. Quiet location, elegance throughout the hotel, extremely clean. When we arrived we were greeted by Sissa, the concierge. A beautiful young lady dressed in a very pretty Dirndel. She must be Miss Hospitality. A very warm greeting, which makes one actually feel welcomed. She explained the hotels amenities, dining room hours, breakfast buffet, showed us the bar and how to get around to the Spa (which is beautiful) and the indoor pool. She showed us up to our room, explained the coffee maker (it makes coffee, espresso, freshly grinds the beans). Sissa is very knowledgable about the area. Best concierge!
The rooms are beautiful with balconies, the bathroom modern and spotless. Housekeeping staff very friendly.
We had dinner both nights, one night in their more elegant restaurant next night we ate in the bar bistro.
Hans Jorg Betz, the chef de cuisine is a master. His food is very contemporary local, great complementing flavors, artfully presented. Both nights the food was exceptional as was the breakfast buffet. The waitstaff is equally well trained and genuinely friendly. The first night we ate in the Joseph Nauss Stubn and our Salzburger waitress Bernadette was fabulous. It is rare anymore to get really great service in Europe but Bernadette was over the top (so ask for her).
On our last night we ate in the bar from the bistro menu. Food again fantastic and Regine, our server, made it even more fun.
We are already planning a fall trip back to Garmisch and the Hotel Zugspitze.

Room Tip: Room 120 is overlooking the garden and a back corner so it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Zugspitze, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zugspitze, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Chris, we and our whole team were very pleased about your feedback here at TripAdvisor. Thank you very much that you took the time to share your impressions. We will of course forward the praise to the team members you mentioned. We would be pleased to welcome you again in autumn at our house. Best greetings from Garmisch-Partenkirchen, your Nikola and Carsten Schmahl, hosts at Zugspitze hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed at the Zugspitze for 3 days in February 2013. Location to mainline station very good and just a short walk. Hotel is centrally located and very close to the town centre for restaurants, shops etc. An easy (flat) fifteen - twenty minutes walk to the Hausberg station for skis, passes lifts etc. (good warm-up for the skiing!).
The room was on two levels which meant that we had ample space as a living area, bathroom and separate sleeping area (mezzanine). The coffee machine with fresh coffee beans was a welcome addition to the room. Breakfast was traditional bavarian and plenty of it.
Swimming pool on-site was modern, quiet, and excellent changing facilities. Plenty of fresh towels.
All of the staff were very accommodating during our three day stay.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Skade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Zugspitze, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zugspitze, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear David, we thank you for your taking time to share your impressions about your stay at our house here at TripAdvisor. We also think that our hotel is situated uniquely and is perfect for skiing holidays. We are pleased that you recommend us and that our three-days-stay was a success. Best regards from Garmisch-Partenkirchen, your hosts at Zugspitze hotel, Nikola and Carsten Schmahl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zugspitze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zugspitze

Property: Hotel Zugspitze
Address: Klammstr. 19, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Zugspitze 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will experience an atmosphere of security that we have created with heart and warmth for you. Immerse yourself in a unique natural area where a gigantic mountain scenery, meet crystal clear lakes and pristine forests with variety of sports and leisure activities, international cultural activities and a lot of tradition. In this fascinating holiday world we await you with the warmest and most natural employees who are there for you personally and your well-being Let yourself treat by our AlmWell team with massage and cosmetics therapies in our spa area. Pool, Whirlpool and steaming room as well as Sauna invite for more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel Zugspitze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zugspitze Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Hotel Zugspitze Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing