We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort for families!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2007

What a wonderful resort! My children ages 18,9,5 and I stayed at Edelweiss the 1st weekend in Feb. We were very impressed with the whole resort and all it had to offer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a double room and it was imacculate. It consited of x2 queen beds, a living area with a sofa bed, 1.5 bathrooms extra linen and pillows, fridge and a balcony with cafe table and chairs. It is a non smoking facility. It was very, very clean and roomy. We had enough room for all of us. If you have children between the ages of 5-12, I reccomend the "Kids night out" offered on Sat night from 5-8pm. My children were well taken care off. They are given dinner then transported to another facility were they offer lots of activites to keep them entertained. The pool was a great highlight. The hot tub is just as big as the pool. Children are allowed in the hot tub. Which makes it nice for you to enjoy it also. You do not have to worry about bringing down towels because the pool offers towels to use. There are 3 resturants with great pizza and lots of snacks. We did take advantage of the ski slopes and had a wonderful time. We will definately go back. I highly reccomend Edelweiss Resort for anyone who is looking to get away to a beautiful town and experience great service.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2007

If you want the experience of staying at a charming little B&B, don't stay here. But, if you're military and it's been a while since you had the luxury of staying at a nice hotel with American standards, you'll really enjoy it. Edelweiss has a big spacious lobby with gift shops and restaurants, a gym, indoor pool, outdoor jacuzzi, etc. The rooms are typical American style with mini fridges, extremely comfortable beds, and nice bathrooms with tub showers. There are ice and vending machines in the halls. Garmisch is beautiful and has a lot to offer. Edelweiss can help you book excursions in and around the area. Skip the breakfast buffet unless you eat a lot, as it is expensive. There is a little grocery store down the road that sells yummy fresh pastries for a lot cheaper! Garmisch has good shopping and tasty restaurants. It's a great place to be based out of as you travel Bavaria and parts of Austria. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Cali_Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2007

Edelweiss Resort is very nice. There is an indoor pool located in the fitness center that is free for all hotel and cabin guests. There is a very large hot tub located outside with a great view of the Alps. Guests may also use the fitness room or have massages. The rooms are nice. The hotel has a cute little gift shop. It also has a TV corner with children's programming and chairs. In the middle of the lobby there is a very large fireplace where you can sit and relax on several rocking chairs. The excursions are pricey. It is much, much cheaper to drive to Neuschwanstein Castle or Linderhof Castle on your own. There is an Esso in town and you can buy gas coupons (as long as you are military) across the way on the regular post. This post also has a Commisary, PX and Shoppette, which are within walking distance of the resort. Zuggy's is a nice pizza place. They have video trivia in each booth. The buffet is slightly expensive, but it is all you can eat. Pullman Place was delicious!

Stayed: December 2006
4  Thank hanagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2007

The facility is great (except for the food options) - clean, excellent staff, internet cafe, pool, hot tub, fitness center, great atmosphere in the lobby, etc. Our room was nice, though if you weren't out of the room when housekeeping knocked, they may or may not come back. With four people in our room, we needed the daily service. Overall it kind of felt like a Disney property where you are charged quite a bit and for everything

I quickly grew frustrated with the lack of quality food for a reasonable price. Breakfast was the worst - only choices were the $8 buffet or overpriced pastries/bagels/sandwiches at the wellness center snack bar. There seems an intentional lack of information: we happened to ask the cashier at the dinner buffet if there was any alternative to the full price buffet ($14.95) and were told of the soup/salad option for $5.95. In another TA review, I saw there is a similar option at breakfast, but they don't tell you, you have to ask. We went to Pullman place once, the meal was nice (they do great honey mustard mashed potatoes). We did not eat in Zuggy's so no comment there. Thankfully on the tours we had lunch in great restaurants so we weren't really hungry for dinner when we got back to the resort. In town, there is an all-you-can-eat sushi bar (Jasmine, just past the Peugeot dealership) on Zugspitzstrasse going towards Marienplatz for 15 euros per person.

The horse and carriage ride was disappointing as it's a wagon and up to 10 people were sitting along the sides. There was a plastic cover over it, so it you sat in the middle you couldn't see anything. For $19 per person I expected more of an experience. The Herrenchiemsee and Neuschwanstein tours were pricey but worth it. If you can get Andrea as a guide, do it - she's great.

Maybe impressions depend on what kind of travellers people are. If I ever return to Edelweiss, it will only be for a couple of days to use the facilities. We stayed in the Gasthof Fraundorfer for 1 night before checking into Edelweiss where it was cheaper, authentic, AND included breakfast. With no real discernable value for money, I'm not sure what the benefit is supposed to be for the families entitled to stay at Edelweiss - if I wanted American TV and food I wouldn't be travelling to another country! Garmisch-Partenkirchen is beautiful and has a lot to offer. I do plan on going back to the area, but I'll probably stay in town.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank ichiban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

Our party of six stayed at the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort from 12/21-12/26/06.

We had a very enjoyable time at the resort. The facilities, inside and out, were beautiful and were nicely decorated for the holidays.

The rooms were nice and large and very well appointed. The bathrooms were great. I especially liked the towel warmers.

I had read that the resort can be loud. We found it to be very quiet. Our room 3074, was near the end of a wing so there was probably less traffic. Another room in our party was in 1039, next to an office and all people walking down that hallway went past their room. They didn't find it too noisy.

We enjoyed the trips that were sponsored by the Lodge. Keith, our guide to Neuschwanstein, was friendly and informative. We even learned the five characteristics of Rococo and where to find the bathrooms at our stops (the bus did not have a WC). The other travellers on the bus were on-time for the departures.

The horse carriage ride around Garmisch-Partenkirchen on Christmas evening was nice. We enjoyed talking with two young couples. The guys were MPs stationed in Belgium. Ten people to a carriage makes for a very cozy ride!

The clerks and receptionists were friendly and helpful. We had plenty of questions for them!

Only one person in our party ate one meal at the Lodge. He was very disappointed with the Bavarian buffet. The restaurants we enjoyed the most were the Werdenfelsehof (Ludwigstr.) and Hotel Hausberg (Christmas dinner there was great!).

Unfortunately, we didn't take the time to try our the pool and spa area.

There were two bus stops near the lodge, so if you don't have a car, it is still easy to get into town. We purchased 7-day tickets for 10 euros. The concierge called for taxis to take us back to the train station for our return trip.

It was a great experience and we look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Maelrarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2006

The Edelweiss Lodge offered a 13 day Retirees' Vacation Package. This included 9 tours, breakfast every morning, and 3 dinners. The group included mostly retired military and/or their families. What a fabulous vacation!! Our rooms were clean and very quiet......even though there were lots of children at the Lodge. Amenities were top notch i.e. pool, hot tub, laundromat, and the service was stellar. The Pullman Restaurant had first class food, but the Market Station was woefully inadequate for the evening meal. The food there was bland and tepid. Breakfast was fine.

The tours were led by a very knowledgeable and witty woman. We were able to see interesting places in Germany and Austria (on a comfortable bus). Additional tours could easily be booked at the Gift Shop at one's own expense. Since the Lodge is at the base of Zugspitze Mountain, a trip to the top is a "must see", even though it is a bit pricey.

Exploring Garmisch and Partenkirken is well worth the time. Partenkirken is less touristy and has the exquisite St. Anton's Church. Going down side streets took us by old houses with barns attached and restaurants with exquisite food.

Edelweiss Lodge offers a very comfortable base from which to explore this fascinating and gorgeous part of Germany.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank 2travelers-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2006

Spent a total of fourteen days there only one place to eat that was better than just OK.They need DVD players in the room because TV sucks also a movie rental store.and no night life.
poplew

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank poplew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riessersee Hotel Resort
Riessersee Hotel Resort
#22 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
411 reviews
2.9 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
307 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#9 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Lodge And Resort Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing