We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is for military families only. It is very nice considering the options for European style hotels. The is American size hotel rooms with nice size showers and you get to pay in USD! It is definitely for families...lots of children.

Room Tip: The suites on the third floor are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nielmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    209
    78
    37
    14
See reviews for
350
186
15
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
303 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed here for for Thanksgiving for 4 days. Arrived late at night didn't get to see much but when we opened our curtains the following morning - WOW! It's was absolutely breathtaking view of the alps from our hotel patio. Our room was roomy, clean and comfortable. Only drawback is the small pillows. Hotel staff were all professional, friendly, and helpful. We had Thanksgiving buffet dinner it was so breautifully displayed and organized that there was no long waits and plenty of delicious foods. For the rest of the stay we enjoyed the hotel's breakfast and dinner buffet which was always delicious. The kids enjoyed the small arcade while I played few games in the casino next door. The gift store had good selection of items. While in gift shop the clerks was helpful with giving me a GPS address list for other local attractions and informed me of the vignette I needed to purchase if I travel on the Austria autobahn (if you get stopped on the autobahn in Austria without one you can get a fine from 400 to 4,000 euros!). Edelweiss is close to town, and walking distance to other base facilities.

We didn't take advantage of any of the tours the hotel offered because with two kids it would be too expensive because they charge $25-31 for child between 5-14 and $15 for child between 0-4. We did take advantage of the free activities like movie night in the conference center. Everything is paid in US dollars. Another drawback is the children's playground was closed because of the wood chips freezing and being unsafe during winter months. They need to get rid of the woodchips and put something else down so these tons of kids can be running around outside instead of in the hotel. Other than that, it was a fantastic stay and will visit again.

Room Tip: Keep calling everyday to check for availability of a room and to see if anyone cancelled. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canyanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Great lodge with very good on-site restaurant, great tours, great spa, great gym, great pool, great service, great atmosphere, great location, and great rooms. This lodge/resort is the perfect place to go to for a relaxing getaway. We went on three tours and all three were well planned and a good value. There is plenty to see and do in the area or just relax at the lodge. Free DVDs available to check out in case you tire of AFN in the evenings. A few activities are also available during the evenings on-site. The only recommended improvements would be to serve a different kind of breakfast sausage and bacon...but there was plenty of other delicious options.

Room Tip: Mountain views from the rooms are not all equal so if this important to you better ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nistone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResort, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thanks for your great review. Our friendly American service coupled with the unbelievable location make it a truly unique resort experience. We hope you have an opportunity to visit during the winter as well. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

While stationed in Germany, I visited Edelweiss three times within a year. My only regret was waiting until our final year overseas to finally experience this great hotel and amazing location. The rooms are so adorable- warm and cozy and perfectly decorated for the region. The hotel is always looking spotless and well-maintained. (Go during the winter holidays to see spectacular decorations!) The many amenities are well though-out and overall, a good value. Some things are better done on your own as you can save some money. The food at the lodge is delicious- especially the pizzas and Snickers pie at Zuggys, and anything at the fancier restaurant (can't recall the name right now). The massage services are wonderful- I had a pregnancy massage when I was about 7 months along, and it was the best thing EVER. The horse and carriage ride is a nice way to see the charming town, though taking the bus is also a wonderful option. The tour to Neuschwanstein was a great value since I didn't want to make the drive on my own. Check out the Eibsee and rent a paddleboat in summer for an incredible scenic afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradonaturalmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResort, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your great review of Edelweiss Resort and for visiting us three times! There is so much to do, see and experience in the area that, just like yourself, we frequently have guests return multiple times a year. Thanks again for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in early October as part of a week-long visit to Stuttgart and Bavaria. If you've stayed at and liked the other Armed Forces Recreation Centers (such as the Hale Koa, Dragon Hill, etc.) you won't be disappointed here. The hotel is perfectly located in one of the most picturesque regions of Bavaria at the foot of Germany's highest peak. The lobby opens to large fireplace with a soaring chimney and is surrounded by comfortable rocking chairs. Our room was large with all the comforts of home (including American TV programming), with the exception of the rock-hard pillows that are found at every AFRC. The restaurants were surprisingly good and the service was better than what we'd experienced (many times) at the Hale Koa or the Dragon. Our favorite part of the Edelweiss was the large outdoor hot-tub; recommend you visit during the "no-kids" hour and grab a glass of beer or wine at the Pointe check-in counter...a great way to end a day of sightseeing or skiing. Overall a great stay and we're already planning our next visit to the Edelweiss.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VASoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResort, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thanks for your great review of the Edelweiss Resort. We agree, sitting in the hot tub after a great day sightseeing beautiful Bavaria is just the icing on the cake. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

A wonderfully located resort that is close enough in walking distance to oodles of shops and restaurants, breathtaking views of the mountains, and plenty to keep you busy. The rooms were immacluate as was the entire resort. Tried all the restaurants and found them to be really good, resonably priced and offer a wide variety to choose from. The only downside to the place is really a short coming for the resort, in that it boasts a "spa" which is nothing more than one of the hotel rooms that has been set up for massages and facials. With these services being booked everyday we were there, they should have built an actual spa, which would be a great offering for guests. Also, the internet in our room (at eleven bucks a day) was spotty. Otherwise, loved it!

Room Tip: Call and get a deluxe loft suite with the incredible mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldiva4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResort, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thanks so much for your positive review of the Resort. We continue to expand our massage therapy program to keep up with the demand. Our soldier guests apparently needed more relaxation than we originally planned for and we are happy to assist in that mission! Our in room wireless internet continues to expand to ensure solid coverage throughout the hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to write your positive comments. We hope to have you stay again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The resort is nice but not a lot to do unless you come in the winter to ski or the summer to hike and bike. My husband and I came with our 4 year old. Most of the tours are gone for many hours and not for children. Even though we where here during the middle of the week there where some here with several school aged children running around climbing on stuff. The parents where right there not doing anything about it or worse yet no parents in site and clearly the children where under the age of 15. Wonder why hotel security doesn't speak to them about it. So unless you like dealing with other peoples children stay somewhere else!
I will say the view is nice and the staff is good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResort, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay. Our security continues to monitor the area to ensure parents stay within site of their children. We realize this can be a distraction for non families and want to sure Edelweiss offers an incredible vacation experience for everyone. Our programs for children really get going full swing when they turn 5. Just for kids, kids night out, ski kids, rock climbing, etc...we can tire a kid out pretty good here! Hope to have you return again soon. Thanks for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.9 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.9 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Property: Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Lodge And Resort Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing