We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stadthaus
Ranked #1 of 15 Erlangen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I almost alway stay in this hotel every time I visit the city. Centrally located, you can walk anywhere, but for first timer, it might be tricky to find it since it doesn't have big sign.

It has nice bedrooms, I like the interior hotel as well. The breakfast room is cosy, I think most women would love it.

I was mostly very satisfied, only on my last stay, I found that the service was a bit lack. The cleaning staff didn't clean the room properly and didn't refill bathroom toiletries which wouldn't be a big issue if it's not by coincidence public holiday in Germany where all shops closed. Having stayed previously there, I didn't bring my own relying fully to hotel's supply.

Breakfast was chaotic, one female staff was always wandering in and out, looked hectic made you feel uncomfortable. Maybe they're not used to with a lot of guests?

But all in all, I will come back, and I will always recommend it to my girlfriends.

Room Tip: If you have a heavy luggage, choose a room in ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IJustLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Really nice two nights in the hotel Stadthaus. Only let down was the pillow, which is incredibly thin- there's only one and it's tiny. The room, breakfast, staff, products, location and decor is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesswadeCorfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Stadthaus for two nights whilst visiting the Erlangen Berg beer festival. The hotel is situated right in the centre of town, so it's an easy walk to most places in Erlangen. We stayed in room 43 which was across the courtyard in a seperate block - same room as the previous reviewer. It was lovely and quiet and we couldn't hear any noise from the street at all, despite being so central. It took around 5 minutes to walk to the main train station. The styling of the hotel is lovely, modern and clean and had some really nice boutique touches. As the previous reviewer mentioned there are a few things that look slightly unfinished, but this did not affect our stay at all. The signage was good, we didn't notice many cables hanging out of the wall, which would suggest that these issues are being resolved. The WIFI was a bit slow and only one of us could login at one time, but that was fine as we were not here to work. There was a nice selection of toiletries, fresh towels every day and some miniture chocolates left every day, which were much appreciated. Breakfast was good, no hot food but good selection of breads, meat, cheese, cereals and fruit. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English (I speak German but my fiance does not!). It's only a small thing, but the one thing that I would change were the square, flat pillows, which I really hated! I come to Erlangen every couple of years and have stayed in a number of hotels here. Hotel Stadthaus is my favourite so far and I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess_Wood_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

briefly: the location is great, and they got the broad brushstrokes right (nice choice of materials and lighting), but the implementation is too poor in significant ways. I cannot recommend this hotel.

bad:
- no towels in the bathroom. none. not even a facecloth.
- the shower drain was so clogged that I had to turn off the water while showering to avoid flooding.
- the door to the bathroom has no handle... just a white wooden board.
- the rail holding the bathroom "door" is hidden by an untreated wooden plank, with pencil marks for measuring where to put the screws. No paint, no decorative covering, just a wooden plank.
- walls are very thin, and you can clearly hear neighbors, especially those coming down the stairs.
- I was unable to connect to the internet in the smaller building in the courtyard (Hinterhof), though they claim to have a wireless connection point in each building
- within the reception area there are unfinished holes in the wall/ceiling throughout with cables hanging out. Looks like they plan to one day install light fixtures, but in the meantime there is an assortment of cables to look at.
- signs are missing all over the place. For example the name of the hotel is not written anywhere in the entrance area. Signs on the doors between buildings are missing.
- doors between buildings and to the street universally do not close. none of them actually latches, just swings half-shut.

good:
+ location
+ staff was very friendly
+ the concept is quite nice, and could be well implemented if management solves the issues, above

description above is of room 43

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. Room was comfortable and clean. The location is little tricky, if you are arriving nyt car. You have to park your car on the sidewalk and get a ticket for the car park from the reception. The park is on the opposite side of the street about 50 meters from the hotel. Park costs 8 euros per day.

WLAN is free, but I had difficulties getting online. The connection was poor and after a few minutes it disconnected and I had to login again.

All in all a nice hotel in a good location.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosmo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Traveled to Erlangen for business. For this trip, I insisted on finding a hotel closer to the city center so I could enjoy the nightlife without driving or parking.

The Hotel Stadthaus turned out to be a great find and a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast in the morning was wonderful (herbs I saw growing in the courtyard ended up on the table in the morning...). Many of the rooms at the hotel border the interior courtyard which is peaceful and pleasant.

Finding the hotel was a bit of a challenge (I circled the block 3 or 4 times) - but the owner assured me that better signage was on the way.

This hotel and its staff certainly made my stay comfortable and enjoyable. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesrgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nach hinten raus ruhigere Zimmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J-Seitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erlangen hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Erlangen
NH Erlangen
#1 of 36 in Erlangen
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Erlangen
Novotel Erlangen
#4 of 36 in Erlangen
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zeitwohnhaus Suite Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Creativhotel Luise
Creativhotel Luise
#5 of 36 in Erlangen
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen
0.5 mi away
Altmann's Stube Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadthaus

Address: Henkestr. 4, 91054 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Erlangen
Price Range: £80 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stadthaus 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Stadthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing