We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Blankenburg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Coburg
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here on our way along the castle route. Our over riding memory will be the warm welcome and help given by Anika on reception. She showed us to the room, got us drinks, helped with local info and couldn't do enough for us.
The hotel is clean, well looked after and for us, travelling the castle route it was in a perfect location. The walk into town took about ten minutes and there is plenty to do once you are there. Unfortunately the restaurant joining the hotel was fully booked even though we arrived at 4pm so town was the only option.
Parking is a little limited but free but we didn't see anyone miss out space wise. Breakfast was well presented with a good range and once again the staff were super helpful. Overall it was a great stop.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank imar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Best Western are currently advertising their hotels as "Hotels with Personality." When I was a child people would describe me as having lots of personality when they were too polite to tell my parents I was playing up.

I stayed here for business as it was on our approved hotel list but I'm going to request it's removed. This is not a business hotel. For a leisure stay it's ok (just), but over-priced.

First the good points:
The staff are friendly, the rooms are a good size and the beds are comfortable.
Breakfast is typically what you'd expect from a buffet breakfast. The hotel is fairly clean and there's a lift / elevator. (NOTE: if you're disabled you will need to consider that there is a flight of stairs to get to the lift. You'll also need to negotiate stairs to get to the breakfast room.

Unfortunately:
There is no restaurant in this hotel, although there is a separate restaurant adjoining the hotel which is pretty good and reasonably priced. There is a "bar" but this consists of a few chairs by an extension to the front desk. No one was here for the duration of my stay.
The internet connection is pointless. I tried to write this review while I was at the hotel but it was impossible. Three nights in a row the connection was so bad it was unusable.
As my German is poor I asked the reception staff if they could book me a taxi to get to the airport on the Friday and asked if the taxi took credit cards. I was handed a card with the taxi company's name and number on it. Thinking they might have misunderstood what I needed, I asked a German colleague to ask on my behalf - they handed him the same card. Booking taxis should be a basic service. Not impressed.
The shower in the bathroom dripped all night and the bathroom smelled like a dirty toilet.
Reception closes at 10:30pm - I wasn't told this when I booked and I arrived at a locked hotel at 11pm. Fortunately my colleague realised this would be a problem and made a special arrangement for me to get in. Be warned!
Reception opens again at 7am

On reflection, I wouldn't stay here again. This is not the first time I've had inconsistent service from Best Western. I guess you just have to roll the dice with them.
My advice: go elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you have disabilities discuss this with the hotel before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davewbrown007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Rooms in this hotel were big enough and clean, bed comfy, it was the decor that was slighly bland. The hotel is about 10mins walk from the centre, there is virtually nothing but residential houses around it and a really good-looking spa with hot pool a few minutes from the hotel, so bring a swimming suit!
Staff were nice and attentive. They even packed us a 'breakfast to go' as we were leaving really early. internet was available with cable and was free of charge. Breakast was ok, ifa bit uninventive. All in all this is a good place with good staff but don't come here if you are after a 'boutique hotel' experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonLovebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We turned up at this hotel after searching the area for somewhere to stay for one night. I accept that one pays full price if not reserving in advance, but the price we were charged (€122) was way over the top for the quality of the hotel, even though that price included breakfast (and I should point out that in fact the invoice we received when checking out listed the room price (€102) separately from a "service package," which included breakfast and Internet connection - which was never mentioned at check-in - and we were not offered the choice of a room-only price).

We were given a friendly welcome at reception, so our hopes were high, and we were allowed to look at the room before accepting it. It was a smoking room, so it smelt quite bad, but given that it was apparently the last double room available, we had to take it anyway.

It claims to be a 3-star hotel. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, which means that if you want some ventilation, you have to open the windows, which we did, which of course led to serious amounts of noise from outside, both from people - possibly hotel staff - and from some unidentified source (the local factory perhaps?), in the form of a low-pitched but penetrating hum which seems to go on 24 hours a day. So of course we had to close the windows; no ventilation, no aircon, and a quite uncomfortable night. At the price we paid, we expected better.

The bathroom contained no personal toiletries, but only bottles fixed to the wall. Again given the price, we expected better than this. Towels were piled on a small plastic stool in the bathroom. The whole thing looked more like a 2-star chain hotel; at the price we paid, we expected better.

The bed had only one pillow each, with no extras in the room. Fortunately we were travelling with our own car. Nevertheless, at that price, we expected better.

Fortunately the breakfast was of good quality and plentiful.

You've probably got the message by now: don't pay full price if you have to stay here, because it really isn't worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greta4868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank klausspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meggenrieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube
1.5 mi away
Vienna House Easy Coburg
Vienna House Easy Coburg
#11 of 13 in Coburg
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ringhotel Stadt Coburg
Ringhotel Stadt Coburg
#3 of 13 in Coburg
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Schloss Hohenstein
Schloss Hohenstein
#5 of 13 in Coburg
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Anker
Hotel Goldener Anker
#8 of 13 in Coburg
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni - Haus Gemmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Blankenburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Blankenburg Hotel

Address: Rosenauer Str. 30, 96450, Coburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Coburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Coburg
Price Range: £74 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Blankenburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Klein, aber fein und garantiert zum Wohlfühlen! Unser privat geführtes Stadthotel ist zentrumsnah und sehr ruhig gelegen. Bereits beim Empfang spüren Sie die persönliche Atmosphäre unseres 3-Sterne-Superior Hauses. Unsere Mitarbeiter gestalten Ihren Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich. Zu Fuß erreichen Sie die historische Altstadt, den prachtvollen Schlossplatz, das Landestheater, den Hofgarten und die belebte Fußgängerzone in nur wenigen Gehminuten. Our small and privately run Hotel is quiet located and close to the city center. Come in and feel the personal atmosphere of the house. All our staff makes your stay as comfortable as possible. The historic old Town, the magnificent "Schlossplatz", the "Landestheater", the "Hofgarten" and the lively pedestrian Zone are only a fey minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Blankenburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing