We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room with a beautiful view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spacious room with a beautiful view!”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Wow... the clean fresh mountain air was amazing. You will not miss having air conditioning here. We had a 3rd floor corner room facing the mountains with big windows on the side and front. The room itself was large with a sitting area and plenty of storage (which is hard to come by in many European hotel rooms). The beds were very comfortable, in fact, it was difficult getting up in the morning with the crisp air and a soft, fluffy bed. The bathroom was quite small but adequate. Breakfast was very good and staff was friendly. If you want an authentic Bavarian experience then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Always ask for what you want (in a friendly way).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvs2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    91
    40
    12
    3
See reviews for
52
69
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed at the Vier for 5 nights late Feb 2011. The staff were friendly and the food was very good. The free breakfast every morning had plenty of choice for everyone (if you are expecting full english or american style breakfasts then you will be dissapointed). The breakfast is continental self service fare but has nice fresh bread and good coffee. The waitress staff made our children fresh hot choclates every morning which we thought was a nice touch. We had dinner at the hotel on two occasions. Both were very good and we thought reasonably priced. There is a mexican across the square where we also ate twice. It was on parr with mexican restaurants in the UK - don't expect the same standard as the US.
We were in GP for Skiing. The hotel has it's own Ski room but we used the lockers at the bottom of the Hausberg. The Ski bus is a 5 minute stroll from the hotel and this takes you directly to the Hausberg Ski lift (It is the first stop so you always get a seat).
We were the only British people in the hotel (which was fine by us!). the clientelle was mainly middle aged Germans on sightseeing holidays. We were well looked after by Christian who ran the hotel desk. There is no bar but they will bring your drinks orders to the hotel lobby. The only thing missing for us was a nice hot bath or hot tub.

If you are after a clean, friendly hotel in a central location on a budget the Vier is for you.

TIP. There is a Burger King across the square. Get your kids a take out and lock them in the room while you go down and enjoy the restaurant !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YGOLFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten for part of our honeymoon during September. The location is great for travelers using public transportation - it is directly across from the train station and bus stop. Our room faced the train station, and I could see where noise could bother some people. Luckily for us, there was construction on the rail lines so there were no trains most of the weekend. There is a gentleman's establishment near by that was quite noisy during the night one evening. Nothing terrible - just loud, drunk people on their way out.
The view was absolutely beautiful! It was amazing to wake up in the morning and see the sun rising over the mountains. The room was a comfortable size. There was not a lot of extra space, but we never felt cramped either. The free internet is a community computer in the lobby - there is no wi-fi or internet access in the rooms. There is also no printer available to guests.
One of the highlights of our stay was the breakfast! It far surpassed any other breakfast we had during our honeymoon. (We stayed at 4 hotels.) They had breads, eggs, sausage. yogurts, cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, several types of juice, and even sparkling wine. The service was very friendly and the food area was well maintained. We also ate dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening - the foods was delicious.
If visiting this area, we would not hesitate to stay again or recommend it to others!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journey_Girl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Stayed here for three nights and found it very clean and spacious. Staffing was superb -- very courteous and helpful, even though not much English spoken by anyone on the staff. Breakfast was plentiful. Location was great for anyone traveling by train, as I was -- it's just across the street. Buses run through Garmisch and Partenkirchen every few minutes.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbagwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Stayed here 5-10 Sept 09. Have stayed here twice before and once again excellent. Got room 201 with balcony view of mountains 200 euros per person for 5 night stay for a "dopplezimmer". Die Karte In Ihrem Sinne Offer. Made use of the card with free return up the Wank mountain on cablecar and free bike hire for one day. Also given Tourist card allowing free access on local buses

Room good size with lots of space for storage. Small en-suite.Sofa and writing table.

Located 5 minutes walk from railway station.

Excellent breakfast this year improved with fresh fruit salad - blueberries,blackberries,raspberries & pineapple - YUMMY highly recommend..

Very clean, and also new this year was free access to the internet subject to availability -i.e other guests not using computer.

Staff not very fluent in English but hey we are in Germany !!.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyMonsterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

While traipsing around Bavaria, a friend and I stayed at the Vier Jahreszeiten in Garmisch. I really enjoyed the old-style feel of the lobby and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was great, with a balcony that afforded great views of the surrounding mountains. If there was one drawback to the room was their definition of a double room. We expected two beds, as typical of a doubleroom (doppelzimmer) but instead, there were two beds but put together in a single frame, separated by a frame board. If truth be told, it was basically one large bed. I'm not sure if they have a true double room but any requests for such a room should be clarified by the visitor. Our room came with a nice sitting area and in general, I found it to be a nice stay.

Its location, as mentioned in another review, is perfect for the train station and the Zugspitze train but not in the more popular part of town. However, the town itself is fairly sleepy and I'm not sure there is a "sexy" part of town. For our purposes of only one night and the price, I thought the stay was a great value and I would return should I find myself in this part of the world again. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baltoteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

the hotel wasn't too exciting but the room - a corner room on the thrid floor with view of the mountains and train station - was sufficient. it was spacious and clean. the breakfast was ok to get you started for the day but no extraordinary items or service..
overall: great location for travellers without a car but

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Property: Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Address: Bahnhofstr. 23, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing