We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit out of date, but an ok stay”
Review of Hotel Grille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grille
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel is not the most modern one - but it is clean and you can park your car there easily. You can walk into town, but it is about a 25 to 30 minute walk. The breakfast in the morning was really good and we stayed in a room where we also had a kitchen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astrid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

Hotel is well kept medium size hotel. Little bit dated but the rooms are quite big and you have free wifi. The bathroom in the room I stayed in was small but functional. Breakfast is good with a wide selection. The centre of Erlangen is a taxi ride away. When I stayed this was 10 euro. Staff very helpful and friendly. In summary, it's fine for a short business trip but a little bit out of the way for the centre of Erlangen. Prices reflect this.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Stormm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here three nights visiting Areva in Erlangen.
This hotel is an average hotel. The rooms are quite good sized, but could do a bit of modernizing. Minus for a bit old fashion furniture and a small TV in the room. Plus is for a large breakfast buffet and free wifi all across the hotel.
They even had a open outdoor restaurant when I was there. The food there was ok.
The staff is friendly and helps out with questions that you may have.

If you look for a hotel close to good cafes and restaurants you should maybe look at hotels closer to the center of Erlangen. We walked once in to the center, but took a taxi the other times.
The hotel is within walking distance (~10 minutes) of the Areva headquarters so this is a good hotel for those traveling on business to visit Areva/Siemens.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBratteli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here for three nights with a big group at the start of the beer festival. Cost was £90 a night per room.
Hotel is very clean and rooms reasonly modern. Staff very helpful espcially when it comes to the bar, as it wasn't very busy yet always willing to open up and serve beers. Yes you can smoke in the bar so whatever floats your boat!
With regards location it is quite far from town, about 20-30mins walk, there is a bus but we just got taxi's which are aboout 10euro each way.
Didn't have anhy food from the hotel other than the included breakfast which was buffet style and lovely. There is also a little kebab shop opposite which was great.

I plan to goto the BeerFest again and would look to get a hotel closer but if there are none would definitely return to the Hotel Grille.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLiCK5BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Ok so this is not the best hotel in the world, but it's clean and cheap, foods ok, but nothing special, and it's walk able to Siemens PG, however...............;
I was absolutely shocked that in this day and age, and when I thought it was illegal, people are openly smoking in the bar.
Completely spoilt my stay and will never stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whoistheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

I stayed in the hotel grille for a week in November. My room was small but functional and clean with a modern bathroom and decent shower.
The breakfast is not included in the price of the room but was good with a wide selection of food.
The hotel is within walking distance (20 minutes) of Paul Grossen Str and the associated Siemens and AREVA offices.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is good value for money and a good base or a business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonSarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

No internet, sixties style decoration, quite poor quality for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bfxu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erlangen hotels
1.6 mi away
Creativhotel Luise
Creativhotel Luise
#5 of 36 in Erlangen
82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Select Hotel Erlangen
Select Hotel Erlangen
#21 of 36 in Erlangen
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Smart-Inn
Hotel Smart-Inn
#7 of 36 in Erlangen
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf
Altstadthotel Grauer Wolf
#18 of 36 in Erlangen
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel am Birkenweg
#33 of 36 in Erlangen
11 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Erlangen
Novotel Erlangen
#4 of 36 in Erlangen
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grille

Address: Bunsenstr. 35, 91058 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Erlangen
Price Range: £77 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grille 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing