We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look no further”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aschenbrenner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you are trying to decide on where to stay to visit the zugspitze or surrounding country side, look no further.

After having difficulties with our car rental pick up at Munich, a quick phone call to the hotel we discovered there were no issues. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The beds were comfortable and our views spectacular.

The breakfast was incredible, with a lovely lady serving hot drinks, and a delicious spread of cheeses, cold meats, bread, fresh tomatoes, muslies, yoghurts, fresh fruit and anything else you could possibly need to have a delicious breakfast.

I honestly believe that the only reason this doesn't have more reviews is because all the guests are season regulars who are trying to keep this gem a secret. After many weeks of deliberation as to where we would stay, I could not be happier.

In response to the WiFi reviewer, while it is pricey, WiFi is not a necessity on several devices. If you are looking for something to do, ask the friendly staff instead of surfing the net!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Aschenbrenner, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for NOT keeping the secret and thank you for giving us such a great review!

We hope to welcome you again and make your stay in Garmisch-Partenkirchen perfect again.

All best wishes in the meantime,

sincerly yours

Team Hotel Aschenbrenner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

We spent 1 week here and got a top floor room. The room was very clean, the view is fantastic to the mountains. There is no balcony belonging to our room, but there are rooms with balcony for higher price. The clean ladies did a great job and the room was spotlessly clean they even folded our pyjamas. The breakfast had good selection of foods. The lady who serverd the hot beverages was kind and caring. The receptionist gave us good tips and hints about hiking trailes. Overall the hotel was a great choice and would come back eventually.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Aschenbrenner, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear "Judith222",

thank you so much for your warm and kind words! We´re glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Aschenbrenner and we´re looking forward to welcome you again some time.

All best wishes from Bavaria,

Team Hotel Aschenbrenner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Quaint bed & breakfast-like hotel near the center of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Easy to walk around the city center from here

Incredible mountain views from almost every room! Beds were comfortable & rooms were quiet

There was a lift for those not loving the stairs & my parents were extremely thankful for this!

No free WiFi! They wanted €4 for one device for 24 hours & given we had 2 smartphones & 1 laptop & were not even there for 12 hrs - ridiculous!

Breakfast was delish & freshly made - the breads & eggs were superb! There was a nice fruit assortment, lots of cereals & muesli, cold cut meats & a full on coffee service offering great house drip & lattes alike

Staff was nice as could be & they had free parking. Would recommend Hotel Aschenbrenner as a lovely base for your Zugspitze getaway & offering free WiFi would have made this a 5-star experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Aschenbrenner, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your warm and friendly words. We are glad you let us know about your positive experience - it is a great motivation for us :).

We have a "guest wish list" and we will put your idea about internet access free of charge to this list. Let´s see what we can do in the future.

We´re looking forward to welcome you again in Garmisch-Partenkirchen and say thank you for your recommendation here at Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Hotel Aschenbrenner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August 2012. The hotel is in a fantastic location very close to the town centre.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the morning was really good.
The views from the terrace when eating breakfast really started the day of well.
Would certainly stay at this hotel again if we are ever in Garmisch

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wfhflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Aschenbrenner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your warm and friendly words :).

Hope to welcome you again soon in Garmisch-Partenkirchen and in our hotel.

Thank you for staying with us and our best wishes.

Hotel Aschenbrenner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Old manor house converted into a 25 room hotel by the river and very close to downtown. Good breakfast in the very well appointed breakfast room with views of the zugspitz. Two blocks behind the hotel are the trailheads for the mountains opposite the zugspitz.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank don g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Aschenbrenner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to rate for Hotel Aschenbrenner.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon.

All best wishes

Hotel Aschenbrenner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here for six nights in July. Very friendly staff, big clean room and very decent continental breakfast. Very close to the Tourist Office, about five minute walk and everywhere in town is easily accessible.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Aschenbrenner, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for this pleasant rating! We hope to welcome you again in Garmisch-Partenkirchen at the Aschenbrenner Hotel, all best wishes in the meantime.

Kind regards,

Hotel Aschenbrenner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We made a spontaneous stop in Garmisch on our way to Munich. Not having a room booked, we went to the tourist bureau and they gave us a list of rooms available. We stopped by Aschenbrenner first and didn't need to go further. The big house is a former country home of an German royalty, and while it has been "remodeled" to be a hotel, it does maintain a the original 15' ceilings. The breakfast room reveals the former grandeur with beautiful Bavarian woodwork. The owners are very nice and helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable, and well-located near the downtown and close to good restaurants. We were very happy with our choice!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Playaisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Aschenbrenner, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your warm and friendly words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Aschenbrenner hotel and we hope to welcome you again any time.

Thank you for your stay!

Sunny regards from Garmisch-Partenkirchen and all best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.4 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#8 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aschenbrenner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aschenbrenner

Address: Loisachstr. 46, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#5 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £102 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aschenbrenner 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Aschenbrenner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aschenbrenner Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Hotel Aschenbrenner Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing