We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could have been better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Restaurant food is sub-par. Most tasted frozen and thawed. Getting in the gate was a problem every day. Restaurant hours are so wired you can't depend on anything to be open. Was promised a first floor room with a view. Got second floor with view of back of the building. Smokers everywhere and it's difficult to keep door open for air since the smoke makes its way in. Pool was crazy chaos. Kids jumping and running everywhere parents refuse to supervise!!!

Entire place shuts down around 9 so if you want evening fun go somewhere else


Rooms very clean. Cleaning service great. Beds comfortable. Showers good. Starbucks and info on sight are nice. Good parking. Probably cheap prices compared to other areas. We spent in one night in Paris what we spent in a week at edelweiss

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BestDad123Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. We take each comment as an opportunity to improve future service and will take your comments into consideration. Thanks again for choosing Edelweiss Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    209
    77
    37
    14
See reviews for
349
186
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grafenwohr, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

If you can ignore the view of the crying babies accross from your balcony, the view of the alps is amazing (when it isn't raining). In our room, there was a broken lamp, a broken headboard, and saggy mattresses. Our vacation was meant to be a getaway, but instead it was just like being on base, except a hotel. Throughout the hallways, "fancy" classical music played to try to create a faux atmosphere of luxury. My husband and I both found this hilarious, since there are children running, screaming, and crying at every corner. We went to all 3 restaurants in the hotel, each one was ridiculously overpriced with subpar food. The same food you can find at the dfac. Every single dish I ordered in our entire stay (a total of 5) was gross. The buffet was a joke with food that looked canned and processed. I actually spit my food out twice. I looked to see if we could order room service, but apparently that's for really fancy hotels that cost more than 100 dollars a night -oh wait!- it was 180 a night. I actually couldn't wait to cook myself some meals, and I am no Gordon Ramsay. The other thing I found laughable was the indoor pool and "spa." Upon entering the "spa" lobby, there was a smell of moldy cheese. We went inside just to see it and were stifled by humid air that smelled unnaturally strongly of chlorine, even for an indoor pool. There was no room in the pool which was, of course, full of children. The outdoor hot tub had adult hours, but closed ridiculously early, and the entire hotel was dead after about 9 PM. Garmisch is a beautiful place, with so much to do. It would have been much more enjoyable if we had stayed in a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tess w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel accommodations is great, location SUPER!!!! It's just the food. I can't understand that MWR who has a Chef's school can't provide the customers with a quality meals in the main restaurant. Then you might as well have a fast food chain in there and then for evening meals use the evening restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was the first trip that my daughter and I have taken outside of the US and we had a wonderful time. My husband, daughter, mother, and two sisters and I went we all met up in Munich and spent 1 1/2 days there then we took the train down to Garmisch-Partenkirchen. My daughter took so many pictures from the train ride down to all of the tours that we went on, and everyone loves her pictures. We had a tour planned everyday and had a wonderful time on every tour...We went in Oct 2011 and had some cold and rainy day, but that didn't ruin the trip. We did the buffet every morning and sometimes at night. My mother and sisters loved the hot tub and pool. All had a awsome time. Would go back again....Only bad thing was that their were children running in the hallway and no parent in site to control them......

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarineWife86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We now have stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are nothing to get excited about. Food on site skip it. There are so many places to eat outside the gate, so go for it! But for military families there is something for everyone including kids!

Room Tip: Just ask to be facing the mountains. And try to get the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
452 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

The Edelweiss (Military) Lodge and Resort in Garmisch-Partenkirchen is a great vacation destination for families or couples. It offers just about everything you could possibly want in a hotel from great restaurants to tours, shopping, activities, huge indoor pool and spa. There are mountain bikes to rent and carriers if you want to take the little ones on an adventure. The setting at the foot of the Zugspitz is incredible.

We were able to take advantage of their $99 Spring Special. When we arrived, the friendly and helpful staff informed us that since they weren't full, we were getting a free upgrade to a better room at no cost to us. Our room was huge, with two queen beds, a queen sleeper sofa, small kitchenette area with coffeemaker, sink, and refrigerator. The bathroom was large with two shower areas and a double vanity. We also had a balcony with table and chairs and a beautiful view. The Lodge also has a separate area on the property with camping cabins.

Check the website before you go for specials offered throughout the year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We recently completed a 17 day vacation in the Bavarian Alps. We stayed at the Edelweiss in Garmisch- Partenkirchen, The accomodations were excellent and we were able to take advantage of many of their tours. We also toured with Jake Docherty, Everything Garmisch,He was an excellent knowledgeable guide who really knew his German history. We love the country and its wonderfull, friendly citizens. Hannelore Hettinger

Room Tip: 3rd floor room facing the Alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoliBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.9 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.9 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Property: Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Lodge And Resort Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing