We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hidden jewel”
Review of Hotel Roter Hahn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Roter Hahn
Las Vegas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful hidden jewel”
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Found this hotel online by accident, great value, right in the heart of the city, two blocks max from the train station. Exit the train station and turn left, look for the big red rooster on the building and that is it. Rooms are very clean, staff courteous to a fault, very nice to have such a warm reception and delightful people and hotel in a city I frequent on a regular basis. I will surely stay here in the future and recommend it to anyone coming to this city. Not often in Europe does the host bring you a full pot of coffee to your table for breakfast. Excellent, most excellent place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank paulr147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
34
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Steven & Julie could not have been more helpful or plesant, they were very helpful in giving advice on trips out and how to go about doing things. The hotel is perfectly situated at one end of the main street in Garmisch. The centre with lots of choice for food and drink is less than 5 minutes walk. The train station is less than 2 minutes walk, and a bus stop opposite the main door. Parking was plentiful in there own car park situated behind the main desk. The pool and garden are stunning, but we did not get time to use the sauna. Breakfast was good with nice fresh roll, break, cake, fruit, cereal + caffee, tea & juices. I would not hesitate to recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Try to get one out the front of the hotel with a balcony for a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

When we stayed at this Hotel we had a very nice size double room with a balcony. The room was very spacious and clean. We especially enjoyed the breakfast provided in the morning, simply delicious! Also the pool was such a welcome break in the evening after a few days out hiking in the rain and damp weather. It is just a 5 minute walk to the Old Town, pedesterian area where there were many choices for an evening meal. The Hotel does not have a restaurant but that was not problem, the breakfast was great so it did not matter that we had to walk a few minutes. Great place to stay. Wonderful friendly hosts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M&MCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, CO
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I spent a week here in February 2012 as part of a ski group. We would certainly recommend this hotel. The staff was friendly, speaks english and was very helpful during our stay. The rooms are comfortable, clean and although our room faced a busy street, it was quite. The breakfast each morning was your typical breakfast buffet with many choices.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently and were really happy with our stay. Location is great, close to the centre of Garmisch and the train station if needed. The main plus for this hotel is the service you receive from the owners. They were really helpful on check in and throughout our stay. The leisure facilities are lovely, the weather was really hot during our stay and it was great to be able to cool off in the pool. We booked a small double which was fine for us. The room and bathroom was spotless. I would say that yes, parts of the room could do with a touch of paint here and there but it certainly wouldnt stop us staying here again. It was a nice surprise to find that we had a small balcony overlooking the mountains which we weren't expecting. Again, it wouldn't miss a coat of paint but a nice touch none the less. We drove and found no problem getting a space in the car park.

The breakfast was fantastic and you have everything you could possibly want. There is even home made cake on offer which was fabulous!!!

I would highly recommend this hotel for the service, location and facilities and we'd definately stay here again. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rallygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

True to the advertised information, Hotel Roter Hahn Garmisch-Partenkirchen was only a few minutes down the road from the train station (where there is also bus station). The hosts, Stephan and Julie made us very welcome and were helpful with tourist information and advice. This is a personally run hotel.
Best of all was the great breakfast! What a choice-from fresh breads (even a toaster-not seen in Europe before this hotel) and rolls to fruit, boiled eggs, ham and salmon, cheese and yoghurt, cereals, juices and surprise, surprise homemade cake! All served to guests in an air of conviviality and friendliness.
WiFi was weak in our room but the shared lounge had great reception as well as having a TV with DVD player, a small library, comfortable lounge and chairs plus two tables with plenty of seating. Other facilities included an indoor pool with a beautiful wet-edge, a sauna and lounges located in the garden for sunny days which we were fortunate to strike.
Hotel Roter Hahn was well located to the villages of Garmisch and Partenkirchen where something was always happening and restaurants and shopping areas were in abundance.
When next in Garmisch we will definitely choose to stay at the Roter Hahn Hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and was larger than others we'd experienced with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieOseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We were thrilled with our stay at Hotel Roter Hahn Garni. Breakfast was excellent, the room was comfortable and clean, the pool/sauna area was immaculate and very relaxing, and the owners were friendly and charming. The hotel is about 2 blocks away from the main train station and Zugspitze/Alpspitze cog train station, which made our daily adventures very convenient. The owners have a huge binder of tourist and area information available for perusal in the lobby that was very helpful as we planned what to do each day. Our room was called a "small double", but it was bigger than many of the hotel rooms we had across Switzerland and Germany, and had a lovely balcony overlooking the street and the mountains. The road was a little noisy in the morning, but the windows were completely soundproof and we slept well with them closed and with earplugs one night when it was too warm to close the windows. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, and fondly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily2sticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
#24 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#18 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garmischer Hof
Hotel Garmischer Hof
#19 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality ...
#29 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#34 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roter Hahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roter Hahn

Property: Hotel Roter Hahn
Address: Bahnhofstr. 44, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roter Hahn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your 3-Star Hotel right in the heart of Garmisch. Hiking, Skiing, Bicycling or relaxing in our indoor pool with sauna & solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Roter Hahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roter Hahn Hotel
Hotel Roter Hahn Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing