We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Roter Hahn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Roter Hahn
Reviewed 5 January 2011

we had a family with 1 boy of 6 years old staying at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of December 2010. The family was very impressed by the services provided by the hotel, the friendly staff and athmosphere. The hotel is in the center of the town of Garmisch, very close to the train station and has a lot of restaurants and shopping area near by.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank operations75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

There are so many positive aspects about Hotel Roter Hahn. First, it is very easy to make a reservation with a direct e-mail. The location is very central, with easy walking access to the downtown pedestrian zone that has shopping and an array of wonderful restaurants. Upon check-in we were given a "pass" that allows for bus rides all over the city and discounts to various attractions. We had a car, so we just used the discount portion of the card. There is an indoor swimming pool and sauna that is just wonderful after an active day of skiing or hiking. Both on the first floor where our room was as well as the ground floor, there was a "living room" with couches & tables and chairs where you can relax and read, or have a drink at the end of your day.

Our room had a balcony with a wonderful view of the mountains. The bathroom was spacious by European standards with a large tub and shower combo. Breakfast is included with the room.....wow what a wonderful buffet! More than you can imagine. Juice, cereals, yogurt, a variety of fresh fruit, dried fruit, a large variety of cheese (a great way to try out new cheeses every day!), various cured meats put out every morning, soft boiled eggs, bread for toasting and a large basket of wonderful baked breads. Free flowing coffee and tea! You get the idea? A great way to start the day when you have a big day of skiing and/or hiking ahead of you.

The owners Stephan and Julie Emslander are wonderful hosts, and make your stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triptravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I recently stayed at the Roter Hahn and picked the hotel through trip advisor but was totally not properly informed. Upon my arrival the owners were gracious and informative.But that is where it ended. We went to th room and found it much smaller then I anticipated.The room was clean but it was really small . The entrance to your room is through the use of a key and to lock the room the key must also be used from the inside which could create a risk in case of fire. The staff of the hotel is only on site until 8:00 PM and then you are on your own. The hotel is easy to find in that the three story construction site across the street which also has a five story crane which can be observed from most locations in town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coastie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rothahn, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Roter Hahn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2010

We are very sad and confused that you had such a miserable time at our hotel and obviously wish to discourage others from staying with us.
On March 1st, 2010 you had booked in our hotel through a independent booking engine.
Now on this bookingcom search engine we offer two room sizes. A small one with 16sqm and a larger one with 23sqm. As well under IMPORTANT HOTEL INFORMATION we specifically point out that we have a construction site across the street from the hotel and that it can be noisy. Furthemore it states that we are a bed and brekafst hotel and that we have therefore no restaurant and close at 20:00 hours. This infornmation is clearly vsible before you book as well it is again listed on your reservation confirmation.
In addition you also sent us an e-mail to book directly with us on March 1, 2010.
You contacted us to book directly with us as you said you had seen a cheaper rate on our website. Now on our website right below the prices we again point out that there is a construction site acorss from the hotel,.
We then sent you a proposal again giving you the choice between two rooms. A small one with 16sqm and a larger one with 23 sqm. You chose the cheaper, smaller version.
We then sent you a reservation confirmation pointing out again that our bed and breakfast hotel closes at 20:00 hours.
We feel that when you booked the room you knew that we close as of 8pm as also stated on your reservation confirmation and we also afforded you two choices of rooms - obviously the cheaper room is smaller - the choice was yours.
On one of the many conversations you had with we us we had asked you if everything was alright in the room and you informed us that everything was fine and that you had recently come back from a boat cruise were you had an even smaller room.
I really wish you had told us the truth as to how unhappy your really were so we could have responded immediately instead of voicing your opinions after you had left on such a puplic forum with no chance for us to remedy the situation.
Hoping that you arrived home safely and wishing you a wonderful time boating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This hotel claims to be a 3 star establishment and currently offers "special" rates (88 euros per night for a tiny double room) due to construction going on right in front of it. Well, I would say that the view of the costruction site just in front of the windows, a tiny room smelling of stale smoke, low water pressure in the tap and bad need for a serious renovation (the balcony has no trace of paint, let alone flowers) should warn anyone wishing to have a good night's rest against staying at this hotel. Because of the bad smell in the room we could not sleep with a closed window. So we had to open it and use ear plugs to have so much needed rest. The ear plugs did not help much though.
The good things about Roter Hahn are a small indoor swimming pool, breakfast and an elevator.
I found the guy at Roter Hahn's reception to be quite rude when we complained about the smell, noise, etc. He said that all their guests are always happy and that we would be better off in a four-star hotel. He was nice enough to let us check out the next day without a penalty though.
As we did not need an elevator or a swimming pool, we were happy to check-out and move to a really nice and less expensive gasthof in the old town (less than 3 stars as having no elevator or a swimming pool, but with a great view on the old town, no construction site, historical interior and very nice owners).
So my recommendation is to look for something different if you consider staying at Roter Hahn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aurinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful 5 day stay at Hotel Roter Hahn. Both Stephan and Julie, the owners, couldn't have been more helpful and always wanted to ensure that we were enjoying our stay. The Hotel is centrally located to absolutely everything, and the beginning of the pedestrian shopping area was just steps away. Despite the current construction on a new building directly across the street from the Hotel, our room was very quiet. It was decorated in a simple and charming European simplicity and was extremely clean. While the Hotel did not have a restaurant they did offer a splendid breakfast buffet every morning with the traditional German offering of fresh breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, cereals, yogurts and various spreads. The daily Bonus was Julie's (originally from Canada) wonderful freshly baked cakes or breads (banana was super yummy) which reminded us of home, or sitting in your Mamma's kitchen, because there is nothing like North American sweetcakes comfort food. Hotel Roter Hahn has an absolutely awesome heated in-door pool and sauna. Very refreshing after a day of tourist attractions and shopping and we thoroughly enjoyed them every day on our stay there. We were visiting family stationed there, but enjoyed all the tourist attractions which surround Garmisch. Too many to list here, but our car rental paid for itself and enabled quick access to both Linderhof Palace (45 min.) and Neuschwanstein Castle/Hohenschwangau Castle (1hr.15min). Beautiful drives to both with phenominal mountain scenery but I would recommend planning your visits at either of those locations early as the crowds were thick and lines very long. Neuschwanstein Visitor Center recommends 3 options to get to the Castle: an extremely steeper-than-steep walk up which takes about 35-45 min. if you are in top shape (!); a horse-drawn carriage ride for 6 euro one way in which even the poor horses struggle the steep incline; or, a bus which runs less frequently. Hotel Roter Hahn became our home for 5 days and we definitely plan to return. In the meantime, we recommend Hotel Roter Hahn to any and everyone planning their trip to beautiful Garmisch-Partenkirchen Bavaria. A lovely hotel in a wonderful town!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Stephan & Julie are the most helpful people you could ever wish to saty with and their hotel is very clean and comfortable.
There is much to do from the ideal location close to then train station and town centre.
They even posted the belongs we left there when we checked out !
We will certainly return. Thank you very much.
Janny and David

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyanddave35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Roter Hahn for many weeks in their new 2 bedroom apartment. The service at the Hotel is second to none, the owners really make an effort to make you feel like you are at home. They are full of excellent suggestions of what to do in the area, and where to go out for dinner.

The rooms were enormous, completely newly renovated. There were two huge bedrooms with very comfortable beds, heaps of storage, an enormous new kitchen with all amenities and beautiful sitting area, and a large family room. There was also a balcony where we could sit and enjoy the beautiful mountain views.

The location is very central, only a couple of minutes walk from the Bahnhof, but close to the town centre and all the shopping. Relevant to staying in the apartment was a supermarket right across the road.

There is a lovely heated indoor pool and sauna which was very relaxing and our son really enjoyed it too.

Thank you to the owners for such a beautiful stay! You really have found the right balance.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
Thank isabelle00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
Hotel Almenrausch und Edelweiss
#16 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality ...
#35 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlas Posthotel
Atlas Posthotel
#33 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
Hotel Garni Brunnthaler
#23 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#20 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garmischer Hof
Hotel Garmischer Hof
#22 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roter Hahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roter Hahn

Address: Bahnhofstr. 44, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £86 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roter Hahn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your 3-Star Hotel right in the heart of Garmisch. Hiking, Skiing, Bicycling or relaxing in our indoor pool with sauna & solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Roter Hahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roter Hahn Hotel
Hotel Roter Hahn Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing