We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“incredibly expensive and poorly managed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel Villa Soy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Villa Soy
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“incredibly expensive and poorly managed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I just stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and the reason why i chose it is because all the surrounding hotels were fully booked for an important toy fair.
The hotel is presented as "boutique hotel where your comfort is our business"... well... good idea but bad execution.

The rooms can qualify to be the smallest in Europe. I was also particularly unlucky as my room, the 206 was probably the smallest (judging from the safety blue prints hanging from the wall). Literally the hole room including toilet was not reaching 10 square meters.

Breakfast which is normally a happy event in German hotels was very poor in both variety and quality.

The staff spoke very basic English and were also quite scarce... the reception was mostly empty.

I paid way too much for what i got in return and i felt overall ripped off. Considering that i travel to this area at least 2-3 times per year and that i tried several hotels, i can say that this was the least satisfactory.

Room Tip: ask before booking about the size of the room, each room has a different shape and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
9
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

booked for 5 nights stayed for one. Locked out on arrival, inspite of organising a key for a late arrival. The room was the smallest I have eveer encountered - my bags had to go in the bathroom as the bed filled the room completely. Street noise was very bad inspite of the hotel beoing dvertised as quiet.Breakfast was very average. When they had no other room to offer me away from teh street or larger I decided to check out. The hotel wanted to charge me 5 nights for staying one night and it took 1 hour of wrangling to sort out before they let me leave paying for 50€ for 7 hours use of the room (no sleeping was involved as the room was to noisey and hot. Nice concept but not well executed, go to the Konig otto or Kral or novotel or quality instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erlangen hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here for one night in January, and it was perfectly fine. Except that the bathroom was absolutely freezing! No heating whatsoever in there. The bed was comfortable, but we did find it a wee bit strange that we only had one duvet and one pillow. A very big duvet and pillow, but one nonetheless...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I’ve stayed in Villa Soy 2 times already coming to Erlangen on business and it’s a very nice, family owned hotel. The location is perfect, a walking distance from the center and the university, breakfast is included is very rich and free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: For a woman traveling alone its advice to ask for a high floor since the first floor rooms are on st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel, which was recently converted from an office building into a hotel, is somewhat small, but has some serious issues and does not provide good value for money.

The good:
+ They are friendly; but you can tell nobody has a lot of hospitality experience.
+ Breakfast is pretty decent and included in the price
+ If you are able to figure out the overly complex satellite TV system, you have access to 150 channels.

The bad:
- Cleaning is pathetic. They did not clean the room or the bathroom at all, but simply made the bed (with the same sheets) and exchanged the towels.
- Speaking of the towels: I don't know whether they use detergent at all, because the towels smelled liked dogs. Yes, they had a dog smell to them. Not only the first night, but also the "new" towels we got. It was bad.
- The "double bed" consists (as so often in Germany - why?) of two separate single beds.
- We were missing toilet paper in our room on arrival. There was no toilet paper at all! I complained to reception and they brought 1 (one) roll exactly 25 (twenty-five) minutes later. So if you needed to use the bathroom right after check-in, you were out of luck.
- The windows are single-glazed so you can hear every word of people standing outside your window. One of the hotel restaurants chefs felt that he had to have a loud conversation at 11pm right in front of our window and we could understand every word.
- There is no air conditioning and it gets really hot in the room in summer.

We will not be back. And this is in NO WAY a 3 or even 4 star property.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

A new fit out for the 28 rooms at this hotel means well on the surface, but it's quite thin on the ground when it comes to services.

This doesn't mean that it's poor service, but with one person whom seemingly does everything from answer the phone to be the waitress in the restaurant attached, it means it can be slow to get a response.

Internet connectivity is average. And I was continually disconnected. If you have more than one device, you'll need more than one account set up. 150+ TV stations catering for most of Europe, also with Al Jazeera (in various translations), Russia Today and China (European) News as well.

There's only one iron and ironing board for all guests. When I asked for it last night it was in a guest's room. It was still there this morning and I wasn't able to use it at all. So I'd suggest a common area for it, so that you don't have that problem.

No bicycles available on site.

Breakfast is fine if you like eggs, but quite meagre if you want fruit, muesli, anything of that sort. The restaurant attached to the hotel isn't worth bothering with - there's plenty of better offerings around town.

Daily room cleaning is barely that. More just a bed making and towel service. There was still two dead moths on the floor in my bathroom two days later.

One odd thing happened as well - I came back to my room one night and the curtains were taken off the main window and folded and laid over a chair. The night manager duly fixed it, but it shouldn't have occured in the first place.

Good location, less than half a mile from the Hauptbahnhof, and in a relatively quiet area. I'll be trying another hotel in Erlangen next week though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, not on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erlangen hotels
0.1 mi away
Zeitwohnhaus Suite Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
NH Erlangen
NH Erlangen
#2 of 36 in Erlangen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rokokohaus Hotel
Rokokohaus Hotel
#11 of 36 in Erlangen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#9 of 36 in Erlangen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Erlangen
Quality Hotel Erlangen
#22 of 36 in Erlangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gasthof Koenig Humbert
Gasthof Koenig Humbert
#34 of 36 in Erlangen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Villa Soy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Villa Soy

Property: Boutique Hotel Villa Soy
Address: Oestliche Stadtmauerstr. 4, 91054 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Villa Soy 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Boutique Hotel Villa Soy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing