We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room they give you makes a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Garmischer Hof
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati OH
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The room they give you makes a difference”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here at the beginning and at the end of a trek through the Alps. Based on our first night room experience, I would have given it 4 stars. Yes, it is a bit dated, but the room was spacious and we had an amazing balcony looking out at the Alps. The included breakfast is very generous and good.
However, after hiking in the rain on our last day into Garmisch, I was anticipating a nice soak in the tub. Imagine my surprise when we check back in and we were given an end room - about the size of the bed that was in it... No tub and fluorescent tube lights that hummed. And a balcony that looked out on a tile roof. The biggest joke was the magnifying make up mirror in the bathroom because the lighting in the bathroom was so dim, you could barely see your hand in front of your face. When I requested a different room, (this request was made at 3 in the afternoon), "there was nothing available."
Seriously, it was like two different hotels - but we paid the same price for each night!
I would not stay here again as long as there is a chance of getting put into the 'bad' rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel with consistent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onelastplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    61
    18
    13
    6
See reviews for
32
57
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

First time being in Garmisch we found the way straight to the hotel and drove to the parking place entering via the back door. A very nice lady was greeting us (her family name started with a B...unfortunately I do not remember the full name) and after check-in we went to our room No. 7. What a huge room, overlooking one of the shopping streets next to the pedestrian walk through the city and "Kurpark". Clean, spacious, nice bathroom - everything fine.
After unpaking we went down to have a walk through the city and, unfortunately, the nice lady from check-in had left and a black-haired lady was "just doing her job".
We spend night out with friends and only arrived back after 3am next morning and the night porter opened the door, greated us friendly, handed the keys and asked whether we would like to have a coffee in the morning. Wow - that we did not expect and agreed upon with great pleasure.
Next morning, almost exact in time, coffee came to our room (without extra charge!!!) and after taking a shower we went for breakfast and were guided to a nice table at the window overlooking the mountains.
Breakfast was "international style" and actually to miss.
Coming back from breakfast to start packing we were greated by name! from the nice lady who did the check-in last day. Really nice surprise.
We paid, checked-out and could leave the car without additional charge for another two hours on the parking plot.
Whenever we might return, definately we will stay at the Garmischer Hof, thanks for Mrs B!

Room Tip: Try to get room No 7 which is big or ask for "mountain view" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleksander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Friendly staff. Perfect location to shopping and restaurants. Great coffee and breakfast. Had the Friday night dinner with appetizer buffet. It was delicious and a great price.

Rooms were on the small side. Decor was dated, but you can tell this hotel has had some cool history over the years. I found it had a certain charm. I would return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bigK6-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Find a better hotel for the same or even lower price. There are lots to choose between. I changed hotel after one night.

My room was an old one with wall to wall carpet, probably not cleaned the last decades.
Internet is too slow, the telley was a very old (80s?) large box with a small screen. Few programmes (No BBC or other no dubbed channels)
No fridge, no water boiler and no nothing else in the room.
Breakfast OK and dinner in restaurant OK.

Room Tip: Stay off rooms facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photofredrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have just had another great stay at this hotel. It is ideally located in the town centre and only a few minutes walk from the railway/bus station. The staff are very efficient, friendly and extremely helpful. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast bar. What a fantastic selection of cheeses, meat and scrambled eggs with crispy bacon. A great selection of breads. The room had a balcony with sun lounge and faced the Zugspitze/Alspitze mountains. I can also recommend dining there in the evening. Everything was so relaxed and very friendly. If you wish a nice comfortable hotel with excellent staff and food and within walking distance of everything then this is the one to stay in. I did not care a jot that the internet was slow. I am on holiday to relax and enjoy the local food and great quality service. The courtesy and smiles that the staff give would put a first class airline cabin stewardess to shame. So once again top marks to the hotel and I am booked there again for next year

Room Tip: try to book a room overlooking the mountains at the rear of the hotel but it is advised to try to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Garmischer Hof for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Large, comfortable room, accommodating staff, terrific breakfast, and within easy walking distance of shopping and eating. Internet was quirky, but as vacationing travelers that's not such a bad thing - relaxing and exploring are awesome alternatives!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GulieHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Don't go to this hotel if you want to use good speed internet at the hotel. Google home page takes minutes to open so you can understand what will be the situation to other sites. All of my colleagues had this experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small, choose something else if you are taller than 180cm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#18 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#16 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garmischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garmischer Hof

Property: Hotel Garmischer Hof
Address: Chamonixstr. 10, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#9 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Garmischer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Garmischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garmischer Hof Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing