We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with a wonderful hostess!”
Review of Hotel Hirth

Hotel Hirth
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Hirth
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Hotel Hirth is actually in Grainau just outside Garmisch. My husband had stayed there as a little boy. It is a wonderful Bavarian house built in 1890. We stayed a week on top floor with balcony & had the most spectacular view of Zugspitz & fields of buttercups. The breakfast was very nice & the view from dining room priceless. They occasionally have dinner & it was very good. Be prepared for it to take a bit of time for water to warm up. We used it as a base to take side trips. We thoroughly enjoyed it & the wonderful people we met & the wonderful hospitality of Regina Mueller.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room facing mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olsoncathy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Hirth over the Easter holidays and used it as a base for ski-ing on the Zugspitze. My husband chose the hotel based upon it's location and having read previous good reviews: We were not disappointed!
The Hotel Hirth is set in idyllic surroundings, on the outskirts of Grainau with a fantastic view of the mountains. It is an idyllic traditional family run establishment; frequented by artisans in the 1930's there is still a hint of the art deco and traditional bavarian influence in the decor, particularly in the restaurant dining room.
We ate at the restaurant in the evenings on several occasions and appreciated the option of dining in after a hard day on the slopes! The food was very good and the service personal: a real home from home!
There is small bar for patrons and a very cosy reception area, great for a pre or post dinner tipple! Breakfast is served each day in the breakfast room: lots of choice and again a very personable service.
Our room was on the first floor of the building with a spectacular view of the mountains. It was very spacious with an en-suite bathroom and a seating area for relaxing and watching t.v. The wifi connection was intermittent at times from our room, but worked more consistently downstairs.
The hotel was very quiet when we stayed, so we mainly had contact with Mrs Muller as Mr Muller was busy behind the scenes and in the kitchen (fantastic chef!) Regina Muller was the most accommodating host throughout our stay. She really looked after us and was always friendly, genuinely interested to chat with us and nothing was too much trouble. In fact, we felt like we were staying with family or friends, rather than as guests at a hotel!
We travelled without a car and found the short walk into the village of Grainau and the Zugsptize railway very manageable and pleasant. We hired our ski equipment at the top of the mountain, so were able to travel light!
It was snowing when we visited and we were mainly there for the ski-ing. If you're visiting out of ski season it would be advisable to hire a car, so that you can easily access some of the sites of cultural interest in the area (palaces, castles, lakes etc) There are a lot of good mountain pathways for walking, cycling and riding. We took one walk and the scenery was stunning: am sure it would be great in the summer!
There aren't any spa facilities at the hotel, but we used the local leisure centre which had various indoor and outdoor pools, a slat water Jacuzzi and steam / sauna. The facilities here were excellent and adequately priced. Be warned, however, that German etiquette is rather different to that in the U.K where the sauna is concerned!!!
The restaurants & bars in the village are very good. There are a few shops for supplies and souvenirs: including a very good bakery and an amazing wood carving shop. If you want serious shopping or livelier night life, take the bus or train into Garmisch.
Would we recommend this hotel? That's a definite yes! and we would love to return to stay at the Hirth again in the future. Thank you Mullers for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bamptonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed a week in August using the Hotel as the base for visiting the Zugspitze region - had a great time. The Hotel is very easy to find, my satnav had no probs. My room was basic but clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good - the view from the breakfast room is something to behold ! The evening restaurant was equally good, a varied menu, freshly cooked and substantial portions.
As a base for exploring the region the Hotel is first rate - buy a Zugspitze Gold Card, leave the car at the hotel and either walk into Grainau and catch the train, or get the bus. The owners were so helpful - good English spoken - finding information was easy.
If I visit the region again I would use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed one night but would really have loved to stay longer. The view from our balcony was a highlight of the trip. We had a triple room on the third floor which was very spacious and clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and plentiful. A good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeezerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My wife and I used this hotel as our base for 5 days of touring in the area. Hubert and Regina Muller were great hosts. From our balcony you could see the Zugspitz. This hotel is 5 minutes outside of Garmisch so it is close to shopping and many varied restaurants but it is in the country so you avoid the parking and crowd hassles of the city. Hubert is a great cook, evening dinners were varied and wonderfully prepared local fare.

Room Tip: Watch out for the beam in Room 17...it's a head-banger, but what a view from the very large room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Located near Grainau just outside GPK en route to the Cable and Rail route to the Zuckspitz. Reasonable facilities, our room faced the mountain and what a panoramic view to behold. same with the dinning room a picture window looking straight at the mountain. Restaurant excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2007

I booked my stay on Booking.com. Nice cozy inexpensive family run hotel very close to the highest ski area in Germany (which will probably be more important in the future). Good common areas and friendly english speaking staff with free high speed internet near the fireplace and dining areas and bar. Good walking trails nearby and I didn't ask but I assume they offer horseback riding since there is a stable adjacent. Guests are a mix of americans, english and germans mostly. They also have a theater area with a large projection TV that you can play your own DVD's on. Phone [--] Fax [--]. Family friendly.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank FrankinHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garmischer Hof
Hotel Garmischer Hof
#22 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlas Posthotel
Atlas Posthotel
#33 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aschenbrenner
Hotel Aschenbrenner
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gastehaus Koessler
Gastehaus Koessler
#37 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hilleprandt
Hotel Hilleprandt
#21 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirth

Address: Loisachstr. 59, 82491 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirth 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hotel Hirth Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing