We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rheinischer Hof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaestehaus Andreas Hofer(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riessersee Hotel(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
QH Hotel(Grainau)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staudacherhof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
393
217
82
40
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
217
82
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket stationhot tubmilitary familiesgift shopzuggy's base campalpine adventuresrocking chairsbar foodbrewery tourmarket placeamerican fooddeluxe cabinomelet stationr rmilitary personnelneuschwanstein castlestationed in germany
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Lodge is a very nice place to base out of if you're eligible to stay there.
Strengths: Nice rooms at affordable prices and views to die for. The guided tours are a must and allow you to see a lot without having to do the driving. Washes and dryers are also available and allow you to get be with bringing fewer clothes.
Weakness: The Lodge has three "restaurants" and not one of them is any good. If you need a break from German and Italian or come in late from a tour and try one of the places to eat within, don't set your expectations very high.

The Lodge is on the far eastern side of Garmisch and is a couple mile walk to downtown. If you don't have a car, you either have to take a bus, taxi or hike quite a bit to get to the nice shopping and restaurants. An hourly shuttle to the main square area would be a great addition.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the playground and pool areas. Ask for an external room with a view of the Alps.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BRIAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 3 children stayed for five nights in the rustic cabins for less than $400. The deluxe cabin, rustic cabins, and tent sites are located in the vacation village across the street behind the main Edelweiss Resort. We were lucky enough to have rustic cabin #9 which was the first cabin in the campground, and the view from the front porch was amazing. The cabin had one bedroom with a double bed and a bunk bed, and a loft with two mattresses and sleeping bags. It had a small fridge, microwave and a flat screen t.v. There was a bathhouse about 50 yards from the cabin. Which was challenging to not have a bathroom in the cabin but that's what camping is all about right? The bathhouse was large and clean with about 10 toilet stalls, 10 sinks and 10 shower stalls, In both the male and female restrooms. There was also about 7 washers and 7 dryers in the bathhouse to use. Washers were $1.25 and dryers were $.75 for 40 minutes. There are sinks in the bathhouse to do dishes and two arcade games, and a change machine available.
Behind the bathhouse, there is the shoppette, commissary, a coffee house, Subway, thrift shop, and gift shop. I recommend going to the commissary first for items before the shoppette. You can get your toiletries much cheaper at the commissary.
At the main resort area, the lodge area is wonderful. There is a very large fireplace and rocking chairs and plenty of seating to sit and relax. I only wish they would have had the fireplace working. Even in the summer, it would have been a nice touch. On the main level there is the reception desk, a gift shop where you can sign up for tons of excursions, and two restaurants. One is family style and the other one is a little more upscale. Both are great for families though. On the lower level, there is a sports bar, with a limited menu, Starbucks, the spa, an arcades room, and a mini casino room with slot machines. Everywhere on the resort takes U.S. Dollars so it is nice to not have to worry about Euros or exchange rates there.
The only complaint I have is, I wish when you check in they would issue a pass to come and go off the resort. It was a pain having to have the German guards check your I.D. every time you went from the campground to the main resort, main resort back to the campground and every time you came back from leaving the resort.
Other than that, this resort was absolutely wonderful and we already have plans on coming back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Resort has things for small children to do, activities.
Two restaurant s. Prices are high, but in line with other visitor activities.
You can book excursions thru the front desk and they will pick you up right out front.
Rooms are good sized and comfortable, very clean.
Our room had a balcony with sliding door. You could sit out and look at the mountains. Very nice.
Small town, just a block or so outside the gates has many shops. Great restaurants with decent prices.
It is military though, so don't forget your passes!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for the whole week of 4th of July with family of 5 and Father in law from the states. It was our second time visiting and 1st time with Father in law. Check in process was quick and easy just as it was the last time, very helpful at the front desk for this time. First of all the firework display on 4th of July was probably one of the best I have ever seen, simply amazing. Other than that and our waitress when we ate at Market Station, there isn't much more to brag about. I am not much for being a "negative nancy", but I know the manager reads these reviews and he needs to know things that need to be changed asap as I am not sure if the comment cards are actually even read as we has many of the same complaints before but it appears it has even gotten WORSE.

Zuggys: DO SOMETHING WITH THIS RESTAURANT!!!! If it's a bar then advertise it as a bar and nothing else. Service here is probably the worst I have EVER received at a restaurant, and that is not an over exaggeration as our favorite waitress in market station has said she hates working there because there are so many complaints and they are completely understaffed. First of all, why the heck does the bar need to fill soft drinks when they are clearly only concerned with alcoholic beverages?! Our whole family was waiting 23 minutes (timed it) for our drinks after we ordered them and by this time have still not been asked what we wanted to eat from their menu which consisted of probably 8 items and is printed on a little post card looking thing. Anyway, this place was completely understaffed and there are dirty tables all over the place as they don't have a dedicated person to clean off tables so families are just standing around waiting for a clean table. There are about 15-20 tables here and only about 2-3 waitors/waitresses. How hard would it be to just hire one more person?!?! Also, the US played their ELIMINATION world cup game and they were showing it in Zuggys and instead of maybe offering chips and dip at the very least, they didn't offer ANYTHING except drinks. Like really?! Kind of a big deal and what would seem like a great opportunity for your resort to make a pretty good amount of money, just pathetic. I was told the manager doesn't really care to make changes because he is about to leave, that was a very sad answer to give from 2 of their employees.

Room and Resort: Our room door was broke and would always slam as the pressure thing at the top of the door was completely broke off and hanging. This seemed obvious to also be wrong with other doors around us as we heard constant door slamming after 11:00 at night and all through the night. Also little carpet borders around the bottom of the walls, were just hanging off the walls as it looks like they had become unglued from the wall. How hard would it be to call in a work order and why are your house keeping people not constantly looking for this stuff as they are the eyes and ears for the manager one would think. Instead they just "ghetto rig" it and throw it back against the wall and act as if it isn't coming off. Also areas where it is obvious pictures should be hung up, they are missing. Just little picture hooks and holes where pictures should be hung up. Looks tacky.

We will not be visiting this resort again while we are stationed here in Germany.
Room #: 2092

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rhitson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've stayed at Edelweiss several times, both as part of marriage/deployment retreats and on our own travels. Having just finished up our last stay before we head back to the States, I'd like to share my thoughts.
Really quick-- staying at the cabins is a whole different experience than at the resort. When I booked, the agent said it was "half camping, half hotel," so we knew not to expect too much. It would be nice to at least have toilets in the cabins (could still go to the public restroom for showers), but overall we had a good time and thought it was a good value (especially since we were using it mostly for a home base while we toured other attractions in the area). It was also nice that we could still use the pool and gym and everything at the resort without any extra charge.
About the main resort--
THE NOT-SO-GOOD:
-Pretty pricey. While they do run specials fairly often, your average room price is quite a bit higher than other places in the area.
-Sorry, but I have to just come out and say it-- the food isn't good or a good value. It used to be horrible; now on this last stay, they have revamped both Zuggy's and Market Station. The food at Zuggy's consists of (what I believe are frozen) pizzas and drinks, both of which are WAY overpriced. The new menu at Market Station is definitely better-- similar to a Chili's or Applebees--but it took an hour to get our meals, and they were just OK.
-LOUD. I realize this is more the fault of inattentive parents than the hotel's, but just be aware that there will probably be at least one instance of running, shrieking, seemingly-feral children.
-no A/C, hit-or-miss on working fans.
-the "free" wi-fi is sketchy, especially in the corner rooms.
-every time we went on our own dime, there was a tiny something wrong-- we booked a suite and were instead given two adjoining, the office overcharged and it was a pain getting money back, room service stole our beer mugs (they did bring them back)-- nothing that WRECKED the whole stay, but for the price I would expect a little more attention to these details.
-worst mattresses ever. I don't know how a mattress can both be rock-hard AND offer absolutely no support, but these--wow. Just bad.
THE OK:
-The pool is nice, but going is a gamble. Just in this visit alone, we've ranged from basically having the place to ourselves to being so loud and crowded that we just turned around and left.
-Outdoor Adventures has a good range of activities and tours. In my opinion, the prices are a bit high, especially for the kids' seats, but it's nice that the option is there.
-Rooms are a good size for being in Europe, but many could use some updates and/or are looking a bit beat up. For example, on our most recent stay the headboard was falling apart (cracked wood and visible staples). On the last stay, there was mold on the shower curtains and the sink was leaking.
THE GOOD:
-Location. Can't beat the view, and an easy walk or drive to basically anything you'd want to see in Garmisch.
-The CDC and kids' programs that are associated with the hotel have always been a hit with my kids. I'm picky about who I leave them with, but I have always felt good about the care they got with these programs.
-Rarely encountered grumpy staff-- everyone seems to love their job.
-It's nice to have a little slice of "America" in the Alps, especially for those who are homesick or can't afford the plane ticket home for the summer.

So overall, I guess it depends what you really want. There are definitely lower prices and better restaurants in the area, and if you're after a real European experience I would suggest checking those out. However, if you want to mingle with other displaced Americans and just kick back and look at the mountains, this might be right up your alley. Up to you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank badcarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews