We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located”
Review of Hotel Roter Hahn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Roter Hahn
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Driving the Alpinestasse so needed somwewhere to stop for a night.

Clean room, great breakfast, no evening meal but not a problem as central to everything and we would want to wander round.

Nice pool amd sauna, veru friendly good hockey chat with Julie, Habs lost but as a Canucks fan pleased to see AV get Rangers to Stanley Cup Final

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markypsouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Using reviews from Tripadvisor, we booked the Roter Hahn in Garmisch, Germany. To our amazement, the first person to greet us was Julie from Canada. She was friendly, extremely pleasant and wonderfully helpful in providing information and assistance to us during our stay. The other staff were respectful but not very friendly. The room was an adequate size, the king bed was comfortable with individual comforters and the bathroom was quite modern and had an exceptional towel heater. We had a Doppelzimmer with a Balkon which gave us a fair view of the mountains. The pool was very nice, clean and quiet. The breakfast was adequate and had a nice variety of bread and cheese, some meats, fruit, cereal, yogurt and just hard boiled eggs. One nice surprise was receiving a train and bus pass which allowed us to go to Erwald one afternoon. We also purchased a train pass (bus and S Bahn) for 29 Euros that allowed us to go to Munich and return. This pass was good for up to five people in a group. Note that parking at the hotel was free. The Fussganger Zone and the Bahnhof were minutes away from the hotel. For American military personnel, there was a Kaserne with a small exchange and commissary easily reached by one of the city buses.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our family vacation (5 people) was for 4 days skiing in Garmish. As we travelled by train the hotel was in a great loaction next to the station and close to all shops and restaurants. Nice clean rooms (just renovated) and a great breakfast. Not sure about it being noisy from previous comments - we did not find the hotel noisy at all. Pool and sauna was fantastic and uesed them every day after skiing. Service was really good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed a week in August in this conveniently located hotel. The bus and train station is nearby and only a few blocks away starts the shopping street of Garmisch. We didn't rent a car so the location was perfect for us. You get a free local busticket when you stay in this hotel. Our room was on the top floor, we didn't have any problems with noise (althoug there was a contruction nearby). We had a nice balcony. The hotels interior is a bit worn (floor carpets in the hallways) but the bathrooms are renovated and polished. The hotels pool was nice, not so small as I was affraid.The sauna was not so hot as we Finns are used to but nicely warm. It was nice to relax in sauna after a day of hiking or biking. The wifi connection varied in the room area, in the hallway you could surf well but in the desk or bed there was no connection (or only a very poor one). But it was nice to have a wifi connection in the room.

By the way there is no changing room the pool and sauna area and therefore it would be nice to have bathropes in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anniina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We traveled to Garmisch for the purpose to both see the town and take the train for a day trip into Munich for Oktoberfest. This hotel has a friendly, welcoming staff that always greeted us with a smile. The parking was free, which was helpful. The breakfast included was very good, especially the freshly baked goods every day. The hotel served our purpose perfectly, we were in prime location to explore the town as well as walk to the train station. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

There are many great things about this hotel, but if you can't sleep it might not be worth it.
The Good: big rooms, clean, amazing breakfast, nice management (some are awesome, others are a little rough, but still very helpful). Close to train station (turn left when you exit station, 5 minutes walk).
The Bad: noisy street with cars at times racing, many trucks. Construction next door, you'll be awake at 730 the latest.
If you can close the windows it might be easier to sleep. There was a heat wave when we went, unusual temperatures of 40C. There is no AC anywhere in the town, usually not needed, so the heat made it hard to sleep as well. Not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oanatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We went to Garmisch on March 8, 2013 and we were delighted to stay at this wonderful hotel. We were met by Julie in the lobby with a big chocolate cake and wine. We were made to feel at home as she introduced us to her wonderful family. We had a two bedroomed/2 bath room. Very clean with nice fluffy comforters and pillows. Both bedrooms had tv a must for us Americans. When we looked out our window we could see the mountains. They have a nice indoor pool/sauna. What I liked most about this hotel was that we did not have to drive to explore the town and it was beautiful to visit. Garmisch is a bustling town with charm and elegance. Breakfast was lovely with fruit, meats, salmon and all sorts of breads and cheeses. Stef showed us how to access the internet a must for us. The dining room was delightful and mom came down to eat also. It was great for kids also because they could go and explore the town and it was safe. We will be back next year for sure. A thumbs up from Clarks Summit Pa.
Very private and quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 626margaretm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
#22 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
#16 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#7 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#33 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roter Hahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roter Hahn

Address: Bahnhofstr. 44, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £90 - £623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roter Hahn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your 3-Star Hotel right in the heart of Garmisch. Hiking, Skiing, Bicycling or relaxing in our indoor pool with sauna & solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Roter Hahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roter Hahn Hotel
Hotel Roter Hahn Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing