We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, but charming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garmischer Hof
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Friendly staff. Perfect location to shopping and restaurants. Great coffee and breakfast. Had the Friday night dinner with appetizer buffet. It was delicious and a great price.

Rooms were on the small side. Decor was dated, but you can tell this hotel has had some cool history over the years. I found it had a certain charm. I would return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank bigK6-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Find a better hotel for the same or even lower price. There are lots to choose between. I changed hotel after one night.

My room was an old one with wall to wall carpet, probably not cleaned the last decades.
Internet is too slow, the telley was a very old (80s?) large box with a small screen. Few programmes (No BBC or other no dubbed channels)
No fridge, no water boiler and no nothing else in the room.
Breakfast OK and dinner in restaurant OK.

Room Tip: Stay off rooms facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photofredrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have just had another great stay at this hotel. It is ideally located in the town centre and only a few minutes walk from the railway/bus station. The staff are very efficient, friendly and extremely helpful. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast bar. What a fantastic selection of cheeses, meat and scrambled eggs with crispy bacon. A great selection of breads. The room had a balcony with sun lounge and faced the Zugspitze/Alspitze mountains. I can also recommend dining there in the evening. Everything was so relaxed and very friendly. If you wish a nice comfortable hotel with excellent staff and food and within walking distance of everything then this is the one to stay in. I did not care a jot that the internet was slow. I am on holiday to relax and enjoy the local food and great quality service. The courtesy and smiles that the staff give would put a first class airline cabin stewardess to shame. So once again top marks to the hotel and I am booked there again for next year

Room Tip: try to book a room overlooking the mountains at the rear of the hotel but it is advised to try to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Garmischer Hof for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Large, comfortable room, accommodating staff, terrific breakfast, and within easy walking distance of shopping and eating. Internet was quirky, but as vacationing travelers that's not such a bad thing - relaxing and exploring are awesome alternatives!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank GulieHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Don't go to this hotel if you want to use good speed internet at the hotel. Google home page takes minutes to open so you can understand what will be the situation to other sites. All of my colleagues had this experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small, choose something else if you are taller than 180cm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Thanks to the other reviewers. I made a choice of staying in this hotel during my recent trip to Garmisch Partenkirchen. Upon reaching the hotel, we were shocked to learn that the main road to the hotel was closed for road works. We went round the place and had to park near the Ildl supermarket and walked to the hotel. The receptionist was very helpful. She attempt to understand the exact location of my car, gave us a map and taught us exactly how to drive to the hotel parking place.
Based on her instructions, we have no problem to drive the car over. She was also very helpful and gave us instructions and advise on how to catch the train to Zugspitze. She also provide information on the spa that is available at the hotel.
This hotel is very conveniently located. Just outside the hotel are shopping malls and restaurants. Within walking distance is the banhhof (train) to Zugspitze. For the next two nights when we were there, we made use of their spa facilities. It has a sauna, steam bath and foot massage. It also provided water and herbal tea. It was one of the best and cleanest spa facilities I've seen overseas. The good thing is, there wasn't many people, and it wasn't manned. Free & easy style.
The breakfast spread was really good too! Though the bacons were over-cooked. I like their fantastic selection of teas.
The room was really spacious and clean. It even has connecting room, though I didn't need it. It has a walk-in wardrobe. Even though we stayed at the 2nd floor, we had a great view of the mountain. The balcony was really big and spacious even though we didn't make use of it.
Overall, this is a very nice place to stay - homey, convenient and clean.

Room Tip: Request for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PassionBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here two weeks ago with some friends on a driving trip through Germany. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. The only thing I didn't like was the soap in the shower, which is very minor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooMa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#10 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garmischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garmischer Hof

Address: Chamonixstr. 10, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#9 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £96 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Garmischer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garmischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garmischer Hof Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing