We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I just adore this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garmischer Hof
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“I just adore this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

After two weeks in Bavaria and Austria we had our final few nights of sightseeing in and around Garmisch. This was the last hotel on our trip. And I am glad that it was. We stayed in mostly chain hotels on this trip but found this one had the best location for us in this town.
The hotel has so much character going for it you cannot help but be charmed to death. It really made staying in this alpine town feel so authentic rather than touristy.
This hotel is old. It has been updated but its bones are old. That being said, expect crazy ceilings in the rooms and bathrooms, I hit my head so many times I could not help but laugh. its been five days and I still have a scab on my forehead. Everytime I see it I smile as it elicits such found memories of my trip.
The rooms are fairly large by european standards as was the bathroom. We were on the top floor so the pitch of the roof made for slanted ceilings. In the shower I looked a bit like Will Farrell in 'Elf' trying to take a shower. The beds were very comfy.
Our room had a large balcony with chairs and a table with a great view which made the morning and evening so relaxing to sit and watch the world.
The bar downstairs is awesome, there are tables on the sidewalk that fill up fast with locals coming by with kids and friends enjoying the night.
The breakfast was a huge spread which was included. Meats, cheeses, cereals, fresh coffee even bacon and eggs.
They have a washer/dryer you can use in the basement, even though being down there at night is a bit like being in the movie The Shining.
The staff was mostly nice and most spoke english. We got the odd cranky person from time to time but we just smiled and joked and they warmed right up.
The internet is free and very reliable, I was able to make internet phone calls and stream some movies from my slingbox.
The location is close to the center of town with many great restaurants only 10 minutes walk.
I would love to come back in the winter one day as I can only imagine how much fun it would be.
Stay here. Have fun.

Room Tip: Get a room up high with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    61
    18
    13
    6
See reviews for
31
57
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Reichenhall, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel "runs" in the owner's family for 3 generations.
Small and clean, personal touch, yet, located in the most perfect canter of the beautiful city.
Across the street there is a shopping mall, including a supermarket, and a nice coffee shop.
The hotel has a good not expensive restaurant, yet, close 5 mun walk to the "main" no cars street with many coffee and restaurants, ice creams etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view room. Always if possible - corner suit/room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vg1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Cute hotel but rooms were hit or miss. Some extremely small, some huge. I stayed in a huge room with a tiny bed and low ceiling. The rooms also did not have any typical toiletries (as found in most European and U.S. hotels) and no hair dryers - so bring one if you need it. Also, they are very stingy with the towels. The food was good but the staff was rude and very rushed. Alternatively every person at the front desk - when someone was there - was very nice and helpful. The profile picture of the hotel is of the back of the building, as the front faces the street. If you have a room in the back you will have lovely views of the Zugspitze but the front rooms face a busy, one way street. Close walk to the train (5-10 min), not so close to the ski resort, you will need to take the bus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christimily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel is within easy walking distance from the train station, and located right in the city centre of Garmisch, around the corner from the pedestrian precinct. The hotel stay includes free public transport around town and a number of other visitor discounts included in the "Kurkarte". Breakfast was great (mountain views included), and the room was comfortable and pleasant. We were unable to obtain Wifi access during our stay, as the server was down.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAL466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel located a short, downhill, 15-minute walk from the train station. The room facing the mountains was bright and clean, but we were disappointed with a number of things. The combination body soap, shampoo and conditioner container in the shower stall was empty and remained empty for our entire stay. Luckily, we brought along our own. There was 1 tissue in the Kleenex box and it remained that way for our entire stay. Safety deposit boxes have to be one of the simplest things in a room to use; however, we could never get the medieval contraption in our room to work. No wifi in the room. There are slippers and bathrobes available for guests, but you have to ask for them to be delivered to your room. The hotel operates on the premise that "we have everything, but if you want it, you've got to ask for it." The Thursday night buffet was wonderful, but again, you will get the dry leftovers mixed in with next morning breakfast items. Some reviews say the staff is friendly and polite while other reviews say they are unfriendly. Well, they're both. When you address a staff member directly they are very polite. See them in the dining room or hallway and you don't exist. It's this Dr Jeckyll and Mr. Hyde behaviour that is the root of the conflicting reviews. One explanation for the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor is that this hotel is a study in social hierarchy in conservative rural Germany. From the front desk to the apprentice server(s) every knows their place and is interacted with accordingly. Interestingly, in the morning, the presumed grand-daughter breezes in through the front door, ignores everyone, grabs a refreshment from the bar and breezes back out never acknowledging staff members who she must know. This sort of thing is something you would never witness nor ever should witness at a hotel such as the Regent Berlin, Lindau Reutemann or Cologne Excelsior. As the presumed grandmother, I'd put an immediate end to such behaviour. As a guest I don't want to see this sort of thing. Would we return, probably not. But, we understand clearly why there are such divergent reviews regarding this hotel. It's a 3-star hotel and nothing more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiteknight63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

i returned to stay at the hotel last month and once again everything was first class. the breakfast bar is absolutely great as with the evening meals. the staff are so friendly and helpful. with the hotel being situated in the centre of garmisch and it is only a few minutes walk from the railway station makes it very easy for access to the local shops etc. the hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are always cleaned thoroughly each day. the hotel rates for such a great place is very reasonable. i have already booked a return trip for next year. all i can add is that i recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in beautiful garmisch.

Room Tip: try to book a room overlooking the mountains, especially the zugspitze as the views are breathtaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful view of Zugspitze from your bedroom window, delicious breakfast and friendly staff. Within walking distance from train station and all of downtown. Only complaint would be lack of wifi in room. Worked great in lobby but in room was spotty. Loved staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaichek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garmischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garmischer Hof

Property: Hotel Garmischer Hof
Address: Chamonixstr. 10, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#9 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Garmischer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garmischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garmischer Hof Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing