We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with fabulous breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with fabulous breakfast!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were lucky, as we drove up to this quaint hotel on a quiet residential street without a reservation, to find they had a room available for us! We stayed in Room #1 and it was a lovely corner room on the main floor. VERY spacious, comfortable, clean, lots of natural light and it had a large, immaculate bathroom. This was their STANDARD room. Small details throughout the hotel, a friendly and helpful staff, optional underground parking, a beautiful garden out back and a sumptuous breakfast buffet on beautiful china all contributed to a great 2-day stay there! We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbandEd1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    84
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
112
213
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I booked a night here at Hotel Edelweiss back in March after researching hotels in Garmisch on tripadvisor and we were all pleasantly surprised! As with another hotel in Southern Germany that I recently reviewed, we really didn't expect much with this hotel and thankfully we were all way off base.

This hotel is wonderful!

We arrived before Noon after an hour drive from Füssen and they greeted us all with big smiles. The front desk was very friendly and our rooms were ready upon arrival. They had a very nice lady help us with our bags and she carried everything to our respective rooms.

Our room ended up being a suite, living room and all, and apparently our room was recently remodeled and it showed! The bathroom was gorgeous (my wife took notes for future decor) and the room was large and comfortable. As with any stereotypical german room, the King bed was put together with two double beds. And this ended up being the most restful stay up until this point of our three week trip! The beds were heavenly!

The best part of the room was our balcony view of the mountains! We stopped at a local grocery store to pick up some beers and we enjoyed them on the balcony while taking in the breathtaking view. The neighborhood where the hotel is situated has some very pretty homes as well and you could see the river from our room too.

The hotel decor was gorgeous with that special southern german charm. The owners of the hotel & their staff were very friendly, accommodating and very helpful where needed.

For dinner, they recommended a fantastic little gem that locals dine at and it happened to be the night where Germany faced of with the USA in the World Cup! It was fun being the only Americans at the restaurant/pub! Great recommendation!

Breakfast was included in our rate and it was a fantastic spread! Lovely deli meats, soft boiled eggs, eggs made to order, coffee, cappuccino, fruits, dairy, breads & pastries, it was excellent!

The owners once again wished us well and when we left, it felt like we were leaving our Aunt & Uncle behind.

You would be doing yourself a disservice by not staying here if you are in Garmisch. This was as close to a perfect stay as you can get!

Room Tip: Make sure to book a parking space in their underground garage! It will save you some time and hassle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Edelweiss for one night and loved it! It is full of small details that make everything wonderful! Also and importantly, excellent and kind service even though its in Europe.

We stayed in room 3 recommend it highly has a lovely terrace and big bathroom! Breakfast is excellent!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sjpozas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here one night and will certainly return as we loved everything about this hotel from the staff to the nice view from our room. The rooms are comfortable and it was pleasant for our children. An easy walk to all the shops and areas downtown from the hotel. There is street parking in front of the hotel and we had no issues what so ever. We will definitely be returning again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at Edelweiss, and wish we could have stayed longer. It is a perfect place to stay to explore the castles at Neuschwanstein, the town of Mittenwald, the Zugspitze, the Partnach Gorge and even Innsbruck!
Our room was ground level with a gorgeous garden terrace. The room was spacious and very clean. Even with the ground floor location, not too far from the lobby, it was very quiet. Breakfast was amazing, Front desk staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. They even served us drinks in the common room/bar as we watched World Cup soccer, and let us shut down after the game was over. The location was in a somewhat residential area, but we walked 5 minutes to dinner. Would hightly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutmegger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was traveling with my 2 sons so we needed a room to handle 3 adults. I was able to book a room with a king bed and an additional bed added for the night. The room was quite large with space for a small living area with a sofa. The bathroom was also very nice and large. The beds were all quite comfortable. Our hostess were very friendly and spoke very good English which was a help since our German was "nicht sehr gut". We had a great breakfast the next morning with very helpful and friendly staff. There is also a parking garage for our car which was a very convenient. In the evening, we could walk easily to nearby restaurants as well as the town center. Finally, there is a small bar where we could get local beer and wine while we watched one of the first World Cup football matches. All around a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Good accommodation for family - we had 3 adults in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papabuck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My parents, husband and I visited Germany for 10 days in May 2014. During this time, we stayed in seven hotels including the Hotel Edelweiss. When we booked our trip, we wanted to stay in authentic hotels (no big boxes like the Hilton) to really experience Germany and the Hotel Edelweiss was the perfect choice!

Because we were a bigger party, we booked the apartment on the top floor which included a living room and two connecting bedrooms. Both bedrooms had balconies overlooking the gorgeous river and of the snow-capped mountains behind the town of Garmish-Partenkirchen.

The rooms were a typical size (for Europe), the bed very comfortable and clean. The outside grounds of the hotel were well-maintained and had outdoor seating. You could walk to the town center within 10 minutes and there was also a trail along the river only 2 - 3 minutes from the hotel doors. Breakfast was included and homemade by the staff each morning.

If you're looking for authenticity, you will get it here along with being comfortable and feeling incredibly welcomed by the staff.

Room Tip: If your party is large enough, book the apartment on the top floor. It has a living room and connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank in_fullswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
248 reviews
2.5 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Hotel Obermuehle
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
186 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eibsee Hotel
Eibsee Hotel
#7 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Martinswinkelstr. 15-17, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#1 Best Value Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#1 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#2 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edelweiss Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing