We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming guesthouse”
Review of Gasthof zum Rassen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gasthof zum Rassen
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was apprehensive reading some of the reviews on this Gasthof but decided to chance it anyway, as we would only be staying 1 night, needing only a place to sleep and would spend most of our time outside of it. First impression upon arrival was not too good - we were kept waiting whilst the owner talked on the phone for ages! However, once he attended to us, he was nice and accommodating. We had arrived early, so we were allowed to leave our bags in the theatre (yes, there was some hall which looked like a theatre on the ground floor of this guesthouse) until we returned in the evening, after our trip to Zugspitze.
Overall, this guesthouse was charming (see photos and you'll see what I mean!), rooms were spacious and prices were really reasonable. Our taxi was booked to pick us up at 7:15am on our day of departure - although breakfast was usually from 7am onwards, that morning they made the extra effort to serve breakfast half an hour earlier, just for our group! We really appreciated that! The owner even gave us 2 of their house mugs as souvenirs! What a change - was this the same man who ignored us yesterday while he spoke on the phone for ages??

Minor shortcomings (reason why I'm only rating them 4*) are : (1) The initially not-so-welcome reception upon our arrival; (2) Rooms were a bit bare (though clean); (3) Bathrooms were even more bare (but tolerable, even in winter.)

Location along Ludwigstrasse is great - lots of shops and we walked to Gasthof Fraundorfer down the street, in the evening for dinner and Bavarian folk music and dance.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for room at the back as the church bell across the road tolls day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was a very bad experience indeed. We checked into ‘Gasthof zum Rassen’ as a bit of a last resort, it was a last minute trip and we didn’t really give it our usual due diligence before deciding on it, what a mistake!! The building looked nice from the outside, though it is across the street from a church who’s clock chimes 4 times an hour day and night, it’s very loud and woke me up almost every hour despite having the windows closed. The room was dirty including the carpets and shower / bathroom, also the bathroom shower head didn’t work. The breakfast was very poor, with an unusual high population of flies accompanying us at the breakfast buffet! We decided it was best to not try the food at dinner time, it looked equally poor. The staff weren’t very polite or helpful throughout our stay, which has never been our experience in Germany before. There was no parking and no internet (aside from an ethernet cable stuck out the wall on the 2nd floor with one small chair next to it!

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinSmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was a very strange stay -- not in a good way. I found this place in a guidebook and booked via email. The email mentioned something about being a 'short drive from the restaurant', but I didn't mind that, naively assuming that the hotel was not in the same place as the restaurant.

Trouble began when we arrived. There was a restaurant but no sign of a check-in. The waiters looked at me oddly and when I told them I had a reservation they said I must be mistaken. Eventually, they said I had a Ferienwohnung -- i.e. a holiday apartment -- which was nowhere near the centre of town. (We had asked for a double room in the centre of town). They barked some rough instructions on how to get there and gave me an address. The address had no signs associated with the hotel and when I got there I assumed that they had given me the wrong address: it was someone's house, with their kids playing in the garden. Eventually the man came out and showed us the apartment: it was large, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and a balcony. The bedroom and one bathroom were clean, but the rest was completely filthy; we were sure this was just someone's home being rented out as overflow. There were cigarette remains, empty bottles, dirty linen; lights weren't working; the bath was out of action. The only reason we stayed -- and the only reason this place gets two stars not one -- is that the balcony did give us a beautiful view of the alps.

When we came to breakfast next morning, we were told we had to pay immediately -- an unusual practice, and quite an aggressive one -- which other reviewers had noted. So we explained that we hadn't wanted a Ferienwohnung, that it was very dirty and various things weren't working. The response was that since we had only wanted a bedroom and bathroom, we couldn't complain about the rest being dirty. Some levels of dirt are hard to ignore. Also, she told us that as far as she was concerned we had known about the Ferienwohnung (this was false). It was hard to see how we could both have known about and wanted a Ferienwohnung and also not minded that half of it was covered in dirt. In the end, we were given a discount of 10 Euros because the bath wasn't working and they'd told us we would get a bath. The exchange was extremely tense and not at all gracious.

The following morning we arrived at 9.45 for breakfast, which was supposed to finish at 10. The waiters were clearing away breakfast, and they told us that they didn't expect us to have breakfast so they hadn't waited. They agreed to bring us a 'private breakfast' instead. The manager gave us a nasty stare as we left.

Don't stay here. Go somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank t s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Bad experience at the Gasthof zum Rassen, in spite of several efforts of the lady at the front desk. Food in the hotel restaurant was terrible . Hotel was not prepared to our arrival, in spite of the reservation. No towels, no soap in the bathroom and room dirty. Breakfast was a little better. They charged extra to pay with credit card, in spite of no clear previous warning. The city is very interesting to be visited, but not sleeping at the Rassen Gasthof. Loof for another hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonioFrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

During our recent visit in Garmish Partenkirchen in Germany, we made use of the services offered by Zum Rassen Hotel. This was our 2nd time that we could enjoy the services of this hotel because in summer of 2011 we had already spent around 18 days there.

Again we can say that we were most satisfied. The hotel is situated very centrally in the most romantic street of Partenkirchen. It is a few minutes walk from all the major attractions of the area such as the Olympic Ski Jump and the cogwheel train that takes you to the Zugspitze mountain, while there is no parking problem near the hotel - there is also a free parking very near to the hotel. Also the hotel is very tidy while the buffet breakfast you have a very wide choice of fresh items which surely meet the tastes of everyone. Needless to say that the breakfast is very abundant as is also the dinner.

Above all, the Zum Rassen management and employees are always most friendly and ready to give that personal attention which makes you always feel welcome. Indeed at Zum Rassen the Bavarian hospitality is at its best and as soon as your holiday is over you begin planning to return there once again. Indeed, we highly recommend Zum Rassen hotel for your holiday in Bavaria

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FAMILYABELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel was a last minute booking over New Years in Garmisch. We had read multiple terrible reviews by previous guests, but we didn't have much of a choice. Germans aren't exactly known for customer service, but this was an entirely new level of hostility and rudeness.

We were four adults and we rented the apartment on the top floor. We arrived at 7 pm and walked through the restaurant in order to check in. There was nothing to indicate where to checkin. The hotel seems like an afterthought. For 15 minutes we stood there without even someone acknowledging our presence. There were four others also waiting to be helped. The waiters kept saying, "I dont do reservations." And, we were told that the owner wouldn't be there for another hour. They only gave us one key and said that's all they had. We later were able to get another. They also had not written down which room we had reserved and tried to put us in a smaller room. We had reserved the largest room in the hotel. I'm still not positive that they didn't give it to someone else.

The owner never showed his face, despite asking to talk with him. At least once, if not more, each day he would send his staff to ask if we could pay. Our card was on file and we said that we would pay at checkout. If we decided to leave early because of the terrible service, we didn't want to pay more than we needed. Plus, they had our information and at checkin they said we could pay at checkout. Finally, on the third morning we were stopped at the bottom of the stairs and told that the boss needed payment NOW, and that we could NOT pay at checkout.

In addition to everything else, the hotel is next to a church which has loud bells that start at 6 am. The rooms doesn't have an iron, hair dryer, soap, cups, phone, or anything else that normal rooms would have.

AVOID!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MBroyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We can say straight forward that the Hotel Zum Rassen met all our expectations. It is close to all amenities and very centrally positioned -also favourable location to visit nice and interesting places in Germany as well as in Austria which is very near as well. First we think that it is of a very good value for money. Our room which also had an excellent view of Zugspitz mountain, was big and always well cleaned. The breakfast is most varied and also abundant. Although we were on Bed and Breakfast basis, whenever in the evening we made use of the hotel's restaurant, which is kept open until late, the food was very good and again, of a good value for money. Regarding all the staff and the hotel director, we can say only good words and they are all most keen to make you welcome and give you that most appreciated personal attention.
Also, just behind the hotel there is a public parking which one can make use of by paying a small daily fee. However, we never made use of it because we always managed to park in the nearby streets even though it was August which is the peak month of tourists in summer.
In a few words, our stay at Gasthof zum Rassen was an excellent one and we undoubtedly are in a position to recommend anybody staying at Garmish Partenkirchen to book his accomodation in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a breathtaking view of the Zugspitze mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FAMILYABELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlas Posthotel
Atlas Posthotel
#34 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
ATLAS Sporthotel
ATLAS Sporthotel
#39 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Mirabell
Pension Mirabell
#33 of 47 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
22 reviews
0.8 mi away
OlympiaHaus
OlympiaHaus
#12 of 47 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof zum Rassen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof zum Rassen

Address: Ludwig Route 45, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £59 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof zum Rassen 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Gasthof zum Rassen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Zum Rassen Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing