We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding All-Around”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Great lodge with very good on-site restaurant, great tours, great spa, great gym, great pool, great service, great atmosphere, great location, and great rooms. This lodge/resort is the perfect place to go to for a relaxing getaway. We went on three tours and all three were well planned and a good value. There is plenty to see and do in the area or just relax at the lodge. Free DVDs available to check out in case you tire of AFN in the evenings. A few activities are also available during the evenings on-site. The only recommended improvements would be to serve a different kind of breakfast sausage and bacon...but there was plenty of other delicious options.

Room Tip: Mountain views from the rooms are not all equal so if this important to you better ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nistone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResort, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thanks for your great review. Our friendly American service coupled with the unbelievable location make it a truly unique resort experience. We hope you have an opportunity to visit during the winter as well. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

While stationed in Germany, I visited Edelweiss three times within a year. My only regret was waiting until our final year overseas to finally experience this great hotel and amazing location. The rooms are so adorable- warm and cozy and perfectly decorated for the region. The hotel is always looking spotless and well-maintained. (Go during the winter holidays to see spectacular decorations!) The many amenities are well though-out and overall, a good value. Some things are better done on your own as you can save some money. The food at the lodge is delicious- especially the pizzas and Snickers pie at Zuggys, and anything at the fancier restaurant (can't recall the name right now). The massage services are wonderful- I had a pregnancy massage when I was about 7 months along, and it was the best thing EVER. The horse and carriage ride is a nice way to see the charming town, though taking the bus is also a wonderful option. The tour to Neuschwanstein was a great value since I didn't want to make the drive on my own. Check out the Eibsee and rent a paddleboat in summer for an incredible scenic afternoon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradonaturalmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResort, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you for your great review of Edelweiss Resort and for visiting us three times! There is so much to do, see and experience in the area that, just like yourself, we frequently have guests return multiple times a year. Thanks again for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in early October as part of a week-long visit to Stuttgart and Bavaria. If you've stayed at and liked the other Armed Forces Recreation Centers (such as the Hale Koa, Dragon Hill, etc.) you won't be disappointed here. The hotel is perfectly located in one of the most picturesque regions of Bavaria at the foot of Germany's highest peak. The lobby opens to large fireplace with a soaring chimney and is surrounded by comfortable rocking chairs. Our room was large with all the comforts of home (including American TV programming), with the exception of the rock-hard pillows that are found at every AFRC. The restaurants were surprisingly good and the service was better than what we'd experienced (many times) at the Hale Koa or the Dragon. Our favorite part of the Edelweiss was the large outdoor hot-tub; recommend you visit during the "no-kids" hour and grab a glass of beer or wine at the Pointe check-in counter...a great way to end a day of sightseeing or skiing. Overall a great stay and we're already planning our next visit to the Edelweiss.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VASoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResort, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thanks for your great review of the Edelweiss Resort. We agree, sitting in the hot tub after a great day sightseeing beautiful Bavaria is just the icing on the cake. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

A wonderfully located resort that is close enough in walking distance to oodles of shops and restaurants, breathtaking views of the mountains, and plenty to keep you busy. The rooms were immacluate as was the entire resort. Tried all the restaurants and found them to be really good, resonably priced and offer a wide variety to choose from. The only downside to the place is really a short coming for the resort, in that it boasts a "spa" which is nothing more than one of the hotel rooms that has been set up for massages and facials. With these services being booked everyday we were there, they should have built an actual spa, which would be a great offering for guests. Also, the internet in our room (at eleven bucks a day) was spotty. Otherwise, loved it!

Room Tip: Call and get a deluxe loft suite with the incredible mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldiva4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResort, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thanks so much for your positive review of the Resort. We continue to expand our massage therapy program to keep up with the demand. Our soldier guests apparently needed more relaxation than we originally planned for and we are happy to assist in that mission! Our in room wireless internet continues to expand to ensure solid coverage throughout the hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to write your positive comments. We hope to have you stay again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The resort is nice but not a lot to do unless you come in the winter to ski or the summer to hike and bike. My husband and I came with our 4 year old. Most of the tours are gone for many hours and not for children. Even though we where here during the middle of the week there where some here with several school aged children running around climbing on stuff. The parents where right there not doing anything about it or worse yet no parents in site and clearly the children where under the age of 15. Wonder why hotel security doesn't speak to them about it. So unless you like dealing with other peoples children stay somewhere else!
I will say the view is nice and the staff is good.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResort, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay. Our security continues to monitor the area to ensure parents stay within site of their children. We realize this can be a distraction for non families and want to sure Edelweiss offers an incredible vacation experience for everyone. Our programs for children really get going full swing when they turn 5. Just for kids, kids night out, ski kids, rock climbing, etc...we can tire a kid out pretty good here! Hope to have you return again soon. Thanks for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is pretty unbeatable for the amazing value which does vary by individual. It would have been 3 times as much for the same place had it been run as a standard hotel chain. The beds were very comfortable, flat screen tvs with shows in English which is a nice change of pace. The whole place is very secure which is kind of logical with this being a military run resort. To top it all off the views are stunning and it right by the highest peak in Germany. You would have to be a fool not to stay here if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Since my sister is retired military we were able to stay here on a sister's trip to Europe for 6 nights. This made a great base for seeing sights in southern Germany. We rented a car for three days as we wanted to tour on our own time and not take the tours. The resort was beautiful and since this was our last stop on a three wk tour we were ready for some American food. The laundry services were also needed by this time and they worked great. It would have been great to have breakfast included, but having Starbucks coffee downstairs to purchase was great in the mornings. It was still very warm during Sept. and there is no AC in the rooms. I'm sure summer would be uncomfortable. We ate at both Zuggy's and the buffet. Both had good food and service.
We rented bikes one day and had a great time going to the gorge and just touring around. Make sure you check your bike over well, one of our rentals had problems with the chain coming off. The Zugspitze are within walking distance, so do this on your own for cheaper.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
We didn't know before going that U.S. dollars are used for everything. They would take Euro's but the exchange wasn't good and your return change is U.S. only.
Since my sister was the only one with the military ID, my self and sister-in-law were not able to go off base and return without her. This may be a problem for some.
I am so glad there is a place like this for our military to get some R&R and feel a bit of the USA when they are so far from home. Blessings on them!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichiganChocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riessersee Hotel Resort
Riessersee Hotel Resort
#22 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
411 reviews
2.9 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
308 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#9 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Lodge And Resort Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing