We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay on 9-17-13”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Family stay on 9-17-13”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four days to visit our son stationed in Germany and it was breathless! The resort its self is well located and the most amazing views of the alps you could ask for. Our room was normal size with a small balcony. Beds were on the hard side but good night sleep as it was very quiet. Check in was great and professional, Gift shop was very friendly and gave us lots of info on tours. Breakfast buffet was over priced and food was very bland, poor selections and pork gravy must have been made form day before pork! We also ate the dinner Buffet and again over priced, cold food, poor selections and food sat out to long, got hard. Down stairs Bar food was good as we ate there often but I would recommend going down town and eating. Our only complaint about Edelweiss is the food, we would stay again, Cheers

Room Tip: Ask for room with view, most want 3rd floor, we had second floor and view has great. Eat down town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank all4thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thanks for the review. We love it when we hear words like, "breathless" and "most amazing views you could ask for." We hope you have a chance to come back and stay again in the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    211
    80
    39
    14
See reviews for
354
188
15
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel, the rooms, the restaurant, the scenery is all breath taking. There are tons of things nearby to see and do (gondola rides up the mountain, hiking, walking around garmisch, shopping, eating, anything you want.) The hotel has a buffet, which is delicious, and a bar-style restaurant downstairs with awesome American style food. The rooms and lobby are beautiful and clean. I've stayed here twice already and would gladly do so again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleymay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
If we aren't careful it would sound as if you do marketing for us! "The hotel, the rooms, the restaurant, the scenery is all breath taking." We love that you have stayed multiple times and would choose to come back again. We hope we have the chance at having you again in the winter. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Edelweiss was very nice for our 2 week stay. Impeccably clean with all the comforts required to make things very convenient. We can't say enough about the staff. The front desk personnel, management, housekeeping, waiters and waitresses, the Alpine Adventure staff. OUTSTANDING service and extremely friendly. The standard room was very nice but beds were horrible and need to be replaced. The biggest negative were the restaurants in the hotel. Food was second class in the Pullman's place and the buffet.... they need help there. After a few nites we did all our meals in town. The lodge felt the need to gouge you a little bit on a few things. The front desk would exchange USD to Euro but would make $3 or $4 dollars on the exchange. Rooms were a little over priced but not horrible at all. Next time to the area might stay in a hotel in town or a B&B to experience more of the Bavarian culture, but all in all was very comfortable in the Edelweiss.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
How lucky to have a two week vacation. Thanks for choosing Edelweiss for your stay. We are fortunate to have great staff, we will pass on your warm comments about the staff. They really can make the difference and make you feel right at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellertown
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel itself is wonderful! It is clean, modern, classy - glad to see the military giving its own a first class hotel and operation. Everything was great - the tours and tour guides were wonderful and very reasonable, the staff were friendly and helpful - facilities, pool, etc were fantastic. The only negative was the food situation. The buffet did not offer a lot of variety and the food itself was not great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thanks for your review. We are fortunate to have an incredible location and friendly staff. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel while I was in the military, for business, it's a very nice hotel cheap for lower military grades, and with beautiful views, I was lucky enough to fly there in a helicopter and fly around the area and to the castles, so for me it was great

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkE0668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Not a bad way to see Garmisch by helicopter. Pretty plush. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Our helipad is open for you anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We arrived on Monday night, 2 September and enjoyed 6 fun nights. The staff was wonderful and the junior suite was extremely comfortable. We ate a few times at the hotel but mostly enjoyed the restaurants in Garmisch and surrounding areas. The tour we took to Neuschwanstein was wonderful, especially with Kyle as our guide. He made everything interesting and fun and we would highly recommend this trip. We did most of our touring on our own and the location of the Edelweiss was convenient to most areas.

Room Tip: Corner junior suites are large and comfortable. Our room did not have any direct sun and in warm we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishaB041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thanks for your review. Kyle is a valued tour guide very personable and knowledgeable. We will pass on your comments to him. We hope you will come stay with us in the winter season as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beratzhausen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I preface this by saying that we stayed at the Edelweiss in the Winter of 2013 and were thoroughly pleased. It's unfortunate that the standard the resort had at that point has not been maintained.

If you are offered a cabin because the rooms in the lodge are booked take the following into consideration. These are things that would have been helpful to know prior to making a decision but were never conveyed to us.

1. The cabins are not, 'right across the street' as the receptionist explained. The cabin's are actually a good 10-15 minute walk on the other base across the street. This means that you will be carrying all of your luggage with virtually no direction or signage in hopes that you will stumble upon your cabin. We had to ask three different people on our journey as we were not familiar with the layout. This also means that you will go through security again to access the next post. Maybe no big deal to some but we would have liked to have known what we were in for so we could have been prepared. We took a lot of luggage and had arrived by train. Probably a better experience if you are driving.

2. The Wi-Fi in non-functional in the cabins and when you inquire about it at the front desk be prepared to be met with nothing more than apathy and an insincere, 'sorry.'

3. The back gate leading to the cabins closes at 22:00. This would have been especially helpful to know considering I left the main lodge at 10:15 and was denied exit out the back gate. I had to go back through the main lobby and walk out of the main entrance to Edelweiss around the complex and then back to the second post. Had I been privy to this information I could have made a more informed decision and not been walking as a single female by myself. It was unnerving to say the least and when I voiced concerns about customer safety I was met once again with a dismissive attitude, 'Ma'am Garmisch is one of the safest cities in the world.' Again, maybe this is a non-issue to some but I do expect to have all information necessary to me. I feel that little tidbit of knowledge was quite important.

Other things to consider: We chose to eat dinner at Zuggy's and were disappointed to find that they have reduced their menu down to a one page laminate. The appetizers we got were substandard at best in terms of quality. This is completely opposite of our experience back in the winter. Also, check out time is 10:00. Our plan was to check out at 10, eat breakfast in the hotel and then head out for our day. Sorry, the breakfast buffet ends at 10 and Pullman's (although we saw tons of empty seats) would not serve us because they 'didn't have the food.' Starving at that point we decided to run downstairs to the Point and grab a quick breakfast sandwich. Guess what? They were out of sandwiches. Not a good idea to mess with hungry folks with children.

I could go on but it's pointless. We were disappointed at every turn with this experience and will not return. Edelweiss has taken a huge down turn in quality and customer service and that is unfortunate. We will definitely support the local economy next time we are in Garmisch and stay at a German run gasthous where we will receive better quality for a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mstone375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We take all input as an opportunity to improve our services for future guests. We apologize that you weren't fully informed about the location of the cabins. I updated the website to say that it is between a 10 - 15 minute walk to the cabins. As you know it isn't very far but with waiting for the light to cross the street and going through security it can take some time. We are doing improvements to the wifi in the cabins. We hope you will give us another chance to prove why we are number 1 of 22 hotels in Garmisch with quality American service we know we can provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
312 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlas Posthotel
Atlas Posthotel
#30 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Property: Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Lodge And Resort Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing