We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Hotel Zugspitze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Zugspitze
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed at Hotel Zugspitze for a celebration of my wife's birthday ending in a zero (won't say which one :-). We planned to go skiing during our stay so I wanted someplace with a hot tub to relax in afterwards. I also wanted someplace with a balcony that had a nice view since it was a special occasion and we like to have a beer or glass of wine on the balcony and enjoy the view after skiing.

I had checked into several but Hotel Zugspitze appeared to have the best value of hotels that met my criteria. We got a corner room (one of two in the hotel) with two balconies one facing south the other west. It had a nice big bathroom with radiant heating in the floor. The room included free drinks from the mini bar. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

The room included a free pass to the bus system that connects the hotel to the ski slopes, train station, etc. The hotel is one block from the Marienplatz and pedestrian shopping areas. It's about 300ft off the main street to the train station down which several of the bus lines run so it's a very short walk with your ski gear to the bus. It's also only 2 blocks from the main train station and Zugspitzebahn cog railway so it's even walking distance to that.

Also, because we stayed mid week, the hotel included free 1/2 day ski lessons from Mon thru Thurs. We're intermediate skiers but wanted to take some lessons so this was a very nice opportunity to do that which we took advantage of. The hotel had a nice ski storage area with a heated boot storage rack to dry your boots out overnight.

The pool, hot tub and 3 saunas were also very nice and we took advantage of this almost every night we were there. We didn't use the spa services but Garmisch is a big spa town and apparently the spa at this hotel is quite good.

The hotel even set out a complimentary present for my wife. It wasn't anything expensive (some creams and lotions from the spa) but it was very nice of them to do this.

The only thing that could have been improved is that the TV was an old style tube TV that wasn't very good. We mentioned this at checkout and they said they had purchased flat screens TVs and were in the process of installing them. Not sure why they hadn't already done our room since it was one of the more expensive ones at the hotel. I'm sure if I had said something sooner they probably would have replaced it right away but we really only used it to watch the weather and a couple of old american movies which we only watched in order to try to practice our German some, so it wasn't a bother to us.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaguarking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2009

I absolutely loved this hotel. It is very quiet, clean, comfortable, luxurious, and classy. Our suite was enormous. It had a long hallway to a large living/dining area, balcony with chairs with a view of the Zugspitze, a large bedroom, and a huge bathroom. The room was decorated with very large, handcarved wooden furniture. The craftmanship was remarkable. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was extraordinary. It even had a bidet. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaDRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Overall the experience was good, just at $299. Would highly recommend it at $150/ night. Breakfast buffet was good. Seemed to be very traditional, so it took some getting used to but was welcomed as part of our travel experience. Cozy seating area with small bar for relaxing with some delicious pils after a long day of sightseeing/hiking/biking. Room size was adequate. Walking distance to train station.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeDemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Terrible service at breakfast, the tables weren't cleaned at all, cheap decoration throughout the hotel, fungus in the bathroom, dirty hallways and windows, noisy rooms at a main street, night porter slept tight and left some guests knocking at the door and ringing for an hour at 4am(!!!), very unfriendly and unhelpful staff, telephone was not functioning and not fixed for three days, though we adored Garmisch Partenkirchen itself we wish we had chosen a better hotel, where the owner would be more interested in making the guests feel at home and welcome, because this hotel does not deserve more than three stars, that coming from 5 experienced travellers. Only the Dinner Restaurant is very cosy and offering good food and friendly service...

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bichonfrisemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Just returned from one week at this wonderful German hotel. It is very beautiful, clean and efficient. The loction is perfect with the town and skiing just a short walk away. The staff is helpful and friendly and I found the breakfast to be superb. Not many Americans here so if that's what you're looking for you may want to look elsewhere, I found that refreshing.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sla652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

Stayed three nights at the Hotel Zugspitze in Garmisch in January 2008. Every aspect of this hotel was fantastic. The uber-friendly staff, beautiful property, and fantastic European atmosphere make this place a great place to stay in Garmisch. Additionally, the hotel is perfectly located and convenient to everything worth seeing/doing in Garmisch: five minute walk to the regional train station and Zugspitze bahnhoff (cog train station); one block from the best part of the center of Garmisch; ten minute walk to the Hausberg ski lift. We had an "Apartment Suite" and it was huge with a balcony offerring a great view of the Alps and slopes. I can't say it was inexpensive, but nothing is in Europe right now if your salary is in dollars. It was worth every Euro we spent as far as we were concerned.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pendejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We spent a brilliant Christmas and New Year at this charming hotel in the delightful mountain resort town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Christmas festivities included excellent food, carols, chocolates and fruit on tap, a visit from St Nicholas and lots of snow! New Year was equally well organised. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. There is a cosy lounge and bar and a well-equipped spa with a small wimming pool and three saunas, as well as the nearby Alpenspitz sauna and swimming complex. Garmisch has plenty of good restaurants, bars and entertainment. We would thoroughly recommend this family-run hotel - which combines good facilities and decent-size rooms with the homeliness of a small hotel.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank bristolreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.4 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuhle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riessersee Hotel
Riessersee Hotel
#21 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zugspitze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zugspitze

Address: Klammstr. 19, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £149 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Zugspitze 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will experience an atmosphere of security that we have created with heart and warmth for you. Immerse yourself in a unique natural area where a gigantic mountain scenery, meet crystal clear lakes and pristine forests with variety of sports and leisure activities, international cultural activities and a lot of tradition. In this fascinating holiday world we await you with the warmest and most natural employees who are there for you personally and your well-being Let yourself treat by our AlmWell team with massage and cosmetics therapies in our spa area. Pool, Whirlpool and steaming room as well as Sauna invite for more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zugspitze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zugspitze Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Hotel Zugspitze Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing