We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you're after, I guess.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Depends what you're after, I guess.....”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've stayed at Edelweiss several times, both as part of marriage/deployment retreats and on our own travels. Having just finished up our last stay before we head back to the States, I'd like to share my thoughts.
Really quick-- staying at the cabins is a whole different experience than at the resort. When I booked, the agent said it was "half camping, half hotel," so we knew not to expect too much. It would be nice to at least have toilets in the cabins (could still go to the public restroom for showers), but overall we had a good time and thought it was a good value (especially since we were using it mostly for a home base while we toured other attractions in the area). It was also nice that we could still use the pool and gym and everything at the resort without any extra charge.
About the main resort--
THE NOT-SO-GOOD:
-Pretty pricey. While they do run specials fairly often, your average room price is quite a bit higher than other places in the area.
-Sorry, but I have to just come out and say it-- the food isn't good or a good value. It used to be horrible; now on this last stay, they have revamped both Zuggy's and Market Station. The food at Zuggy's consists of (what I believe are frozen) pizzas and drinks, both of which are WAY overpriced. The new menu at Market Station is definitely better-- similar to a Chili's or Applebees--but it took an hour to get our meals, and they were just OK.
-LOUD. I realize this is more the fault of inattentive parents than the hotel's, but just be aware that there will probably be at least one instance of running, shrieking, seemingly-feral children.
-no A/C, hit-or-miss on working fans.
-the "free" wi-fi is sketchy, especially in the corner rooms.
-every time we went on our own dime, there was a tiny something wrong-- we booked a suite and were instead given two adjoining, the office overcharged and it was a pain getting money back, room service stole our beer mugs (they did bring them back)-- nothing that WRECKED the whole stay, but for the price I would expect a little more attention to these details.
-worst mattresses ever. I don't know how a mattress can both be rock-hard AND offer absolutely no support, but these--wow. Just bad.
THE OK:
-The pool is nice, but going is a gamble. Just in this visit alone, we've ranged from basically having the place to ourselves to being so loud and crowded that we just turned around and left.
-Outdoor Adventures has a good range of activities and tours. In my opinion, the prices are a bit high, especially for the kids' seats, but it's nice that the option is there.
-Rooms are a good size for being in Europe, but many could use some updates and/or are looking a bit beat up. For example, on our most recent stay the headboard was falling apart (cracked wood and visible staples). On the last stay, there was mold on the shower curtains and the sink was leaking.
THE GOOD:
-Location. Can't beat the view, and an easy walk or drive to basically anything you'd want to see in Garmisch.
-The CDC and kids' programs that are associated with the hotel have always been a hit with my kids. I'm picky about who I leave them with, but I have always felt good about the care they got with these programs.
-Rarely encountered grumpy staff-- everyone seems to love their job.
-It's nice to have a little slice of "America" in the Alps, especially for those who are homesick or can't afford the plane ticket home for the summer.

So overall, I guess it depends what you really want. There are definitely lower prices and better restaurants in the area, and if you're after a real European experience I would suggest checking those out. However, if you want to mingle with other displaced Americans and just kick back and look at the mountains, this might be right up your alley. Up to you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badcarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    209
    79
    37
    14
See reviews for
351
187
15
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were mesmerized by how beauty of the hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly, even at the late hours that we arrived. The room was large and accommodating and the balcony overlooked a majestic scenery of mountain ranges. The three restaurants offered a variety of foods to satisfy any type of appetite. All the store staff were energetic and extremely helpful. We had asked one staff member about taking a trip up the mountains for a sightseeing trip, and they even recommended paying at the site since it would have saved us some money. We genuinely appreciate this type of honesty since we had already spent an plenty of money in the resort anyways. My wife and kids enjoyed themselves since there was plenty of things to do. We used the hotel as a base camp for sight seeing and didn't mind a little bit of driving since the scenery was so beautiful. As we returned the hotel after a long day of driving/sight seeing, we enjoyed a few pints of beer and reasonably priced dinners. We can't wait to return to this outstanding resort! Thank you Edelweiss staff and members for giving us a truly relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the elevators! Children have a tendency to use the elevators as a toy and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewistex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We just returned from our third stay. Every room has a view. The staff are helpful. The guided tours are convenient - though some guides (and tours) are better done than others. The omelet bar at breakfast is amazing! Unfortunately, if you are staying at the hotel, the only available lunch option is prepackaged convenience food from the coffee shop. Pullman place is the best restaurant, though it is not open every night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

my son and I are staying for a few days at the Lodge at the onset of a 28 day European Drive about. The room view is fantastic and the service and meals have been wonderful. The day trips are varied and it seems like you could spend a month here without getting bored. We are both sad that we could not extend our stay due to the lodge being booked up.

Room Tip: You can not go wrong as all the rooms appear to have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KanoSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in Vacation Village in a Deluxe Cabin and loved the comfort and flexibility it provided for our family. The location in Germany is absolutely perfect and central to everything.
The only disappointment we had was on the resort side...the food choices were very limited there and the night we tried to have dinner they weren't able to accommodate our family since they booked all reservations.
That being said, there are plenty of food choices in Garmisch and the Deluxe Cabins have a decent kitchen as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

As a family of two adults and 4 children (ages 15, 13, 10 and 3), it can be difficult to find adequate lodging that meets a tight military budget. Our 10-day visit to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort was perfect! We stayed in a deluxe cabin, the 3 older kids in the loft and the parents and little tyke downstairs. The location was excellent for visiting nearby attractions, and the recommendations by the desk staff were superb. We did not go on any of their tours because the prices were out of our budget, but we had plenty to see and do on our own. The few problems we encountered with the facilities during our stay were promptly corrected. All in all, this vacation is one of the highlights of this duty tour in Germany.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great stay and we have stayed a few times over the last few years. Friendly stay and very clean. Never ate in the restaurants bc we go in the city but they look nice. Overall a nice home away from home with nice amenities. Thanks for a lovely vacation!

Room Tip: Has a DVD player so bring movies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMom370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
One of the biggest compliments we can get being "a home away from home". Thanks for staying with us a few times over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
411 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Property: Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Lodge And Resort Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing